Customer Reviews for

One False Note (The 39 Clues Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 381 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(268)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Definitely Not a Disappointment!

"The 39 Clues: One False Note," by Gordon Korman is the second book in Scholastic's popular book series, "The 39 Clues." Although readers may think that the first one would be better, considering it is by Rick Riordan, author of the acclaimed "Percy Jackson and the Oly...
"The 39 Clues: One False Note," by Gordon Korman is the second book in Scholastic's popular book series, "The 39 Clues." Although readers may think that the first one would be better, considering it is by Rick Riordan, author of the acclaimed "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" series, this book is definitely not a disappointment! Gordon Korman did an extremely good job making the characters' personalities the same as they were in the first one and making sure the clues are just as hard to figure out!

posted by Amajorbibliophile on March 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

To: !! and $$ From: Lucian-Madrigal

What is wrong with YOU!!! This book was exellent. And the rest of the series is awesome! Don't send me a message back i dont want to hear it.

posted by 10436277 on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 268 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Expensive

    Wow!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    One false note

    I cant wait this book has it all everything is exciting a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Best book ever

    This book really reflects my life because my moms side is North vs. South with our family like amy and dans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Good

    Best book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    9876

    Awesome toldly should read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Headline

    Review

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Awesome

    Right now i am reading maze og bones

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great book

    Great book you should read it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Jiovanni

    This book is amazing read it please youll enjoy it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Wow!!!

    This is great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    BBE

    Best Book Eva!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    KEB reviews. A message and shout out for all.

    The series really began to get interesring at this point. So many people are in here and have Cahill ties to Amy and Dan. Alister is one of the trickiest of all, as his loyalties are unknown. Irina is also one not to be messed with at all. The Holts, on the other hand, are all brawn and little brain. Jonah seems to be the underdog at this point. But Ian and Natalie Kabra are a sly as the snakes if their branch. However, one question has gone unanswered until the ninth book: Who is the man in black? Is he a friend or an enemy. Keep reading the series to find out. Please comment on my reviews. To find them, read my maze of bones review. KEB out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    39 Clues (book2)

    WARNING ENDING MAY BE REVIELED!!! The fictional novel The 39 Clues One False Note by Gordon Korman takes place in Italy and France. The book begins as Amy and Dan get on a train, followed by the vicious family, the Holts. On the train the Holts try to steal the clue by ambushing them. Amy and Dan make a quick escape and go to a historic library to find Mozart's sister's diary, the key to the next clue only to find it stolen. They learn T.V. star Jonah Wizard and his father, other who contestants where the thieves so they cleverly steal it back. In the process Nelly, there baby sitter is taken hostage so using a doll with a code they get her back. They then followed their uncle to public catacombs only to get attacked by monks. Amy and Dan then break into a secret base in Italy and they then steal the diary's missing pages and escape the guards. They then face there worst enemies the Kobras, but are able to beat them to the second clue. At the end of the book Mr.McIntre once again meets with the Man in Black.
    One thing I like in the book is how they cross the world. Another thing I like is how unlike other books the beginning is full of action, and not dull and boring. Lastly I think it's cool that the book is a fictional novel but has true facts in it as well. One thing I don't like is how Mr.McIntre is a traitor and helping the man in black. I also don't like how the family fights and harms each other. Also at some times in the story it was confusing.
    The author, Gordon Korman wrote this book in 3rd person point of view and the book is both easy and hard to read. Overall it's easy to read but complicated at times. The author does not use similes or metaphors but can paint pictures in my mind. I highly recommend this book. One reason is that there is always something going on, it's never boring. Also there are many creative mysteries. My personal favorite thing is that there is so much suspense. For example, at the end of chapter 5 it states, "He was placing a guard at the elevators and at the bottom of all building stairwells. Amy and Dan were trapped."
    One similar novel is The 39 Clues Maze of Bones (book 1). Another similar book is Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K.Rowling. The Mysterious Benedict Society is also a related novel. I recommend The 39 Clues book one. I also liked the Harry Potter series. I liked that series because it's full of magic and fighting. There is obviously one of my favorite books Inkheart when the story comes to life.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amy and Dan in Vienna

    In the second book the children find themselves in Vienna chasing another clue. They are on the run from there family who want to harm them so they don't get the final clue.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i really liked the 39 clues series

    i really liked reading the 39 clues series because it was fun to try to guess what the clue meant and where it would take amy and dan cahill. it suspensful and mysterious and all- around enjoyable. it wasn't twilight-good but it wasnt bad either. i cant wait to read the rest of the series. i also recommend dead is the new black, death by biikni, killer cruise, sleepless, and model spy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    An Awesome Adventure By Amy and Dan

    I enjoyed this book. There was a lot of comedy , adventure, and thrills. It is good for the classroom because you learn about mozart's life. The book is very good for travel or if you are reading for fun. There aren't many lessons in the book. If you are reading this book you will love the drama and action. It also shows you how two kids can survive alone with only an au pair and other Cahills. This race is great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book for 9 year olds

    My son was thoroughly excited to read this book and couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    This is just an amazing book and I havent even read it yet!

    I am just stunned at how in the first book the aouther created such an intersesting and challenging background for the story that could literally go on and on and on. When the second book arrives at my house I am sure that I wont be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!

    I had purchased the 39 Clues, Book 1 & 2 for my 11yearold son. While on vacation and finished with my book, and nothing else to read, I picked up the 39 clues. As a mother, let me just say I couldn't put the book down. I'm already waiting to buy book #3. My son hasn't finished reading it-----he doesn't like reading. Hopefully he'll finish and have the same feelings about the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Interesting book!

    It is in my top ten list of favorite books. Very captivating. I read it in one day! The only bad part about it was the skull in the catacombs which made it a little too scary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 268 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14