Customer Reviews for

One Fat Summer (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    read this book in junior high school so many years ago! it's 1 o

    read this book in junior high school so many years ago! it's 1 of my favorites

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    One Fat Summer

    It was really good i think everyone should look at this author or read one of his books one fat summer is a amazing book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Very Good Book...

    Upon reading this, I loved it! I read it in about a week and loved every page. It is very descriptive and I felt as if I was right along Bobby, the main character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a Sixth grade Studen in Glendale, Arizona

    The book titled One Fat Summer by Robert Lipsyte was one of the best books I have read this quarter. One of the main characters, Bobby, a protagonist, is quite a fluffy kid, but has a kind heart. Another main character is Dr. Kahn, the snooty, rich, estate owner. Lastly, we have Willie, the mega antagonist. Willie is the big jerk who tortures Bobby all summer. The plot consists of an over-weight American boy named Bobby who applies for a job mowing lawns for Dr. Kahn. However, Willie also goes for the job, and is seriously mad that Bobby gets the job instead. Thus, he assumes he now has the right to bully Bobby, and does some heinous things. In the end, it's a win for Bobby, and a deserving loss for Willie. The following weeks, Bobby and parents are out clothes shopping, and Bobby finds out that he lost a whole lot of weight! Maybe that terrible mowing job wasn't so bad after all.? The setting of One Fat Summer is in the season of summer, and in present day. Quite a bit of the story revolves around Rumson Lake and Dr. Kahn's lawn. The theme is something like, "Don't judge people by sight, get to know them beforehand." In my opinion, this story was amazingly well done. I think this because, of all the books I've read, this one, so far, is the only one that has ever been this close to real life. A chubby boy being tortured by some person who thinks they have the right to walk all over him. This story just, it captures the essence of bullying, but a litlt e to much. Let's hope there is never another man like Willie! A connection I've had to deal with is that I was a little chubby when I was around six or so (my grandma fed me too much cookies!), and so I was bullied. But the problem was ceased immediately by the teacher. Another connection is the bullying of the world, along with the wars. Pepole pick fights for no reason at school, and it just reminded me of the bbok, and how not everyone is as brave as Bobby. Related books to this wondorous story are Outcast by Christopher Golden and Thomas E. Sniegoski. Anothwe is Suddenly Supernatural by Elizabeth C. Kimmel. I chose these books because the both featured and "outcast" similar to Bobby, but for very different reasons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    One Big Fat Summer

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: One Big Fat Summer
    Title of review:
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 3

    Introduction
    A kid name Bob who's trying lose weight by mowing lawns as well as earning money so people would stop making fun of him.
    I think this would be a good story for teenagers that are overweight. The author is trying to say every body is different you don't have to be doing what other people do and don't let them get in your head by talking bad about you.

    Description and summary of main points
    Bob is a fourteen year old boy who wants' to try to be skinny and able to fit in with his peers. He mows lawns to earn money and to loose weight so he could fit in with others. He wants to make friends and become popular. He to be able to buy thing's that he wants' for him and his friend's. He meet's this old man who try's to help him out of his situation.
    Evaluation


    Conclusion


    Your final review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    Feel good story

    One Fat Summer, although somewhat dated in places, is a good story about the pressures one kid faces due to his obesity. Written in the 1st person, you get a good sense of what runs through Bobby's mind as he's being taunted and ridiculed by his peers. The ending was satisfying, although there seemed to be some unresolved issues with his parents and sister.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    'One Fat Summer'

    Bobby hates the summer, because he weighs over 200 pounds. Instead of wearing short sleeves and shorts, he wears heavy jackets and long pants to cover his fat. Bobby has to spend his summer at Rumson Lake, which is sure to make his summer horrible. To make it even worse his parents won't stop fighting, and his best friend Joanie goes home to New York City without telling Bobby why. Bobby gets a job mowing Dr.Kahn's lawn, a rich, greedy man who only pays Bobby fifty cents an hour. If Bobby's summer isn't going to be bad enough, a local guy named Willie Rumson who worked at Dr.Kahn's last summer, wants to pay Bobby back for stealing his job. Bobby is not looking forward to this summer at all, but what he doesn't know is that this one fat summer is sure going to change him and his life forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    One Fat Summer~ by Robert Lipsyte

    Robert Lipsyte has brought forth into public view yet another masterpiece. 'One Fat Summer' begins in a vacation spot about three hours away from New York City. This place is known as Rumson Lake and is where 200+ pound Robert 'Bobby' Marks is spending the black pit in his year- otherwise known as summer. Bobby has always hated summer, and continued to hate in the beginning, when he was a miserable overly self- concious 14 year old. Then things start to happen. Joanie Miller, Bobby's best friend, has gone back to the city and won't tell him why. Bobby has gotten a job mowing Dr. Kahn's lawn, but is overworked and payed an unfair wage. Michelle and Pete are secretly seeing eachother, and Bobby's parents are suddenly having endless arguements. Most of all, Bobby is being hunted down by a raging psychopath, Willie Rumson. Bobby is about to find out how fat one fat summer could really be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    One unforgettable summer

