Customer Reviews for

One Fat Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    read this book in junior high school so many years ago! it's 1 o

    read this book in junior high school so many years ago! it's 1 of my favorites

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    One Fat Summer

    It was really good i think everyone should look at this author or read one of his books one fat summer is a amazing book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Very Good Book...

    Upon reading this, I loved it! I read it in about a week and loved every page. It is very descriptive and I felt as if I was right along Bobby, the main character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a Sixth grade Studen in Glendale, Arizona

    The book titled One Fat Summer by Robert Lipsyte was one of the best books I have read this quarter. One of the main characters, Bobby, a protagonist, is quite a fluffy kid, but has a kind heart. Another main character is Dr. Kahn, the snooty, rich, estate owner. Lastly, we have Willie, the mega antagonist. Willie is the big jerk who tortures Bobby all summer. The plot consists of an over-weight American boy named Bobby who applies for a job mowing lawns for Dr. Kahn. However, Willie also goes for the job, and is seriously mad that Bobby gets the job instead. Thus, he assumes he now has the right to bully Bobby, and does some heinous things. In the end, it's a win for Bobby, and a deserving loss for Willie. The following weeks, Bobby and parents are out clothes shopping, and Bobby finds out that he lost a whole lot of weight! Maybe that terrible mowing job wasn't so bad after all.? The setting of One Fat Summer is in the season of summer, and in present day. Quite a bit of the story revolves around Rumson Lake and Dr. Kahn's lawn. The theme is something like, "Don't judge people by sight, get to know them beforehand." In my opinion, this story was amazingly well done. I think this because, of all the books I've read, this one, so far, is the only one that has ever been this close to real life. A chubby boy being tortured by some person who thinks they have the right to walk all over him. This story just, it captures the essence of bullying, but a litlt e to much. Let's hope there is never another man like Willie! A connection I've had to deal with is that I was a little chubby when I was around six or so (my grandma fed me too much cookies!), and so I was bullied. But the problem was ceased immediately by the teacher. Another connection is the bullying of the world, along with the wars. Pepole pick fights for no reason at school, and it just reminded me of the bbok, and how not everyone is as brave as Bobby. Related books to this wondorous story are Outcast by Christopher Golden and Thomas E. Sniegoski. Anothwe is Suddenly Supernatural by Elizabeth C. Kimmel. I chose these books because the both featured and "outcast" similar to Bobby, but for very different reasons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    'One Fat Summer'

    Bobby hates the summer, because he weighs over 200 pounds. Instead of wearing short sleeves and shorts, he wears heavy jackets and long pants to cover his fat. Bobby has to spend his summer at Rumson Lake, which is sure to make his summer horrible. To make it even worse his parents won't stop fighting, and his best friend Joanie goes home to New York City without telling Bobby why. Bobby gets a job mowing Dr.Kahn's lawn, a rich, greedy man who only pays Bobby fifty cents an hour. If Bobby's summer isn't going to be bad enough, a local guy named Willie Rumson who worked at Dr.Kahn's last summer, wants to pay Bobby back for stealing his job. Bobby is not looking forward to this summer at all, but what he doesn't know is that this one fat summer is sure going to change him and his life forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    The Big Change

    There is this family that moves to Rumson Lake for the summer and they live in the city during the rest of the year. The main character is Bobby and he is a very big kid and he is about fifteen years old. His dad usually sends him to summer camp, but for once Bobby got out of it and he ends up getting a job. His older sister Michelle is the only one that knows about his job until the end of the book. Having the job helps Booby get more fit and it makes him a lot happier. While Bobby and his family are at Rumson Lake Bobby runs into a lot of trouble with his job and he almost gets killed. At the lake Bobby has a friend named Jonnie and she has something done to, but I am going to let it up to you to find out. At the end of the summer his sister is in love and going off to collage, and Bobbie¿s dad treats him with respect. The book had a lot of interesting things that got me all exited and nerves. One of the things I liked about the book was when Bobby had a gun pointing at because that part was full of excitement and nervousness. Another thing I liked was how bobby got himself a job to make some extra cash and how later on it makes his dad feel proud of him. The book itself was easy to understand what was going and that¿s anther positive. There were something¿s that I did not like about the book and that was when Bobby was called fat or big guy. I didn¿t like it when Bobby was left on an island with no clothes on and he had to sleep in a very dirt hut. I didn¿t like how the book ended either because it left you hang and wondering what is going to happen next. I recommend this book to people who like to read about summer time and who would like to learn more about bulling. This book is not part of a series. The book reminds me of the Bullying movies that we watch at school and what can happen if you do not tell an adult. This is my first book from this author. This is one of my first times I really got into a book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved this book! This book had a lot of great lessons to be learned such as, to not bully someone just because they're different from you. In this book the main character Bobby Marks is bullied, mainly by Willie Rumson, because he is overweight. Bobby is bullied to the point where he is afraid to be seen without his shirt on. Bobby stands up to this bully and ends up winning the battle, I'm not going to give that away because you'll have to read the book! This novel is a great selection for anyone that wants to learn about the effects that bullying has on people. I loved this book and I hope that you will read and love it too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    Best Book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this was the best book ever even though i can't relate to the novel i can tell how hard it must have been for bobby. I loved how boby didn't like it when joanie changed her nosie because it showed that it really doesn't matter what you look like one the outsidde but it matters whats on the inside. I love how bobby finally stuck up for himself and how even thpought terrable things happened to himn that he still kept his job even thought that is what got him into all of that mess. he even showed his dad that he was more then just FAT because that is all his father ever thought he was and all he would be. With the help of his mother and his best friend Joanie he made it throught that summer with a smile on in the end. He also was more cofmorable with himself and he learned that it didn't matter what he lookde like. This was fabulous and i would deffinatlly read again.XOXOXOX READ IT XOXOXOX. It's great!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    I CAN RELATE TO THIS BOOK!

