Customer Reviews for

One Enchanted Evening

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A pure delight

In 1229 Montgomery de Piaget who believed in fairy tales could use a happy ending with his current assignment. The knight needs to repair a fixer upper Artane castle before the walls fall around his ears.

Seattle, Washington theater costume designer Pippa Alexander ...
In 1229 Montgomery de Piaget who believed in fairy tales could use a happy ending with his current assignment. The knight needs to repair a fixer upper Artane castle before the walls fall around his ears.

Seattle, Washington theater costume designer Pippa Alexander is in England creating costumes for a gala when she and her sister Cinderella fall through a time portal that tales them to 1229 Artane Castle. Montgomery believes the siblings are fairies and asks them to use their powers to help fix the dilapidated pile of rocks he calls home. A drugged Cinderella insists she is the Fairy Queen while Pippa tries to get Montgomery to understand they are humans from almost eight centuries in the future. Montgomery still thinks she is the miraculous answer to his prayers as his claim on the castle is at best tentative, but his claim on her heart permanent regardless if he needs all the time in the world to prove it to his Pippa.

The latest time traveling de Piaget romance (see Till There was You and Dreams of Stardust) is a terrific entry as Artane is definitely a fixer upper. Fast-paced and filled with humor, fans will enjoy the awesome adventures of the twenty-first century Washingtonian fairy sisters in the crazy world of de Piaget family medieval England.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on April 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

not thrilled

The heroin in this story is way to whimpy for me. All she wants to do is cry,cry, cry... I got tired of the "tears in her eyes". Not a strong enough heroin for me..

posted by flaca55 on October 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A pure delight

    In 1229 Montgomery de Piaget who believed in fairy tales could use a happy ending with his current assignment. The knight needs to repair a fixer upper Artane castle before the walls fall around his ears.

    Seattle, Washington theater costume designer Pippa Alexander is in England creating costumes for a gala when she and her sister Cinderella fall through a time portal that tales them to 1229 Artane Castle. Montgomery believes the siblings are fairies and asks them to use their powers to help fix the dilapidated pile of rocks he calls home. A drugged Cinderella insists she is the Fairy Queen while Pippa tries to get Montgomery to understand they are humans from almost eight centuries in the future. Montgomery still thinks she is the miraculous answer to his prayers as his claim on the castle is at best tentative, but his claim on her heart permanent regardless if he needs all the time in the world to prove it to his Pippa.

    The latest time traveling de Piaget romance (see Till There was You and Dreams of Stardust) is a terrific entry as Artane is definitely a fixer upper. Fast-paced and filled with humor, fans will enjoy the awesome adventures of the twenty-first century Washingtonian fairy sisters in the crazy world of de Piaget family medieval England.

    Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another entertaining read from Kurland.

    Anyone familiar with Lynn Kurland's tales of time travel and ghostly occurrences will be glad to know that Montgomery de Piaget's story is a tale well-told. It has all the elements: a heroine plopped back in time, a hero not sure the stories of fairies he knew as a child aren't true, and enemies enough to prove the valour of any medevial knight. However, it is not the story to take as an introduction to this world. It takes too much for granted that the reader knows what has gone on before.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    not thrilled

    The heroin in this story is way to whimpy for me. All she wants to do is cry,cry, cry... I got tired of the "tears in her eyes". Not a strong enough heroin for me..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Felt My Mouth Fall Open . . . In Disappointment

    The author used "felt her mouth fall open" at least two or three times each page! I got the impression that all the characters were standing around gaping at one another throughout the entire book. There are many other ways to express shock or surprise. In addition to the lack of creativity in the author's writing style, the character development, especially the many unimportant side characters, was lacking. The plot showed promise, but needed much work. Where was the editor? If you really want a good escape to another time period, see my recommendations.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I love Kurland De Paget series

    I have read all of Kurland time travel stories. I kinda got away from it but when I saw this on my Nook shopping list I had to try it. I really enjoyed the way she makes her Hero's so romantic. I promise if you decide to read this you won't be sorry.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One Enchanted Evening is a MUST READ!!!!!

    This book is by far one of my personal favorites by Lynn Kurland. It's full of magic,laughter, heroism, knightly virtues, unconditional love, and a fair amount of stubborness from said knight. Each character is created to perfection. You truly feel like you personally are in the story, expereincing it for yourself. This is an experience that every romance reader must have.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lynn Kurland at her best

    One Enchanted Evening was an enchanting romp with Montgomery & Pippa. I was soo happy that he finally got his OWN adventure and was let in on the family's secret of "Paranormal Oddities" and a "faery" of his own. It was great how she included some of the characters from some of the other novels and see what is happening in their lives now. I can't wait to see who she has dreamed up for Tess, or Peaches even. An what has become of a few characters who have become missing.
    This book is perfect story for the time travel/romance lovers like me. It has touches of humor, with witty oneliners, a compelling story you wont want to put down. Thank you Lynn for another great one!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Read

    Montgomery de Piaget attracts responsibilities like blossoms lure bees. Where other knights have bonny brides, laughing children, and noble quests, he has the task of rebuilding the most dilapidated castle in all of England. A bit of magic might aid him—if only he still believed in that sort of thing.

