Customer Reviews for

One Eskimo

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    5 out of 5 One eskimO is soothing and soulful music!

    "One eskimO is easy listening mellow music to soothe the soul. I enjoy listening to this CD on my 40 minute commute to and from work, it helps me fight the traffic without feeling irritable. I would highly recommend One eskimO's soothing, soulful sound to anyone. I especially love the tracks Chosen One and Kandi. I'm looking forward to hearing more from this group, they have definitely left me wanting more. Buy this CD and you won't be disappointed."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Sounds a little familiar

    To me this sounds like a perky Dave Matthews Band. Astronauts and Chocolate would be my 2 favorites if I had to pick. However this cd isnt really my style, not bad though. A lot of the songs are rather soothing, so they would be great to relax to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Mellow Album

    I was sent this cd for free to review. I found it to be very easy to listen to. At times I was reminded of Sting, Seal, Tears For Fears, and Cold Play. I found the songs to be catchy and fun to listen to as I went about my Saturday projects. It is definitely one I will listen to again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Soulful & Catchy!

    One eskimO self titled One eskimO

    The music on this cd is breathy, laid back, simple, and sultry, all in one. The song Hometime, when I play it, freaks out one of my cats! She starts crying, then jumps around. The song Kandi, is my favorite. The first time I heard it, I thought it was a good song. Then I watched the season finale of the tv show Bones, and I fell in love with it! At the end of the show, it showed Bones & Sealy saying goodbye for a year. They looked into the others eyes, and you can hear the song in the background. You think that they will finally kiss, but they do not. I hit the dvr several times just to listen to the song, then realized I had heard it before. It was in my stereo waiting to e reviewed! And yes, I did receive the cd at no cost to review. So when you listen to the cd, play it a few times, and give it a chance!

    The band has been on the Ellen show, the song Hometime was in a Toyota commercial, and the song Kandi, is a #1 radio hit song! So I'm sure they will be around for a long time, and I look forward to hearing much more from them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great chilled-out sound.

    I've never heard of One Eskimo before, but I received a promo copy to review from OneToOne Network. After listening to the CD a few times, I am sure this will be a summer staple for me. The sound is chilled out, ambient, with relatable lyrics. I would love to see a little more variety in song selections on the CD but the easy flow from song to song really helps relax the listener.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great CD!

    I had never heard of One Eskimo prior to listening to the CD. I must say that it was a pleasant surprise! I enjoyed all the songs, especially Astronauts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fun and Funky

    This was a fun and folksy type cd that appealed to my whole family. We enjoyed just grooving to the mellow tunes while my kids played and I made a meal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    One eskimO

    I received a free copy of One eskimO for my personal enjoyment (thanks, one2one network!), and after a dozen listens I'd like to throw in my two cents:

    First off, I would gladly have paid retail price! In fact, I will probably be purchasing a copy or two for birthday and Christmas gifts this year; I can see these songs having a wide appeal. Kandi in particular is the song that I had been hearing everywhere, even before I listened to the full album. Once I heard Kandi, I understood why - it's a catchy tune that makes for great driving music.

    However, I would have to say that my standout favorite is the track Slip in terms of both lyrics and music. Other memorable songs include Simple Day, Amazing, Chocolate, and Chosen One. One eskimO has a unique sound, but the songs also feel somehow familiar. I found the majority of their tracks uplifting and relaxing, and the entire album makes me want to sing along, even though I'll never have a voice like the lead singer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Mellow and intriguing

    I personally found eskimO's debut, self-titled album to be quite a dreamscape CD overall. The sound is mellow, with a little blues, and a little pop. "hometown", and my personal favorite, "Chocolate" are especially intriguing. "All Balloons" is playful and very catchy. "Kandi", which has already garnered much radio-plau and commercial success, sums up the entire feel of the album, and I feel that this band has only just begun.
    Thanks! Your review is being processed.
    Your review will be posted on the site, typically within 48 hours. You'll be able to see the review either on the product page, or on your profile page. If your review has not appeared online and you'd like to know why, contact us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Give it a chance - you won't be disappointed!

    I never heard of One eskimO before but based on the band name alone, I figured I was in for something new and different. I was pleasantly surprised by this band and felt like the CD is something I would recommend. It has an easy listening style vibe and definitely offers something different from other bands I listen to. Chosen One and Amuzing were my faves but other tracks on the CD were very good, too. I would recommend this to anyone looking for something mild, pleasant, and soothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One eskimO

    When a band has a name like One eskimO, you know you are in for something different. Their self-titled album is very interesting, catchy and sexy at the same time. I enjoyed a majority of the album, in particular Chosen One was my favorite. Other tracks that are worth a listen are: Astronauts, Kandi, Slip, Simple Day, Chocolate, UFO and Amuzing. Give them a try if you'd like to hear something new.

    Thanks to the lovelies at One2One Network for the chance to listen to this album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Catchy CD

    I hadn't heard of this group before being given the opportunity to listen to this One Eskimo CD. This band is based in London and to me has a very easy listening quality.
    I enjoy listening to them while working on the computer or for some nice background music.
    It has a nice mix of male and female vocals that will appeal to many different age groups.
    Very happy I had the opportunity to listen and review this CD, it has become one of my favorites.I have also recommended it to many of my friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Ambient Music with Catchy Songs

    This cd is great music to put on and have on in the background in the house. There are a few catchier tunes, which I find myself singing all day and night (especially Kandi which has been the most played song on all adult rock radio for four weeks). Other stand out songs are Astronauts, a very low key, gorgeous song and Simple Day which reminds me of a very muted Jason Mraz. The album as a whole flows together well, each song has it's proper place in the album and none feel like they don't belong. The last track Amazing, completes the album well and causes me to want to listen to the entire thing again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great studio band

    Great studio band, May 20, 2010



    This review is from: One Eskimo (Audio CD)
    I had the great pleasure of seeing them live in Tampa Fl. last night and the show was awesome. The albumn is much better then their live performance. Every track on the cd puts you in a relaxed sultry mood. The #1 hit Kandi you'll want to put on replay for about ten times and maybe just maybe you will tire of it. I love the whole album and wish them much success in the US. They do need to work on their repoire with the audience ( kind of shy, I guess ) Buy this Cd with no regrets of wasting your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Magical, like a summer's perfect twilight.

    For the past few weeks, I've had bits of a delightful, catchy pop tune stuck in my head. I was quite surprised when track 3 started and the tune I've been bopping to was "Kandi." This CD is a relaxing, whimsical journey. One eskimO has been playing in my car for the past week, and my road rage has reached epically low levels. It is next to impossible to be upset while the upbeat, dreamlike sounds of One eskimO floating around the car. The songs delight like fireflies dancing on a summer's eve. Highly recommended.


    I received a copy of One eskimO to review for the One eskimO project with One2One Network. This did not influence my review nor was I otherwise compensated for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Pleasant surprise

    I happened across this on accident on the One2One newtork and I must admit that One eskimO is not exactly what I would call your typical adult contemporary or easy listening album. Upon first hearing it was pleasantly surprised, being that generally I am not really a fan of this style of music. There is a cozy ambient feel to the entire album, leaving you somewhat dreamy as you listen. The acoustic guitar gives it a laid back folk feel and at times adds a somewhat fun element. Some of the songs seem to go on, leaving you hanging with no peak, even with all of the elements included in each song it somehow seems somewhat lacking in points. Strangely enough you are still left wanting more. Comparative in some ways to Dave Matthews, Tracy Chapman, and at times Dan Folgelberg, One eskimO offers something new and different to please your ears in a time when music is starting to all sound the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1