Customer Reviews for

The One-Day Way: Today Is All the Time You Need to Lose All the Weight You Want

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 32 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    A Book Worth Reading!

    I was prepared to read this book but I kept thinking, "This will be just another weight loss book; isn't there enough of these already on the market? How could this book be any different?"

    The outcome? I was pleasantly surprised ~ this book is refreshingly different. The One Day Way is well written and to the point. It takes you on a weight loss journey ~ one day at a time in a simple, workable plan. The author has walked this path herself and she makes it clear that it is possible to achieve our goals ~ one step at a time.

    What impressed me the most? Ms. Hobbs makes it clear that she can provide us, the readers, with "a nutrition and exercise plan that will enable you to lose weight, get healthy, grow strong and improve your heart health." She also states that the only one that can make this work is ourselves through dedication and a fearless attitude. There are no quick fixes, no overnight miracles but through faith, commitment and hard work the battle can be won!

    This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    One Day at a Time

    Do you struggle with weight? Have you just given up all hope of ever being a healthy size? Chantel Hobbs has developed a way for you to lose all the weight you want and keep it off for life. The plan is based upon applying the simple mechanics of weight loss (burn more calories than consumed) but keeping the focus on just one day at a time. Chantel says that what derails most weight loss efforts are the demoralization brought about by making mistakes and by creating unrealistic goals. In her books she helps you work through these issues and provides you with tools to achieve the weight lifestyle you deserve.

    In One Day Way, Chantel speaks about her own struggles with weight and how she overcame them. She also provides real life examples of people who have tried her weight loss plan and have succeeded. Through her book, learn how to break your destructive eating and exercise habits. Learn how to change your "fat" mind to a "thin" mind. Learn how to build a new life and body just one day at a time.

    Lamenting about the piece of pie you had last night should never cause you to give up on yourself. With the One Day Way it never will. Yesterday is history and tomorrow hasn't happened yet. Chantel Hobbs will show you how to set goals for only today and how to celebrate your daily successes. Through one day at a time you will achieve a healthy lifestyle and a healthy weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Master Failure, Control Your Future

    Chantel Hobbs weighed over 300 pounds. She began her struggle with weight, dieting, not dieting and self-loathing at eleven years old. Then one day she chucked dieting. She stopped making excuses and began her journey to thin. In the One-Day Way, Chantel shares her success story, the successes of some of her friends, and the necessary strategies anyone can use to become healthy and fit.

    Chatel presents The One-Day Way in four parts. In the first part, she teaches us to level the way we measure success. To take charge of our bodies, we need to first take charge of our minds. No more excuses. In part two, we learn how to lay your own personal foundation for success. In part three, Chantel leads us to the realization of inner resources many of us may never have known to tap. In part four, Chantel outlines the necessary steps to maintaining our weight - but she is no longer talking about struggle, because by the time we reach level four, living healthy will have become a habit.

    This book impressed me more than I can say. I am committing myself to The One-Day Way. I have already begun. I would like to offer my thanks to the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for providing me with a free copy of this book for my review. I fully plan to allow what I have gained from reading this book to influence the rest of my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The One Day Way

    MY REVIEW

    For me, reading this book certainly opened my mind to what losing weight should be all about. The author deftly constructs the case for losing weight based on your own unique goals and situation- and not based on comparing yourself to others. She walks the walk because she's been there. She knows and identifies all the pitfalls that can leave a dieter feeling defeated. She brings them up because she knows you'll be confronted with them....sooner or later. But she also provides several useful tools to help you succeed. In her ''Laying Out The Foundation'' chapter she provides a list of very effective things to do, some of which are Spiritual in nature. I very much liked that! And about exercise......something I felt is just too personal, at least for me....well, she suggests finding a way to 'like it'. I can relate to that. It's like when I tell my kids that success in life is all about attitude. If you decide you're not going to like something, you won't. So I tell them to try and find the positive in situations they dislike. I guess that can very well translate into exercise as well. I'll have to remember that!

