Customer Reviews for

One False Note (The 39 Clues Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 381 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(268)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Definitely Not a Disappointment!

"The 39 Clues: One False Note," by Gordon Korman is the second book in Scholastic's popular book series, "The 39 Clues." Although readers may think that the first one would be better, considering it is by Rick Riordan, author of the acclaimed "Percy Jackson and the Oly...
"The 39 Clues: One False Note," by Gordon Korman is the second book in Scholastic's popular book series, "The 39 Clues." Although readers may think that the first one would be better, considering it is by Rick Riordan, author of the acclaimed "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" series, this book is definitely not a disappointment! Gordon Korman did an extremely good job making the characters' personalities the same as they were in the first one and making sure the clues are just as hard to figure out!

posted by Amajorbibliophile on March 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

To: !! and $$ From: Lucian-Madrigal

What is wrong with YOU!!! This book was exellent. And the rest of the series is awesome! Don't send me a message back i dont want to hear it.

posted by 10436277 on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 383 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely Not a Disappointment!

    "The 39 Clues: One False Note," by Gordon Korman is the second book in Scholastic's popular book series, "The 39 Clues." Although readers may think that the first one would be better, considering it is by Rick Riordan, author of the acclaimed "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" series, this book is definitely not a disappointment! Gordon Korman did an extremely good job making the characters' personalities the same as they were in the first one and making sure the clues are just as hard to figure out!

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great books for tweens

    My son and I have been reading the 39 clues series and thoroughly enjoyed volume 2. We have already pre-ordered #3 and have completed the online challenges as well. I highly recommend these books for anyone with kids in the "tweener" stage. Because the main characters are a brother-sister team ranging in age from 11-14, I think it would be appealing for both boys and girls and catch the attention of a sometimes difficult age group.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    Interesting Twist

    The False Note is the second 39 clues book; by Gordon Kormon, it is a fictional novel. I loved this book because it always had you on your toes. You think one thing will happen, but the total opposite will happen. The story started in Germany, then went to Venice in the modern time setting.
    Dan, main character, his sister Amy, and their au pair, Natalie have to get the second clue to win the contest before the rest of the family finds it and figures it out. Dan almost dies because Dan and Amy got two pages from Mozart's sister's diary, from the Janus part of the family. Dan has to think fast because everything is happening and it goes very quickly. Dan also had to be careful so none of his family would find him and try to kill him. They would like to kill him because the family thinks that Grace (grandmother who started this whole thing) gave them a clue to help them win the contest.
    The author uses humor in his writing and he also uses writing that kids would say now. The age period that should read The False Note is 9-13 and older if they want. If enjoy being surprised almost every chapter and never know what is going to happen next. You will love the The False Note.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    To: !! and $$ From: Lucian-Madrigal

    What is wrong with YOU!!! This book was exellent. And the rest of the series is awesome! Don't send me a message back i dont want to hear it.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Great series for tweens/teens to get them interested in reading!

    My son, who has not been very interested in reading, is now reading for pleasure! He really got into these books and has read every one in the series. We rush to B & N everytime there is a new release in the series. These books can also be used for A/R testing purposes. Its nice to find a series of books that kids like that can also be educational and creative! I recommend these to parents looking to spark an interest in reading!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    39 Clues Book 2

    My daughter just loved this book and is looking forward to the rest of them. She received the first book as a gift for Christmas and was eager to read the second one. She has me so interested, I am going to read them too.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    lklerjgoihgoiurho

    Meqkl;rhjnpqoi4egjqproijg3r iohjq3 giophj3 4poighj 1pogj3io[ 4ghi9- 3

    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Amy and Dan barely escaped with their lives in the French catacombs. Now, they're on their way to learn more about Mozart. <BR/><BR/>They're not alone in tracking down the 39 clues, but is someone tracking their movements? <BR/><BR/>From the train ride out of France to the escape from Venice, Amy and Dan face danger again and again. They're not above stealing clues from other Cahills, breaking into hotel rooms, distracting store clerks in order to search their store, and entering the Janus branch's secret underground hideout. <BR/><BR/>The trail for Mozart leads them through Germany, Austria, and Italy - and all countries lead them into danger. They're determined to play; after all, their life depends on finding the clues first. <BR/><BR/>A great second riveting adventure in THE 39 CLUES series will leave readers anxious for Amy and Dan while rooting for them all the way.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Fast paced abd loaded with adventure

    Boat chases, elite hotel breakins, and angry mobs! If this sounds interesting buy this book!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    !!

    I don't really care i think all of his books are GREAT ha ha ha

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ONE FALSE NOTE: FRESH!

    Rating: 63%

    Although it may contain a little less action and adventure than its predecessor, One False Note is still not a disappointment, even though it may be directed towards younger readers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Best book

    The 39 clues are so interesting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Really good book!!!

    Read it! Its REALLY good!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    P

    Like it or not you shold like ir because it is da bomb. Why is it da bomb in so many ways this is the a great book. If you thinking of reading it you should. Read your heart out this book is wonderful!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    The 39 Clues rocks!!!

    I love to read the series!!! I love reading about each family and each clue in each book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Epic

    Epic

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Amy and Dan will rule!!

    Take that Kabra the cobras! U will fail and b humiliated for all time!!!!! MWAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! I LUV ME CAHILL! They have to be true cahils though. No srupid others. Just Cahill.
    \m/ (>.<) \m/ rock on cahills! Rock on...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great!!!

    I love the series. I have already read "The Maze of Bones"when I didn't have the nook. I can't wait for the next!!!


    from,
    Aiden

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    fun book

    My daughter and I are reading the series together. I am having a hard time keeping up with her. They are fun adventures with a fun web site the whole familly tries to play the games. I will be sad when the adventure is over, but a movie is in the works or at least that is the rumor. We bought the first book on itunes and then had to buy it in hard cover for our collection. very fun quick reading.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    More interesting for Ekats than Tomazes.

    The third in a series of books, each written by a different popular children's author, 39 Clues is another smart-sister-impulsive-brother story, but this time the person or team who gathers the 39 clues will be the most powerful person ever? I can't guess what this could mean, so I keep reading.

    Gimmicky, with the clue cards and website (although I am addicted to their games Find-It and NitPix), but if it helps keep kids reading over the summer and on their own time, well worth it.

    It also introduces kids to different important places around the world, from the Franklin Institute in Philly, and pyramids of Egypt, to the catacombs under Paris.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 383 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20