Customer Reviews for

One Door Away from Heaven

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    A little slow

    This book starts out with a bang and grabs your attention. But then things slow down for a while, and a lot of things don't make sense. However, towards the end, everything starts coming together and all ends well. It took me a while to read this book, when I usually finish a Koontz book in 1-2 days. But, if you like animals, mystery, and aliens, it'll be a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2009

    One Door

    VerrryInteresting. BUT does he have to describe everything to a T I have been skimming since the first 200 pages Who is he trying impress the reader or the reviewer I am becoming very impatient Get to the point already

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I finally put this one aside today, after trying all afternoon to read it. About 1/3 the way through, I found I was skim-reading. Some of the sentences were a paragraph long. It's not a style I like. I've read about 95% of everything Dean K. has written (that's available) and I've always enjoyed his novels. His ODD THOMAS series is truly great. But this one was just too hard to read (my age: 51).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Not his best

    I have read many Koontz books and this was one of the worst. It was dragged on and on. It was also too easy to figure out what was going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    Very wordy and over written

    I love Dean Koontz, don't get me wrong. However I think he's falling into Steven King's trap of over writting and spending to much time on uncecessary details that do not add anything to the story at hand. This is a good story but one that could have taken 350 pages, not 680.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    not one of his best...

    I have been a Koontz fan for years, but is it just me or is he getting a little long winded? There is so much detail and comparisons going on in the book that you lose interest in the story. always...the man felt like this, and the sky looked like that and this reminded the character of something that happened a long long time ago that has nothing to do with the story now. Get some more ACTION in your stories like there were in your earlier novels!! your slacking off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2002

    Yikes, my hero has stumbled!

    One Door Away From Heaven is not the insightful, lean, clean, reader-friendly machine we¿ve come to expect from Dean R. Koontz. It¿s needlessly wordy and, coming from a man who has resisted the label of horror writer, insisting instead that he is a writer of suspense, I found it downright baffling ¿ until I went back to the beginning of the book. In the Forward, Mr. Koontz heaps praise upon his editor as one who doesn¿t panic when he asks for `yet more time to do draft number forty.¿ Perhaps a little panic would have been a good thing, because that effusive dedication isn¿t the only part of this tomb `in need of cutting.' Don¿t get me wrong, I do enjoy a prettily turned phrase. Used judiciously, a well-crafted metaphor or simile is a writer¿s best friend and, if particularly well done, a thing of beauty. But recall the wise admonition of William Strunk Jr. `¿coming in rapid fire, one right after another, (both) are more distracting than illuminating. The reader needs to catch his breath; he can¿t be expected to compare everything to something else (with) no relief in sight.¿ Amen, brother¿ And in this case what a shame. This plot is wonderful, the end convergence brilliant. His characters are likable, believably quirky, or suitably abhorrent, their motives and dialog sharply crafted and cleanly defined. In short, there isn¿t a thing wrong with this book that a trusty Delete key or a red pencil couldn¿t fix. That said, loyal readers must also be creatures of great faith ¿ sisters-become? -- because I will ask¿ 'Please. Sir, may I have some more?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1