    i am 13 5 feet tall and weigh 298 pounds. people dont understand what its like to be like me and Robert. u dont have to be fat to love this book! it will help u understand how har it is to be so overweight

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    this book was a real pleaser!

    i really enjoyed this book...and for many reasons! the main character- Robert Marks a.k.a bob marks, big bad bob, etc. has a real personality that many people including myself can relate to. the author did a really good job of making people able to relate to him...and not just making him who people 'want' to be. during the book, he had many difficulties along the way (e.g. problems with his family, his best friend Joanie, his new job from Dr. Kahn, and the biggest problem of all - Willie Smith.) As this book goes on you start to notice changes throughout everyone- including a major one from Bob... I really recommend reading this book if you like realistic stories and ones that you will always remember!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    From Fat To Slim Jim

    This book was amazing. If I had a choice to read this book again I would. It is about a kid named Robert (who is fat) and has to watch out for Wille Rumson because Robert took his job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Kelly, a reviewer of 1 Phat Summa

    I think that this book is terrific. It talks about the true feelings and thoughts of a real teenager, who is facing a fact that makes him self-conscious, but gradually trying to overcome his obstacle. I really like the sense of humor in this book. I also love the last part when Bob loses all of his weight;)and starts to stand up for himself more often. Although I don't really get it when he is mad at his friend, Joanie, for fixing her long nose. After all, beauty is really important and she got to do what is best for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    This is one of my favorite books!

    I thought that this book was great. I hope that I will be lucky enough to find another book just like it soon. Thanks a lot Robert Lipsyte for writing such a great book. I think that if you have access to this book then READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2003

    great book

    I thought it was a great book that really captures real life and that is why I like this book. I liked the end where he loses all that weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2002

    1 Phat Summer

    The book ' One Fat Summer' was a story about a boy into adulthood. Bobby is a boy who doesn¿t like the Summer because of his weight. Throughout this book you feel for the character as he is persecuted through trials and tribulations. As you read this book you can actually get a mental picture in your mind. This book keeps you on the edge of you seat. Just a few months ago, our class read a book that nobody liked. We found it boring and slow moving. This book made my class stop reading books all together. Then soon after reading this book the kids were all into it. When our teacher told the class it was time to go home from school, there were still kids reading the book. I even found myself doing this. I would recommend this book to other teenagers. This book helps you to love yourself and to accept yourself for who and what you are. It teaches you to grow and mature. This book gives hope and inspiration. ' One Fat Summer' is a book suited for all ages, its filled with laughs, tears, and hope. As a book reader and lover I give once fat summer two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2001

    My fav. book

    i think this book i the best. i have read this book 6 times. i usually dont like to read, one day i was rushed to get a book for AR i just picked it off the shelf and i never put it down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2001

    Sweet book

    I liked this book a lot because it kept me entertained the whole way through. It was pretty funny and gave a lot of enouragement. I recommend this book to anyone that has ever felt bad about themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    Phat Book

    this book really inspired me. it has to do with the troubles of childhood. i urge young readers to read this book. it will also help your vocabulary. it is a great book it'll help you understand yourself better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    OnE Fat SuMmEr

    I had to do this book for my school bookreport and I wasn't very interested in reading it. My friends all told me that it was a good book but I wasn't into it. After reading the 1st chapter i got really into the book n couldn't stop reading it. I read it in a short amount of days and i hope i get a good grade on my report. You really should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2000

    awesome book

    i dont like to read much but after i started reading this book i couldn't put it down. read it all the time it only took me two days because i got the book in the evening so i couldn't finish it till the next to. it is an inspiring book and i highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2