Customer Reviews for

One Day My Soul Just Opened Up: 40 Days and 40 Nights Towards Spiritual Strength and Personal Growth

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2000

    Remaining open forever

    Thank you, thank you, thank you, Ms.Vanzant. I went to B&N looking for something to read and your book really jumped out to me. It chose me! It felt really strange because men don't read self help books, so i thought, but something told me to give it a try because I really felt like I was going insane until I started reading your book. After reading the first paragraph it felt like you were talking about my life, 'How Can You Know These Things?', I asked myself. Thank you for opening my eyes, my mind and my soul.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    LIFE CHANGING

    i read this book during one of the lowest points in my life. iyanla's life experiences almost parallel mine. it has been about 6 years, and this book remains in my nightstand! i am always referring to quotes in this book and i still read passages from this frequently. thanks for writing this, my soul needed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Daily Meditations

    This book is great for anyone feeling down or going through personal pain. Vanzant's personal life-changing mystical experience and program of inspiration and motivation give clear direction to the search for 'who am I.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    Changed my life

    I was in terrible emotional pain and my life was so stressed when I found this book. It's been three years since then and I still keep Iyanla's book at my bedside. It's like a journal and it helps you remind yourself about how beautiful our true selves are. I'm so happy I found this book and I'd never give it up for anything. I'm actually giving it as a Christmas gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    PHENOMENAL

    WHAT A BLESSING!!!!! After buying her transformation live CD, I decided to get this as well. I love to read, but I feel that hearing someone's voice over and over stays in my head more than reading the words. You can really hear the author's tone in the words. Hearing these CDs were great. I didn't not listen to them as she recommended which was to do one day at a time. I preferred to listen to about 10-15 minutes every morning and just listen to the cds over and over. But that is what works for me and her suggestion is just a guide. In the end, one has to do what is best for them. She is just a true messenger from God. I recommend these to anyone who may be going through their own personal transformation and change and really need that solid day by day discipline and reassuring words to get them through. Of course, no words can not help anyone who is not ready. One has to truly be ready within for change. But once you are, these spiritual growth cds work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    One Day My Soul Just Opened Up

    This book will give you 40 days of soul searching and working through grief and anger. A lovely gift for any reader!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2000

    Timeless

    This book was gift from a loving friend and it is now helping me through a very difficult and challenging time in my life by helping explore who I am throught the principles that Ms. Vanzant has presented in her publication. I encourage for those that wish to truly grow to keep this book not in your library, but to carry it on your person or keep it by your night stand for those quiet moments when you need to assess yourself honestly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    Practical Spirituality

    The book brings you a practical way, daily readings, to contemplate using spiritual principals in you life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2000

    A soul stirring master piece.

    I encourage all to take this journey. My soul was lifted to such a higher plain as I came into reality. The words will pierce your heart leaving you to face truth in the eye. After the dust has settled, and the smoke has cleared, you will find a strong, confident, and blessed self. Thank you God for sharing your angel, Iyanla.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2000

    The home-cookin' of Self-help books

    This book is like going home for some good healthy cookin'! Everyone should have time for what the author offers, suggestions everyone can feel comfortable with, kind of like simple aerobics. 3-4 minutes a day for 40 days, not overwhelming. Even newscasters read her books, like Jacque Reid in the Houston area. This author will go far, and it is strange that the author has not appeared on the Today Show. One wonders if this woman is perhaps a bit TOO together for the likes of Matt and Katie, and even Bryant Gumble. This book is great bedtime reading -- in the morning! Start the day off with some of this, it's like orange juice for the spirit! Not soppy sunshine, but as refreshing as an early morning breeze.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2000

    Simply Inspirational

    This book is very soulful and uplifting. It opened my eyes to a whole new way of looking at things that were going on in my life. It has also given more perspective on how to handle situations. This book is wonderful and Iyanla is great.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2000

    MY SOUL TRULY DID OPEN UP AFTER READING THIS BOOK!

    This book is truly exceptional. It is filled with spiritual inspiration and loads of wonderful storytelling on the author's life. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    I am still in awe by the way this book mirrors my ENTIRE life!

    It felt that I was reading from the pages of my own life! It made me cry. It made me laugh. It saddened me to realize that at age 45, I have been living by default! And then it happenend, MY soul just opened up! I now know that I CAN live by my choices. Thank you LORD! And thank you Iyanla! I recommend this book to ANYONE ages 8 to 80! Excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2000

    I Though I was Alone...

    Until picking up this book. I felt I was alone in my spritual beliefs that I have come to know through years of searching. I relate so well to her experiences and love her ability to explain and share the wonderful Truth. She's truly inspirational and I look forward to reading more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2000

    It's almost like having your own personal bible.

    Ilyana's book is inspirational. It's almost like having your own personal bible. I always refer back to her book for motivating or inspirational energy to get me charged up for what life may bring day to day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    excellent

    This book has given me a lot of inspiration to defeat all obstacles, to be stronger and not give up even when I am down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2000

    This book is the one!!!

    Two months ago, I went to NY Library to find a good book. I checked the news one, and this book was calling me... the colors of the cover shoted me! I started to read rightway. Lord, this lady was very inspired! The book was so good that on the next day I bought one for me. It is very easy to read and understand. She wrote in just one book what I read in 30. I love this book and I strong recommend it for everybody. Dont miss it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 1999

    yup ..blew me away as well

    Amazing ..need i say more ...think in a way it also opened up my heart. Thank u Iyanla! Yeah u could say that i let God in. I owe u one ...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    THE BEST AFRICAN AMERICAN AUTHOR BY FAR FOR DELF HELP.

    Love it! It improved my outlook on life and taught me what "UNCONDITIONAL LOVE WAS REALLY ABOUT! GODS LIBE IS UNCONDITIONAL! AND TO LOVE ANYONE FIRST IS TO LOVE YOURDELF FIRST!.
    THE DIVINE POWER IS AT WORK FOT US ALL THE TIME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    5 stars!!!!

    I really enjoyed this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2