Customer Reviews for

One Door Away from Heaven

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    Love this one too

    Working my way through all of his books

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    A MUST READ

    This book is awesome...I have read it 3 times and it is still good. Dean Koontz is a master of cross-genre writing. He makes a book that combines science-fiction, mystery, romance, and thriller into one book He creates characters that seam almost real and brings them all together in one place. This is a must read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Koontz' better writes

    I picked this up to add to my Koontz collection and it's a good adventure read. It isn't at bizarre as a Koontz story normally goes but the characters are fun to follow and as usual the writing is fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    Fantastic Story!

    I loved this book, and have not only read it three times but have bought it as gifts for people. They loved it too!!! I love the characters, Dean Koontz writes this as if you are there in the background watching! So It's a little weird, but anyone who can create this kind of story is genius! I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    it was a very depressing book -

    over long description, depressing content re: bioethics. i am sure that this exists (drs. tried to talk the family into "easing" my grandmother's "exit") but i do not want to read about it. reality is depressing enough with out having it in my escape literature.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bio-ethics and Space Aliens?

    Dean Koontz book One Door Away from Heaven delves into the question of Bio-ethics in a very frightening way and while the villian of this book seems to be a little unbelievable what is truly frightening is that people like this do actualy exist. The ethic questions of who should live and who should die to make a better society is the stuff of Genocide and Nazis. It is horifyingly too real. As for the Aliens well I kinda wish he had left this out of the book. I think the book would have been stronger without this in the story but Mr. Koontz does do a nice job of incorporating this into the book. Overall I think this book is outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    One Door

    VerrryInteresting. BUT does he have to describe everything to a T I have been skimming since the first 200 pages Who is he trying impress the reader or the reviewer I am becoming very impatient Get to the point already

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One Door Away From Heaven

    I really did enjoy this book, it was touching on so many levels, and was also unforgettable. I also enjoy how they tied in together as well. I really found it very interesting how Dean Koontz took three story lines and made one great book. Out of all three stories I L.O.V.E the story with Michelina Bellsong (Mickey) her Aunt Geneva and Leilani Klonk, the best. This story just goes to show that you might think your life is hard but somebody else is harder. This story was funny, thrilling,and most importantly excellent, Dean Koontz could have just did a book on these three amazing women by their selves. Cause not only did it have a Dean Koontz sort of weirdness it also had a very educational. <BR/><BR/>I learned about something I never heard of which is a bioethic is the discipline dealing with the ethical implications of both biological research and the applications of that research, especially in medicine.Bioethics is concerned with questions about basic human values such as the rights to life and health, and the rightness or wrongness of certain developments in healthcare institutions, life technology, medicine, the health professions and about society¿s responsibility for the life and health of its members.<BR/><BR/>But besides learning that, it was also center around Leilani parents. Her mothers Sinsemilla who is always high on pills and her step father Preston Maddoc, who is using an assumed name. Leilani says that he has murdered several people including her brother, Lukipela. Luki was also handicapped. He had problems with his hips. Preston said that aliens would take Luki and heal him. One day Preston drove off into the woods with Luki and returned alone. Preston said that Luki was with the aliens. Leilani didn't believe that, but her mother did. Mickey and Geneva are very disturbed by what Leilani tell them so they begin there on investigation and find out the girl not lying but she is telling the honest God truth.<BR/><BR/>Starting in the second chapter, a young boy is described. He just saw his mother murdered and he is running from her killers. He stops at a home to get some supplies. The house is the home of a couple and their son, Curtis. The boy leaves the house and continues running. The killers track him to the house and kill the family. The dog escaped and followed the boy. He keeps reminding himself of things his mom told him in the past. He has to fit in. He starts calling himself Curtis and the dog Old Yeller. He stays on the run throughout the book<BR/><BR/>The third story was about a guy name Noah Farrel. Who has a sister who was beat up by her Uncle and had to be put into special care. He believes its his fault, what happen to her. So he took it on his own to always work to take care of her, and to make sure she had the best help and assistance that he could afford. But sadly it takes a turn for the worst and that's when shortly after three stories combine together.<BR/><BR/>At the end of the book all the characters meet up and that's when a beautiful miracle happen. And personally to me, this miracle makes the whole story worth reading!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I finally put this one aside today, after trying all afternoon to read it. About 1/3 the way through, I found I was skim-reading. Some of the sentences were a paragraph long. It's not a style I like. I've read about 95% of everything Dean K. has written (that's available) and I've always enjoyed his novels. His ODD THOMAS series is truly great. But this one was just too hard to read (my age: 51).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    Spencer, Reviewer