    The Unforgettable Summer The book One Fat Summer is about a guy that is around fourteen years old his name is Gary. He isn¿t really that cool nobody likes him except for his friend. Summer is right around the corner and his friend is leaving for two weeks on vocation. Gary is going to be lonely without his only friend. Gary finds a way to keep busy by getting a summer job. When his friend returns from her vocation she can¿t believe what¿s she¿s seeing. This book is ok in my opinion and I rate it four stars. I recommend this book to people around ages 13- 15 .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    Outsatanding

    This book is about a teenage boy named Bobby dealing with the troubles of summer.Now,Bobby is over weight and he only has one friend named Joanie.They won't be spending the summer together because Joanie is going to New York for an 'operation',but she won't tell Bobby what the operation is.Other characters include Michelle 'BObby's sister',Willie,Pete and Mr.and Mrs. Marks.I enjoyed this book it was a very enjoyable book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    The Big Change

    There is this family that moves to Rumson Lake for the summer and they live in the city during the rest of the year. The main character is Bobby and he is a very big kid and he is about fifteen years old. His dad usually sends him to summer camp, but for once Bobby got out of it and he ends up getting a job. His older sister Michelle is the only one that knows about his job until the end of the book. Having the job helps Booby get more fit and it makes him a lot happier. While Bobby and his family are at Rumson Lake Bobby runs into a lot of trouble with his job and he almost gets killed. At the lake Bobby has a friend named Jonnie and she has something done to, but I am going to let it up to you to find out. At the end of the summer his sister is in love and going off to collage, and Bobbie¿s dad treats him with respect. The book had a lot of interesting things that got me all exited and nerves. One of the things I liked about the book was when Bobby had a gun pointing at because that part was full of excitement and nervousness. Another thing I liked was how bobby got himself a job to make some extra cash and how later on it makes his dad feel proud of him. The book itself was easy to understand what was going and that¿s anther positive. There were something¿s that I did not like about the book and that was when Bobby was called fat or big guy. I didn¿t like it when Bobby was left on an island with no clothes on and he had to sleep in a very dirt hut. I didn¿t like how the book ended either because it left you hang and wondering what is going to happen next. I recommend this book to people who like to read about summer time and who would like to learn more about bulling. This book is not part of a series. The book reminds me of the Bullying movies that we watch at school and what can happen if you do not tell an adult. This is my first book from this author. This is one of my first times I really got into a book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved this book! This book had a lot of great lessons to be learned such as, to not bully someone just because they're different from you. In this book the main character Bobby Marks is bullied, mainly by Willie Rumson, because he is overweight. Bobby is bullied to the point where he is afraid to be seen without his shirt on. Bobby stands up to this bully and ends up winning the battle, I'm not going to give that away because you'll have to read the book! This novel is a great selection for anyone that wants to learn about the effects that bullying has on people. I loved this book and I hope that you will read and love it too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    Best Book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this was the best book ever even though i can't relate to the novel i can tell how hard it must have been for bobby. I loved how boby didn't like it when joanie changed her nosie because it showed that it really doesn't matter what you look like one the outsidde but it matters whats on the inside. I love how bobby finally stuck up for himself and how even thpought terrable things happened to himn that he still kept his job even thought that is what got him into all of that mess. he even showed his dad that he was more then just FAT because that is all his father ever thought he was and all he would be. With the help of his mother and his best friend Joanie he made it throught that summer with a smile on in the end. He also was more cofmorable with himself and he learned that it didn't matter what he lookde like. This was fabulous and i would deffinatlly read again.XOXOXOX READ IT XOXOXOX. It's great!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    I CAN RELATE TO THIS BOOK!

    i am 13 5 feet tall and weigh 298 pounds. people dont understand what its like to be like me and Robert. u dont have to be fat to love this book! it will help u understand how har it is to be so overweight

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    Wow...One Fat Summer is outstanding

    One Fat Summer is a book about a young boy named Bobby Marks and a girl Named Joanie... Mark and Joanie are the two main characters...they are boyfriend and girlfriend... I would reccomend this book to people who think they are over weight

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    this book was a real pleaser!

    i really enjoyed this book...and for many reasons! the main character- Robert Marks a.k.a bob marks, big bad bob, etc. has a real personality that many people including myself can relate to. the author did a really good job of making people able to relate to him...and not just making him who people 'want' to be. during the book, he had many difficulties along the way (e.g. problems with his family, his best friend Joanie, his new job from Dr. Kahn, and the biggest problem of all - Willie Smith.) As this book goes on you start to notice changes throughout everyone- including a major one from Bob... I really recommend reading this book if you like realistic stories and ones that you will always remember!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    From Fat To Slim Jim

    This book was amazing. If I had a choice to read this book again I would. It is about a kid named Robert (who is fat) and has to watch out for Wille Rumson because Robert took his job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Kelly, a reviewer of 1 Phat Summa

    I think that this book is terrific. It talks about the true feelings and thoughts of a real teenager, who is facing a fact that makes him self-conscious, but gradually trying to overcome his obstacle. I really like the sense of humor in this book. I also love the last part when Bob loses all of his weight;)and starts to stand up for himself more often. Although I don't really get it when he is mad at his friend, Joanie, for fixing her long nose. After all, beauty is really important and she got to do what is best for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    This is one of my favorite books!

    I thought that this book was great. I hope that I will be lucky enough to find another book just like it soon. Thanks a lot Robert Lipsyte for writing such a great book. I think that if you have access to this book then READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2003

    great book

    I thought it was a great book that really captures real life and that is why I like this book. I liked the end where he loses all that weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2