Customer Reviews for

One Fifth Avenue

Average Rating 3.5
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

pleasantly surprised

This book has been in my book pile for awhile. It was like a movie that you really don't want to go see, but are dragged to, then you are pleasantly surprised. No, this is not a "Sex In the City" book. This is a fresh story about people who live at One Fifth Ave and how...
This book has been in my book pile for awhile. It was like a movie that you really don't want to go see, but are dragged to, then you are pleasantly surprised. No, this is not a "Sex In the City" book. This is a fresh story about people who live at One Fifth Ave and how their everyday lives are entangled. I enjoyed and recommend.

posted by penname96 on August 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

An okay read

I got this book as a birthday present and could not wait to read this as my first summer read. I can honestly say I was truly disappointed. There were too many characters and not enough story surrounding each character. I kept waiting for the story line to pick up bu...
I got this book as a birthday present and could not wait to read this as my first summer read. I can honestly say I was truly disappointed. There were too many characters and not enough story surrounding each character. I kept waiting for the story line to pick up but after around page 300 I realized it wouldn't. At that point I was too far along to stop. For me, her other books were far more superior to this one.

posted by 529310 on May 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    pleasantly surprised

    This book has been in my book pile for awhile. It was like a movie that you really don't want to go see, but are dragged to, then you are pleasantly surprised. No, this is not a "Sex In the City" book. This is a fresh story about people who live at One Fifth Ave and how their everyday lives are entangled. I enjoyed and recommend.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Rainy Day Book

    As expected, this is not a knock your socks off, make you think classic. It's a quick and dirty chick lit. While very enjoyable, don't expect anything too out of the ordinary or surprising. I very much enjoyed this book the first time through, although not Bushnell's best book by far. I would recommend reading it if you're looking for a funny, up beat book. However, it's probably not a book you'll want to read a second time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Page 666

    If live is full of suffering, then One Fifth Avenue is as good a place as any to suffer. The rich and famous all have their glitches to deal with, and some of them can be outright nasty when doing so. Most of the characters are interesting, but, if you're like me, you'd want to kill Lola. I think Ms. Bushnell had that in mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Fun read but not a traditional "sex and the city" novel

    This was the first Candace Bushnell book that I read after reading an excerpt in Vogue. I enjoyed all the quirky characters and the battle in One Fifth Avenue. I have since read a few of her other books, but this is my favorite and I wish she would write more of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    I really liked the comedy in the book. It was funny, and my firs

    I really liked the comedy in the book. It was funny, and my first Candace Bushnell book. It was a pretty quick read, but at times was a bit hard to keep up with all of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book!

    I really enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Fun, easy read

    Candace Bushnell is a great writer & I was easily sucked into One Fifth Avenue. I felt like I was there! Great book & easy to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    different but good

    not the usual from bushnell but i enjoyed the read like i did the rest of them. i always recommend her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    New Fan

    I've just starting reading Bushnell's novel. This was my second and I couldn't put it down. I just kept wanting to find out what was going to happen to the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Entertaining

    One Fifth Avenue is filled with a variety of characters. In the beginning, it might be a little difficult to keep the characters straight. Once I got going, though, I really enjoyed this book. I found a lot of similarities between Bushnell's writing and something you might find in Edith Wharton. At least, as far as the subject matter is concerned.
    It is a little bit chic-lit, but also has some depth in analyzing New York Society. I really liked it--so if you don't mind a little mixture of depth and chic-lit, you'll probably enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Read

    This book had interesting characters and a typical NY socialite themed storyline. Built within it was the mystery of a well know missing antiquity which added an element of mystery to the novel, as well as brought all the characters together. I particularly found the modern day references of places and events well incorporated into the story, which allowed for it to be a bit more real versus surreal. Overall, this is a good story - I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Want to feel like a million bucks...read this book!

    The book was amazing. I picked up the book thinking it would be similar to a Sex and the City episode and found it completely opposite. Candace Bushnell floored me with every chapter. Intrigue, passion, and feeding everyone a taste of the society we see, but know that a majority will never touch or feel in a lifetime. However, this book makes you grateful for everything you may not have, because even with owning the world you can and more than likely will lose everything including yourself. This book is spectacular and I recommend it to anyone and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    Fun read

    Again, Ms. Bushnell does what she does best! She gives those of us not lucky enough to live in NYC a little glimpse into the lives of those who do. Her books are always so much fun to read and you always want more at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Very Timely

    This book really chronicles the hedge fund crowd. Like SATC, Candace really reads the pulse of current culture, kind of a hip chick version of Tom Wolfe. Read this - its not just chick lit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3