    'One Door Away From Heaven' was a very interesting and detailed book. I liked the way Dean Koontz was able to write about two plots going on at the same time and actually not lose my intrest in the book. This book starts out with the main character Micky Bellsong, who is in her late twenties. Micky is at the part of her life where she is feeling pressured, she can not keep a stable job and her life is just not the way she would want it to be. Well her next door neighbor Leilani Klonk is totaly oposite. Even though Leilani is phisically deformed, she is able to walk around with high spirts most of the time. Leilani first comes off as a weird little girl with a very powerful imagination to Micky. But the more Micky talks to this girl, she starts to believe her stories about aliens and weird comments. Micky later finds out that Leilani had a brother that happend to disapear, and her father blamed this on the Aliens. Well Micky believes that on Leilani's tenth birthday, her farther plans to do the same thing to her and blame the disapearence on the Aliens again. When Leilani's family packs up and moves, Micky made a choice to go and follow and find Leilani and save her. During this time the second plot is about a ten year old boy and a dog running from killers who killed the boy's family and are after him. The ending was great. I liked that Leilani and the little boy was saved. I liked this book very much, and I recommend this book to everyone!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    An awesome book

    I read this book this year.I am in the 6th grade, and I thought it was great.I have already read 4 Dean Koontz books this year, and I highly recommend this book.It's exciting, funny, and heartwarming, and you 're sure to love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    He kept me looking for that door

    The story tells the tale of the people who just lost their apetite to live the rest of their lives. And on the other hand, tells the story of the people who fights for their or the others lives. One Door away from Heaven is a must read books for any kind: 'people who loves to live' and 'the people who have lost their souls'. It will help you find that 'door'. KOONTZ is still the master of our deep tormented soul. 'He'll bring you to life.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    Such a long story

    I read this book when I was fourteen. I, by then, had already burned through five previous Koontz hits. This was quite the disappointment. It included aliens, orphans, druggies, trailor parks and just about anything under the sun. Although some of the parts of the book were interesting, like when the alien was running from his enemies, it just dragged on. Toward the end I just forgot what the main objective even was. It was like Koontz had taken all his idea's from his other publications and put it into one long monotonous rant, and here came One Door Away from Heaven. Enjoy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    awesome

    this was the first koontz book i had read. it was the best book that i've ever read. it will definitely not be the last. he's a great author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2005

    Loved It.

    I love reading Dean Koontz's books. With this one, and this has happened with a few others, i've started the book, but quit reading it halfway through. But, after i've picked it up again and got all the way through, i really loved it. It really pays off in the end to keep on reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    favorite book

    I loved the characters and the message this book portrays. We are instruments of our own salvation and I think if more people read this book they would understand that concept and that there is a greater power watching our back so we shouldn't worry. My favorite character was Leilani (my future daughters name) who's spirit can move mountains. I enjoyed the book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    yet another Koontz fan

    Dean Koontz is my favorite author, because I enjoy his skill with character development and his amazing use of vocabulary. My husband and I often read his books to each other on our vacation drives, because his writing just sounds so good read aloud! Leilani, Micky, and Curtis are a delight to get to know in this book. Preston Maddock is like a car accident - you can't help but stare, even though it horrifies you by what you're seeing. To my knowledge Dean Koontz hasn't yet done a sequel to any of his books, but this one would serve well in continuing to get to know these very well-rounded characters, each deserving of their 'own' book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Getting Better With Age!

    I have been a fan of Koontz for years and have read everthing he has written. In his younger days, he has written some great books, but this is the start of something new for him. This was a excellent book, more in depth and thought provoking than most. It made you wonder. I hope he keeps taking his books to new levels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    slow but wins out in the end

    i have to admit that this was the first dean koonz book that i have read. The way that dean koonz splits the story in the beginning is very frustrating...in the first 100 or so pages i was only interested in one of the three plots and i was almost tempted to skip over the sections. I think Koonz did an awesome way of tying in all the characters in the end...how things seem obvious truths in the story but are turned on you. Once i got through the difficult beginning i fully enjoyed the rest of the book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2004

    Please End

    I'm on page 150 and it's so terribly hard to read. It's slow, boring, and uninteresting. I feel like stopping, however I can't. His previous books that I've read were interesting, however this one is totally unappealing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8