Customer Reviews for

One Door Away from Heaven

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    KjMckown

    This was my 2nd most beloved story by Mr. Koontz, preceeded only by Watchers. I really think he hit the nail on the head with this one. I learned something, as I like to when reading for pleasure. Bioethics is completely opposite of what i believed it to be. Horrible, horrible. Have to admit this book was a little draggy in parts, but those parts were easily thumbed through. And I loved the ending, something I dont always do with Mr. Koontz' s novels. I didnt want the story to end. This one could perhaps convince the author to reconsider sequels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Ok, this is it.

    As much as I like, to some high degree, every Koontz I've ever read, this is my favorite. I see some say it's slow; I see that, but when it dwells, I love whst is revealed. This book is his most optimistic, among msny optimistic books he:'s written. Comparable with his "Odd" series in its joy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    AWESOME!

    Leilani is one of my most favorite Koontz characters ever! Great storyline and very imaginative. I love the personification of the canine in the story! Dogs really do show us how to love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Must read, could not put it down...nothing got done til I finished this book.

    Once you start this book, you will not want to stop until you reach the end. Then you will still want more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Great book

    Enjoyed

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    Awesome

    I loved this book. A great story. I have read many of Dean Koontz books. I do enjoy Koontz books. Like many of Dean Koontz books this one, has mystery with many twists in the story. I wanted to jump in and protect the young one in the story. I cried, laughed and got angry! It is a real page turner. I have given this book to my friends and one to my son. Just didnt want the story to end. I will reread this one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    I tell all my friends...

    I have lent this book to so many people that I had to buy a second copy of it for myself, and every single person who reads it loves it. I had a friend ask me a third of the way in if it was worth finishing, it did seem to take a long time to get there, but once there you feel so wonderful that you wish you took your time reading it instead of trying to rush through the "long" parts. This is not only my fav Dean Koontz book, but my fav of all the books I have ever read.

    This should be a movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    Crazy good

    Fell in love with the characters in the book. Very well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Koontz at his best

    This novel absolutely just touching... it is an amazingly written story. You instantly get involved with the characters from chapter 1. You want to learn more about them and Just cant put it down. This is in my top 5 Koontz novels. It takes its a place side by side with Odd Thomas. Amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    ONE OF HIS TEN BEST IN MY BOOK, PROLLY #1

    this book is full of side stories and sends you for many twists and turns and MANY side trips in which shows how much our favorite author has time on his hands and he burns it!<BR/><BR/>I feel that saying anymore will make it dry and recomend you read it for yourself! Oh by the way the reason why the book cover got a 2 was because mine a early edition has a better cover.<BR/><BR/>THIS COVER SUCKS BUT THE PAGES WITHIN ARE GREATNESS!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    Although is isn't Dean's best work, i enjoyed it. Yes, the story did drag on at times, but at other times the book was exciting and intense. The story of Leilani and Micky interested me the most. The two other stories lost my interest. The ending is fascinating and I would suggest this to anybody that likes science fiction, mystery, or even horror.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    A 700 page long borefest!

    I just can't finish reading this book. One word: horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2014

    How to review a book by such a superb writer?  Dean Koontz has t

    How to review a book by such a superb writer?  Dean Koontz has taken three story lines of such divergent subjects to parallel lengths where they diverge at an ending that tells us that only through the goodness of everyone working together can life be worth living.  It's at once a theists against the bioethics of perfection and a fast passed thriller.  But to describe how he does this only seems to demean his work.  He has a deformed 9 year old girl, living with her drug addled mother and her murdering bioethics father; two wounded women trying to make a better life for themselves; a burnt out detective; and a young &quot;extra-terrestrial&quot; boy and his dog.  Put these together and you have a strangely wonderful thrilling story.  




    Koontz is probably the best writer than I know.  He can take four beautiful sentences to describe someone's eyes, and rather than sounding wordy, every word feels necessary.  I would say that this is my favorite Koontz book but then I read another one and that becomes my favorite.  Just read this book. You won't be sorry. He makes very important points is convincingly beautiful stories. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    Great so far

    Only 200 pages in but love it so far.there are four main characters of which only to have met each other, and they are quite a lot of fun so far,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    All around one of my Favs!

    Magnificent characters, inspiring story with just enough darkness to make you rejoice at the light! THIS IS A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Very Good Book...Great read

    This was a wonderful book by Knootz. The characters were colorful and interesting. The story-line hopeful and informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Love it!

    My favorite Dean Koontz novel thus far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Very disappointed!

    I am an avid reader and long time fan of Dean Koontz. I have been reading his books for over 20 years. This book however, dragged on and on and on. The plot was a no brainer, so not much was left to my imagination. I thought I would never finish this book. I actually had to put it down sometimes and read other books in the interim. I generally read his books in 1-2 days, yet this book took me several months. The only reason I finished reading this book was because it was all I had to read while I waited for new books to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    A little slow

    This book starts out with a bang and grabs your attention. But then things slow down for a while, and a lot of things don't make sense. However, towards the end, everything starts coming together and all ends well. It took me a while to read this book, when I usually finish a Koontz book in 1-2 days. But, if you like animals, mystery, and aliens, it'll be a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    My first Dean Koontz book

    I have never read anything by Dean Koontz before, but by the end of this book I am glad I picked this one up! I pretty much knew I was going to like it from the first chapter alone. Throughout the book, I really could picture every scene in my head as if it were a movie, a really good movie. Koontz brought together a really different yet similar cast of characters that really played well off of each other. The end of the book was unusual, I will give anyone that, but unlike most of the other books I have read. I would recommend this to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8