BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One Door Away from Heaven

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    He kept me looking for that door

    The story tells the tale of the people who just lost their apetite to live the rest of their lives. And on the other hand, tells the story of the people who fights for their or the others lives. One Door away from Heaven is a must read books for any kind: 'people who loves to live' and 'the people who have lost their souls'. It will help you find that 'door'. KOONTZ is still the master of our deep tormented soul. 'He'll bring you to life.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    awesome

    this was the first koontz book i had read. it was the best book that i've ever read. it will definitely not be the last. he's a great author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    favorite book

    I loved the characters and the message this book portrays. We are instruments of our own salvation and I think if more people read this book they would understand that concept and that there is a greater power watching our back so we shouldn't worry. My favorite character was Leilani (my future daughters name) who's spirit can move mountains. I enjoyed the book very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    yet another Koontz fan

    Dean Koontz is my favorite author, because I enjoy his skill with character development and his amazing use of vocabulary. My husband and I often read his books to each other on our vacation drives, because his writing just sounds so good read aloud! Leilani, Micky, and Curtis are a delight to get to know in this book. Preston Maddock is like a car accident - you can't help but stare, even though it horrifies you by what you're seeing. To my knowledge Dean Koontz hasn't yet done a sequel to any of his books, but this one would serve well in continuing to get to know these very well-rounded characters, each deserving of their 'own' book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Getting Better With Age!

    I have been a fan of Koontz for years and have read everthing he has written. In his younger days, he has written some great books, but this is the start of something new for him. This was a excellent book, more in depth and thought provoking than most. It made you wonder. I hope he keeps taking his books to new levels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    One of the best I've heard

    I shy away from some books read by women. In my experience, men seem to do voices of women better than vice-versa. Just being read by a woman doesn't scare me away, but the latter statement has been the case in my opinion. In this case, Ann Twomey did an awesome job. Always a Dean Koontz fan, but no time to read, this was such a treat. Great caracters, great stories. I laughed out loud often (usually riding down the highway by myself on the way home from work at 3 AM), and on numerous occasions,either sat in the driveway, in my car, listening for the end of the chapter, or taking the long way to work so I could listen to more. Thanx Dean and Ann. Great job!!! TUT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    TOTALLY AWESOME

    I HAVE READ ALMOST EVERYTHING D. KOONTZ HAS WRITTEN. I FOUND LIGHTENING AT A YARD SALE AND HAVE BEEN HOOKED EVERSINCE. I WAS WORRIED THAT THIS WAS NOT HIS NORM, BUT AM HAPPY TO SAY HE BROUGHT IT OFF BEAUTIFULLY. THIS IS A GREAT BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    satisfying read

    This book is similar in structure to "From The Corner Of His Eye"and just as rewarding. Heroic,sympathetic characters and evil villains abound. If Steven King isn't strange enough for you, Koontz is your man. His books are filled with Alien shape-changers, intelligent dogs, evil monkeys and references to the proof of god in quantum theory. Somehow it all works!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    WHAT A RIDE!

    I love Koontz's work. He's brilliant; this was definitely one of his best! The characters are so real that I wish they were people I could meet it person. ( At least most of them- haha!) Incredibly funny and heart-warming, yet so suspenseful at the same time! A GREAT read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    Wonderful Book

    All the elements are here. The characters not only come alive for the reader but you feel you know and care (or hate) them. The story is filled with suspense, surprise and laughter. Mr Koontz carries the reader smoothly down several different paths as you follow the main characters and he warps it up neatly and very satisfactorily in the end. It¿s one of those books that you hate to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    Koontz you did it again!!!!

    This was an unbeivably awesome book! I could not put it down. Love the way all the characters were bonded in the end. What a masterpiece!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2003

    Another Koontz Masterpiece

    From the very first Koontz book I ever read, which was The Watchers, Dean has never failed to thrill me with his amazing blend of horror, suspense, and thrill rides while at the same time nurturing my need for the warm & fuzzies of the human spirit - love, companionship, friendship, faith, & hope. I cried at the end of Watchers, and I was all teared up at the end of this one too. His characters are always so human, & being the mom of a Downe's Syndrome boy - well of course I appreciate the humanity he gives these special characters of his. Hats off to you Mr. Koontz though I doubt you will ever see this...thanks for having them go back for Rickster! ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2002

    5 Stars...Again!

    I almost can't put into words how much I loved this book. Koontz's last book "From the Corner..." was supreme, and I didn't think it could get much better than that, but I was wrong. The characters in this books came to life almost instantaneously, appearing to need no help from the author, as do most of his characters. Little Leilani Klonk will forever be etched in my memory, as will the dog "sister-become". I truly love the way his newer novels have been taking storylines that don't tie into one another right away and blending them seamlessly into one another. I must admit, even though "From the Corner..." was an all around better story, this book had a more climactic ending, the last 50 or so pages are impossible to stop reading. If you liked "From the Corner of his Eye", or even if you are picking up a Koontz book for the very first time (which is totally unfathomable to me), you will thoroughly enjoy this book. Way to go, Koontz. Thank you sir...may we have another? SOON?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    Koontz never fails to amaze me!

    This book, like any other Koontz book I've read, was great. It wasn't action-packed like some, but I still couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    Awesome!!

    I loved this book. If you have ever read Dean Koontz before, you know that his language might be harsh but in this book, he seemed to have toned it down. It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time I was reading it. It deserves 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2002

    Awesome!

    I love Dean Koontz, and I haven't read anything from him that I didn't like, but this book Beats All! It was so good, I could not put it down. I did not want it to end! I do not want to give anything away....so if you want a good read...Check It Out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2003

    A very engrossing novel

    This book was wonderful, and I have never been disappointed with one of Koontz's stories. His style of writing is very easy to get into, and despite the intimidating length of his books, you really don't notice it until you're done, and wish that it was longer! I don't think Koontz should really be considered a horror writer, as his [more recent] novels have aspects from all kinds of genre in them. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    I'm going to read it again and again ...

    Some of the wonder in this book came from the feeling of impending doom and horror, which is counteracted by frequent bursts of laughter. It was true to reality, to be filled with horror and find myself laughing; to be saddened with concern and delighting in the characters' spunk; to be angry at injustice and thrilled at the refusal to lay down and just give in ... it was an emotional ride that I intend to share and share and share. I was surprised at the last chapter or two. It was more sentimental than I'd expected, and yet fit precisely into the corners of my heart. Life is just like this ... it's the laughter and love in the middle of all the grumbling and sadness that makes it so interesting, and makes us want to peer around the next corner ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    fiction or fact

    while reading the book i thought what a great fictional book but after reading the authers note and looking up on the web it has made the book even more of a thriller dont read this book alone or at night you will never get to sleep .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    Magnificent

    I have read 7 of Dean Koontz's books and this one went far beyond your imagination. It brings you down to earth with all your emotions. After meeting the next door neighbor, Leilani Klonk, Micky Bellsong figures she's just a typical kid with development differences. But one night the girl reveals some bone chilling secrets about her past. When the girl and her family just up and leave Mickey must decide to either follow them or to forget about her. This is a book about changes and how to take your life one day at a time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5