    In closing, I had determined when I first received this book that I would end up not liking it and that it would just be another diet and exercise book. And I was quite prepared to state that in my review. But in all honesty, after reading it, I will say that it will be of great value and use to me personally. I can say that I believe it will help me in my struggle to lose weight.....but like any book or weight loss product, the rest is up to me. That's the catch. There is no magic pill. That being said, I can very truthfully say that I highly recommend it. I would give it 5 stars out of five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Changing your life, one day at a time

    I'm sure there are those of us out there that struggle with dieting and becoming healthier and we become so frustrated that we give up. That's what happened to Chantel Hobbs, too. Until she discovered The One Day Way.

    There are some up sides to this book and there are some down sides to this book, at least in my personal opinion. The up side is it sounds like an effective, easier way to diet and become healthier. In fact, it is my New Year's Resolution this year; to follow her One Day Way. Another up side is, she lays her plan all out and it's easy to follow and under stand. She also talks about how to keep it a success after you've reached your goal. She has good exercise plans and it's very detailed in her set ups. She talks to us about being healthier in spirit and with God. She explains the importance to look forward and not backward.

    A couple of the down sides to this book are that is starts out a bit difficulty to catch on and set up like a "self-help" book in the beginning. Chantel also talks about fasting during The One Day Way. I don't think fasting as part of a diet is good, effective, or healthy. The only fasting that should be done, in my opinion, is when you fast for God over a problem or troubled friend or loved one. She also says to cut out certain foods, like meat, from your diet. I disagree wholly with this...meat is an essential form of nourishment and should not be cut out.

    Despite my few negative opinions about the book, I do recommend this book to anyone struggling to become healthier. It is still worthy, no matter my negative opinions, of a 4 star praise. Thanks, Chantel, for an easier way to be healthy!

    *This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another New Year is here and the thought of trying to lose weight again, keeps you from trying?

    The One Day Way
    By Chantel Hobbs

    I am sure you have all read one diet book at some point in your life, especially if you are a woman. The problem with most is that they all sound wonderful, promise great incentives and even provide the motivation to get you going. The downfall is usually not in the book, but in us, to keep the program going until we achieve the results we are seeking.

    I was given the opportunity to review this book from Chantel Hobbs through Waterbrook Mulnomah Publishers and the concept sounded great. What better way to begin any challenge to lose weight, or to define our bodies that to tackle it differently than any diet book has ever suggested. You do it one day at a time. You set daily goals not weekly, monthly or even exact dress size or pounds lost. What better way to gain success than to do it for one day. How can anyone lose motivation to achieve some form of success on a daily basis? Anyone can do that. I love how Chantel has broken down this book in different parts to provide you with all the tools necessary to guarantee success where in past methods have only led to failure for me.

    I know that just making a small change such as giving up fast food for one day for me is a huge accomplishment. Can I do that for one day? Of course, I can. If I can make changes in small steps, I will succeed in this endeavor once and for all. The best part of the One Day Way is that Chantel teaches you to not compare ourselves to anyone else. We are born to compete in anything in our daily lives whether it's our bodies, our homes, our jobs, we are live in some degree to compete with our friends, neighbors or even perfect strangers. Yet it is that competition that will also lead to our failure because we can never measure up to someone else. We will always want more or something better. However if we simply change the mindset to compare ourselves with only ourselves, we will achieve the results for the right reasons. For example, I want to lose 40 pounds to not only be healthier from a overall weight statistics but I know from past experience, I look and feel great when I weighed 150, not comparing myself to anyone else that I know that has weighed 150.

    It is a great must read for anyone that has tried to lose weight and can't, or who has lost weight only to gain it back again or just those that lack the motivation to even begin with a win in mind. Trust me, I loved this book and would highly recommend it to anyone who has tried to lose weight in the past and has failed!

    If you would like more information on where you can purchase a copy of this book from Random House, please click on this link http://www.randomhouse.com/catalog/display.pperl?isbn=9780307458780

    This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    The One-Day Way A Must Read!

