BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One Deadly Sister (Sandy Reid Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 732 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(236)

4 Star

(252)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(82)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Better than I thought it would be.

The book turned out to be a good read, lots going on to keep your attention, and you will be kept guessing to the end as to 'who did it'! If you like a good murder mystery, you will enjoy this one.

posted by StudioGirl on June 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

A very creative and enjoyable first novel, loved it!

A very creative and enjoyable first novel, Rod Hoisington has created a complicated whodunit with red herrings to spare. At the basic root we have the remaining two members of a family, a brother and sister, who have had no real contact since the day their parents died ...
A very creative and enjoyable first novel, Rod Hoisington has created a complicated whodunit with red herrings to spare. At the basic root we have the remaining two members of a family, a brother and sister, who have had no real contact since the day their parents died several years ago. In fact, sister Sandy is living her well-ordered life quite satisfactorily, thank you, doing legwork for a highly respected law office. A late night call brings her brother Raymond back into her life like a slap in the face, she has all but disowned him and the call is like a blast of ice. He is calling from a Florida jail in a small town, with a murder rap hanging over his head. Sandy is determined that in no way is she going to help him, she is still too angry about his lack of support for her when she needed it. A quick look at the News, and she starts to get second thoughts. Too many questions, Ray is not the type to murder anyone, much less a high-profile Senator. Confusion reigns as she arrives to find her brother being railroaded through the system so that State Attorney Moran can win a famous trial whether his "held in custody" suspect is guilty or not. Moran is ignoring the many other possible suspects and zeroing in on his target, creating a case for conviction. A stranger in town? What a break for him, everyone will hate this guy Ray for assassinating their Senator! From this point on, there are misunderstandings, misdirections, underestimations, especially underestimating Sandy, a pit-bull in a sexy body. Ludicrous statements and outright lies are flying everywhere. Not only are there lots of twists in the case itself, but in the many strange relationships that show up here and there throughout. This book is written almost tongue-in-cheek and I loved it. It grabs hold of you early on and you can't get away from it. The action suddenly takes off with a few diverse leads and builds very quickly toward the final setups, lies and implausibilities that give the reader a sense of fun and satisfaction as the story finally wraps up all the loose ends, finding more to deal with than meets the eye. I will definitely be looking for another novel by Rod Hoisington!

posted by readerbynight on November 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 732 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Better than I thought it would be.

    The book turned out to be a good read, lots going on to keep your attention, and you will be kept guessing to the end as to 'who did it'!
    If you like a good murder mystery, you will enjoy this one.

    48 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Great book!

    This is an excellent mystery with lots of twists and turns. Kept me guessing until the end. I would highly recommend it. You won't be disappointed.

    42 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Loved it

    Great read. Pretty long but you wont put it down! Quite interesting twist in the end!

    42 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Good read

    CSI & Nancy Drew rolled into one book.

    26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    One Deadly Sister a Ten

    Book Title: One Deadly Sister
    Author: Rod Hoisington
    Publisher: Entera Books
    ISBN: 9780615298528
    Reviewed by Michele Tater for Review The Book

    The book "One Deadly Sister", I felt is a murder mystery at its best. The author takes you on a who-done-it ride which includes the introduces of several characters, which can be likable as well as unlikable. These people all have their own dirty laundry and guilty pleasures that play out with every turn of the page. It is also a look at how a innocent man can be so mix-up in the lives of others that he is arrested for a crime he did not commit, or did he.

    Even though there are several characters in this story, they are skillfully developed and can be easy followed. The main character Ray seems to be the man with the worst luck ever. I felt bad that he has was being used as a pawn in everyone's game where he had no game in anything. Even the police department, along with the state attorney, just wanted to nail Ray's coffin and be done with it. Since I is have worked in several law firms in the past and have a Paralegal Degree , I was able to identify with Ray's sister Sandy. She came across as one tough cookie that would not take stuff from anyone, including the law enforcement individuals who were handling her brothers case. There were also characters I loved to hate, for example, Loraine who thought she could wiggle her way out of anything, and believe me she tries a lot.

    I would recommend "One Deadly Sister" to anyone who enjoys a good mystery with many plot twists and of course some turns added for a good measure of suspense. Although I was trying to figure the who did it part, many things were not what they seemed. So you really have to read the book all the way through. No fair peeking to the end either, its well worth the wait. There is brief sexual content, mostly pg rated. It also has a great and realistic story line that will keep you guessing till the end.

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Loved It

    Great read....great characters...... can't wait to read additional books from this series.

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    WTH this is terrible!!!

    This is totly NOT for kids. I mean, seriously , i'm not even on chapter 4 & they've started swearing talking about sex and stuff,like seriously, WHATS WRONG WITH U?!!?

    14 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Nice read - bought next book!

    I have not had high hopes for most of the free books, and this one pleasantly surprised me. I liked the little twists and turns - just when you thought it was all wrapped up in a little bow, new information is provided. As soon as I finished this book, I bought the next one in the series.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Couldnt finish Couldnt finish

    Poor prose and lack of continuity - could not connect with the characters

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Good read

    This is a good read. It is well written with a cute plot. The price is right too.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    Very enjoyable held your interest. Just goes to show that blood is thicker than water.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Very goodi

    I enjoyed reading it

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Clueless

    I didn't get too far into this book before I had to stop. This is one of those books that makes you wonder why you're wasting your time reading it, you start to think it must get better somewhere, and get to the end disappointed that there wasn't any improvement - why did you waste your time again? The estranged brother is so annoyingly clueless that it is impossible to read his dialogue without wanting to scream "GET A CLUE!!!" Can't imagine that there's any real point to the drivel - there are better books to read.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    This is terrible

    I have no idea why the rating for this book is so high. The story was predictable and the writing was just plain bad. All of the characters had the same way of speaking and the same personality, which is just bad writting! The story also had a noir style to it, but it seemed forced. At least it was free?

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Great who-dun-it !

    Exciting from beginning to end with lots of twists and turns. The guilty party is such a shick didnt see it coming until the end . Wonderful read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2011

    Fun and Easy Read

    A story with a different twist and a great story for book club discussions.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Had difficulty getting through it.

    The storyline bounced around quite a bit and the characters were not developed adequately.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This is a great book, can't wait to read the next one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Good suspense

    This book was somewhat hard to get into, but then got better and was really suspenseful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Okay

    MUCH better written than other free books I've read, but the story is still worth the cost.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 732 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 37