Customer Reviews for

One Dog Night (Andy Carpenter Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Andy Carpenter - where have you been all my life? I just finis

Andy Carpenter - where have you been all my life?

I just finished One Dog Night and was utterly delighted with the witty writing, cool characters, love of dogs, happy marriage, legal mystery and fast moving plot. The lack of gore, explicit sex and bad language was ver...
Andy Carpenter - where have you been all my life?

I just finished One Dog Night and was utterly delighted with the witty writing, cool characters, love of dogs, happy marriage, legal mystery and fast moving plot. The lack of gore, explicit sex and bad language was very much appreciated too.

This is just the kind of lighthearted, fun, engaging, intelligent and relaxing read I love. Can't believe I just found out about this series, but glad glad glad there are more of this series to read.

posted by Eros-Ashima on March 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Guilty or Not?

This novel has some of the endearing attributes of an Andy Carpenter story, but unfortunately just ‘some.’ Missing are the customary high jinks of courtroom maneuvers which made prior novels outstanding. In this book, Andy only goes through the motions, and most of th...
This novel has some of the endearing attributes of an Andy Carpenter story, but unfortunately just ‘some.’ Missing are the customary high jinks of courtroom maneuvers which made prior novels outstanding. In this book, Andy only goes through the motions, and most of them are objected to and denied. Present, however, are the usual sardonic comments, humor and the “team” which always provide the series with an uplift.

The plot, of course, is up to the author’s accustomed standard, with Andy, Laurie, Sam and Marcus coming up with background and facts to sustain the efforts to exonerate the client, sometimes in the face of extreme danger. In this case, Noah Galloway, about to receive a Presidential appointment, is accused of having set fire to a building housing a drug distributor six years before, resulting in the deaths of 26 persons. A former drug addict, he has no memory of the event, but does harbor guilty feelings.

Andy, who has no need or desire to work, much less take on another client, does in this case, because Noah is the former owner of Tara, the golden retriever that is a major part of his life. First he has to convince himself of Noah’s innocence. Then go to work. And then just plod forward. Since the usual courtroom antics do not take place, the plot unwinds in a manner which is mechanical in nature, with forces outside Andy’s control or contrivance. In some other novel, this type of conclusion might be warranted, but in this series it seems out of place. Despite these misgivings, Andy’s irreverence and quips are always enjoyable.

posted by tedfeit0 on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Andy Carpenter - where have you been all my life? I just finis

    Andy Carpenter - where have you been all my life?

    I just finished One Dog Night and was utterly delighted with the witty writing, cool characters, love of dogs, happy marriage, legal mystery and fast moving plot. The lack of gore, explicit sex and bad language was very much appreciated too.

    This is just the kind of lighthearted, fun, engaging, intelligent and relaxing read I love. Can't believe I just found out about this series, but glad glad glad there are more of this series to read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great legal thriller

    For six years, three months and twenty-one days, Noah Galloway waited in anguish for this moment. The FBI arrests Galloway for an arson fire that killed twenty-six people. He will miss his beloved Becky and their nursery school child Adam, but in some ways is glad the end is in sight.

    A recovered drug addict, Noah asks Patterson, New Jersey defense attorney Andy Carpenter to defend him. Andy says no as he does not take many cases on and besides Noah attempted to break into his home sometime before the deadly inferno. However Noah uses the Tara card to retain Andy as his lawyer; before the attorney rescued his golden retriever Tara, Noah had saved the dog and arranged for Andy to adopt the canine. Although Noah believes he is guilty of the arson mass homicides, he insists he remembers nothing about the blaze due to his drug haze. As Andy plays the court to buy time for his client, his 'team" investigates what happened over six years ago.

    This is a great legal thriller starring New Jersey's least enthused lawyer and his team of likable eccentrics who are crazier than usual. The story line is fast-paced from the moment the arrest is announced and never slows down until the final unlikely but endearing header. Series fans will relish one degree of Tara as the Retriever's first rescuer is legally defended by the canine's second rescuer.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    David Rosenfelt is Amazing

    Who could not love an Andy Carpenter book by David Rosenfelt? An author who is humble, authentic, and loves Golden Retrievers just can't be beat. This is a wonderful read; Mr. Rosenfelt, please bring Andy back one day soon!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend. Especially for people who like dogs.

    All of the Andy Carpenter books (10 so far in the series) are enjoyable.Good character development, likeable characters that fit together and play off each other to make an enjoyable group, intriguing plots, great writing. Dry wit with moments throughout that surprise a laugh out loud out of you! Best of all, Rosenfelt loves dogs and writes this sensibility into his books. Can't say enough good things about this series. Love it! Can't wait for more! Hear that Mr. Rosenfelt? Write faster!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended!!!

    I recently discovered David Rosenfelt. Every single one of his Andy Carpenter series is worth reading, especially if you are a dog lover. I just read his newest book and can hardly wait for a wonderful new adventure with Andy and his wonderful Tara.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Very entertaining

    Great book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    A fun read, as all of Rosenfelt's books seem to be. Great summer

    A fun read, as all of Rosenfelt's books seem to be. Great summer fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Fun to read

    I love the whole series of books. I hope that David Rosenfelt continues with this series. These books are fun reads.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Love David Rosenfelt

    This book is written in true Rosenfelt style. Really enjoyable reading, a little humor, a little mystery and a lot of entertainment!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    David Rosenfelt does NOT disappoint - again!

    I love Mr. Rosenfelt's books -- I've read them all. And even at times formulaic, it's the twists and turns of the ride that counts. And of course, the dialog -- always witty and laugh-out-loud funny! If you haven't read any of the Andy Carpenter series, start with the first -- you won't regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Charm

    She strolled quietly in the woods searching for something. She stepped on a twig hearing a slight crack. She perked up a moment a shadow whipping past her. She grew courios like her grandmother whom she never knew and screamed.

    There at her feet was a wounded creature..a cat.
    " Poor thing." She sighed softly as she tended the enemy creature.

    When she came back to the camp to find out that it was deserted. She slowly strolled towards the soft sounds of voices.Humans. Bad humans. She remeber them imediatly and ran to here hoping that they did not follow her.

    My home was distroyed by the humans. That cat must have been one of thiers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Midnight

    She nodded. "Ok" she padded to the next result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    A law mystery with humor!

    This book was my introduction to author David Rosenfelt and the Andy Carpenter series. Had I known how much I would like the first-person humorous story telling, I would have waited to read #9 and started with the first! Rosenfelt develops a good plot, interesting characters, and includes a devoted dog as Andy's best bud . . . . what more could you ask for!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2