    I wanted to review this book and post the review as a way forward for 2010. I believe the most promised resolution for the new year is around fitness and weight loss. I can pass my local health and fitness club and see it full. The folks are running in place on the treadmills and really wanting to honor their resolution. By the first week of February, that same club is only half full. Why? There was that momentum in the beginning, as with any goal or dream. Then, after some time, the momentum simply wears off. We no longer believe we can attain the goal we set only four short weeks ago.

    What I love about The One-Day Way by Chantel Hobbs, is that it can be applied to any life goal, not just weight loss. It's about creating a new mindset in order to create a new way of life. The One-Day Way gives you everything you need to lose weight and get fit in body, mind, and spirit. Chantel teaches daily fitness tasks from a faith-based perspective that develop into lasting habits. By focusing energy and attention on doing the right things every day, she frees you to achieve your weight loss goals one day at a time.

    Chantel writes, "When you begin to build your new life, the first thing to change is your thinking. You're going to overhaul your old mentality so you can change the way you think from now on." She takes you through one day at a time because she says, "Too often o your best efforts get sabotaged by worries about the future.. Obsessing over the future will prevent you from achieving the life you want to build." This is brilliant. Sometimes our goals are so big and so long-range that we have difficulty focusing on what's right in front of us.

    She also writes, "So as you approach this new life one day at a time, figure out what you want to build. What kind of life are you constructing?" Chantel includes simple, high-energy meal plans and her at-home program for cardio exercise and strength training. If you are tired of the diet roller-coaster and want to create a lasting health and fitness plan for your life, then The One-Day Way will help you achieve your goals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    Great Book!

    I love this book! I don't say that about many books, particularly non fiction ones, but this one is a keeper. This is not just another weight loss book; it's an encouraging manual that tells readers how to make a positive and lasting change. The premise is this, take success and failure as part of life, and don't get hung up if you stumble. Jump back into the game and move forward, one day at a time - The One Day Way.
    Chantel has been there, she struggled with weight issues for years. Finally she lost 200 pounds and kept it off. She knows what it feels like to be desperate for change, and yet powerless to achieve it. Her practical approach tells us not to get hung up on past mistakes but to move forward, focusing on small steps and successes. How many of us are trapped, listening to and believing that we cannot lose weight and cannot get past our mistakes? It's a lie from the enemy, Chantel says, and "You need to ditch that lie."
    The thing that struck me about her comments about "that lie" was how true this is in other areas of our lives too. The devil has us believing that we'll never achieve or overcome this or that. It is bondage, and God has better things for us. Chantel outlines the thinking and motivation behind this bondage, and shares the tools to break free.
    Faith, Food, and Fitness - these are the foundational principles upon which new thought patterns, habits, and lives are built. Not only must actions change, but the way we think about ourselves, goals, and achievements must change too. Rebuild your life with good tools, Chantel says, and you will achieve the right kind of success.
    Bite sized, daily, achievable goals are the ones that build success and are easier to stick with. They are also the ones that are easiest to jump back into if we slip up. Chantel shares nutritional and practical tips to maintain this bite sized success. She also shares The Ten Commandments of The One Day Way to Eat for Weight Loss and Fitness. This includes exercise tips and illustrations.
    The One Day Way shares Chantel Hobbs' desire to help anyone struggling with weight issues. As I read, I felt as though she was cheering me on, saying "You can do this!" And while I don't have 200 pounds to lose, I wouldn't mind shedding a few excess ones. I now feel like I really have the tools and the insight I need to move ahead and make a good and lasting change. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in losing weight. It can be done, and it can be done well The One Day Way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiring for the start of a New Year!

    Everyone always has a resolution for New Year's, and its usually weight loss. If that is what yours falls under for this year. I highly recommend reading this book. It will uplift, and inspire you to start your new life right away. It has heartfelt stories of people who have lost that weight, and how they got there. Chantel Hobbs own personal triumph of losing 200pds. Its just truly and amazing way to look at your life.
    I blog for WaterBook Multnomah Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 32 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2