    When Pippa Alexander is invited to England to provide costumes for an upscale party, she jumps at the chance to showcase her own line of fairy-tale inspired designs. Not even her older sister’s decision to act as Fairy Queen crushes Pippa’s hope that this time, she’ll wind up wearing the glass slippers. Not that she believes in fairy tales, or magic that whispers along the hallways of an honest-to-goodness medieval castle…

    But the castle is full of more than cobwebs, and danger lurks in unexpected places. And only time will tell if Montgomery and Pippa can overcome both to find their own happily every after . . .
    Persephone Josephine Alexander comes from a very present-day "granola" family. Nicknamed Pippa and determined to dominate the world through her fairy-tale fashion; she loses not only her apartment, but also her collection of rare fabrics and expensive sewing machines due to a fire at the beginning of our tale. Her bad karma changes when she gets the opportunity to display her whimsical costumes and show off her portfolio at her sister's newly opened castle in England. One thing leads to another and suddenly Pippa, along with her psychotic older sister Cindi, find themselves within Sedgwick Castle in the year 1241. Besides being her sister's servant, dismissing fairy beliefs and missing hot showers after falling into the castle's cess pool (twice!), Pippa's discovered she has growing feelings for the Lord of the castle, Montgomery de Piaget. He seems to know more about her "time" situation then he lets on, but he's also the only one who helps Pippa adapt to her new home. When their worlds suddenly flip, both characters question which is best: following their hearts or following their dreams?

    This was a cute read. Sadly, I'm not sure if it was the story itself or outside entities disrupting my reading process, but I found One Enchanted Evening lagged a bit. It went on a lot more into certain areas that I had no interest in going and that fact had me reading the book a lot longer than normal since I just could not seem to keep up with it for long periods of time. The quirkiness of the sisters and parents was odd to me when it was to be comical and I felt Pippa adjusted too quickly to her time-travel problem than would seem normal, but overall, it's a fun (and clean) historical read to keep by the bed at night.

    Likes: I enjoyed flashing back and forth through time within the same places and seeing the changes over the years, be it structure wise within the castles or noticing who within the de Piaget family we'd run into next.

    Dislikes: I kept hoping for some hot-steamy scenes to pop up and get me really engrossed into the story, but no . . . only some kissing and nothing more. I think I need a little bit more "romantic involvement" between the characters to keep my stories spicy and interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    Sorely disappointed!

    I am a HUGE fan of Ms. Kurland and have ALL her romances, with duplicate copies of most, but this one was very disappointing. The characters and plot were not at all up to her usual fantastic standards. It actually seemed like a book written by someone else and simply thrown together to create a new family of characters for future books. The main characters' actions were not believable and the plot was not convincing. I certainly hope Ms. Kurland's terrific writing style returns with her next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    Great book

    I only have one complaint and it's a weird one. I thought it went on too long. I know! The only reason that I feel this way is that it had several points where it felt like the story could end but then it kept going. I loved the story, I just wish it was a little tighter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING

    Lynn Kurland has done it again! I loved this book so much! I was waiting impatiently for Mile's story and I was not disappointed at all. If you like this series then you will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kurland does it again.

    A new twist on her time travel series. A lot of the characters from earlier books are there to help out the hero and heroine to figure out the twist and turn of fate. I love her writing style and her books are great for a rainy afternoon in your favorite chair with a box of your favorite chocolate and a warm drink. I always look forward to her next book being released and have her whole series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Lovely book

    The characters are very well suited. Very romantic and I am looking forward to the teasers placed throughout the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    An AMAZING read

    Lynn Kurland is by far one of THE best Authors. I've read just about every volume in the Macleod/ De Piaget families. I've gotten close to all of the characters. It is because of Lynn Kurland that I became such a huge fan of time travel romances. I watched and read about her characters getting Married and starting families, and all adventures in between. I love the fact that she can tell an AMAZING story without blood and gore and without being outright sexually explicit. She knows how to make a reader express ALL of the emotions while keeping it clean...she's very very skilled at making you want to be there a a part of the story. I didn't read this one until I read about his Montgomery's twin brother John, and even after that, I read about Tess's twin sister Peaches and Steven De Piaget. You don't HAVE to read them in any special order, as long as you read them, period..though reading in order and meeting each chracter is a great deal of fun too...I love the three Ghosts, Ambrose Macleod, Hugh Mackinnon, and Fulbert Depiagett...if ever, I was to run into ghosts, I would hope it was much like them. I do so hope that Peaches Alexander and Steven Depiaget are NOT the last characters we read about. She ended that book the same way she always does...leaves you wanting more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Great romance and story line

    Thoroughly enjoy all of Ms Kurland's books in this series. Have them all and have read all more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Outstanding!

    I enjoyed the book and have read over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5