Customer Reviews for

One Fifth Avenue

Average Rating 3.5
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

pleasantly surprised

This book has been in my book pile for awhile. It was like a movie that you really don't want to go see, but are dragged to, then you are pleasantly surprised. No, this is not a "Sex In the City" book. This is a fresh story about people who live at One Fifth Ave and how...
This book has been in my book pile for awhile. It was like a movie that you really don't want to go see, but are dragged to, then you are pleasantly surprised. No, this is not a "Sex In the City" book. This is a fresh story about people who live at One Fifth Ave and how their everyday lives are entangled. I enjoyed and recommend.

posted by penname96 on August 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

An okay read

I got this book as a birthday present and could not wait to read this as my first summer read. I can honestly say I was truly disappointed. There were too many characters and not enough story surrounding each character. I kept waiting for the story line to pick up bu...
I got this book as a birthday present and could not wait to read this as my first summer read. I can honestly say I was truly disappointed. There were too many characters and not enough story surrounding each character. I kept waiting for the story line to pick up but after around page 300 I realized it wouldn't. At that point I was too far along to stop. For me, her other books were far more superior to this one.

posted by 529310 on May 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    Highly entertaining in-flight reading.

    I read ONE FIFTH AVENUE on a flight home from France after picking it up in the English-language section at the airport. I'd never read any of Candace Bushnell's books before, and I was very pleasantly surprised. While I wouldn't say it's a five-star work of great literature, I'd definitely judge it a five-star airplane read. Very entertaining!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Gets really good half way through!

    This is an easy summer read that will have you staying up all night trying to finish it. At first the book starts off ok but that it become a spicy chick lit and you won't want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read

    Full of interesting and very real characters. I thought the plot was focused and even though I have never lived in New York I was able to appreciate the setting and life style of the characters. I understood and could relate to each character as an individual. I also appreciate that the story line came back around. There were several characters introduced throughout the story and it was clear how each character was related to the story and had significance to each other. I loved the book and was happy I took the time to read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great read full of real-life characters.

    Sex and the City was such a great read, so I was unsure how this one would go. Not to worry, the author did a supurb job of giving the reader some interesting and unforgettable characters. Loved reading about the pricy lifestyles, that's for sure. All in all, it was a fun escape!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Good read!

    Great read. Indeed it was complex to keep characters straight in the beginning, but keeping to it paid off. Couldn't stop reading it. Lots of drama, but perfect ingredients to what story readers want.
    The ending I also found to be hilarious. The last page just cracked me up. This book has stayed with me for days.
    If youre looking for a story of entertainment, pick this up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for fans of Candace Bushnell

    I loved this book. Couldnt put it down. By far Candace Bushnell's best book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    REALLY liked this one!

    I was shocked when I was reading it, because the reviews weren't so great....I actually loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    easy reading of the characters as their lives inter twined.

    a bit nasty is a few areas due to graphic details but those are far between.

    I am anxoius to read another book written by the excellent author. I found another one listed below.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    liked it

    Good read. Try it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    Bushnell does it again

    I really enjoyed this book. It was nice to see Bushnell get away from just writing about the lives of women and focus on a building and the comings and goings of the people inside. It was fun New York as always.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    DELICIOUS

    Candace went a long way from "4 Blondes" and "Sex and the City". "One Fifth Avenue" is absolutely delicious. It's quite hard to fallow all the characters in the beginning of the book but once you hit page 50 it all comes to you easily. It's a real page turner. I am very impressed with a progress Candace made. This book is an art of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    What a great read

    This book was great. It kept my interest and I was able to follow it so easily. Candace Bushnell gave us all a great taste of New York living!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    WELL READ TALE OF THE RICH AND FATUOUS

    Gather round all you Sex and the City and Lipstick Jungle fans and don't miss a word of Candace Bushnell's latest take on the merry/wary-go-round that is her New York City. Bushnell is one author with her finger on the pulse, ear to the ground, and a stiletto heeled step ahead of the pack when it comes to fictional residents of this city of 8 million. Yes, they are fictional folks but Bushnell's painterly pen brings them to crying, laughing, plotting life. How many of us considered Carrie a dear friend?<BR/><BR/> This time out we go through the exclusive doors of an upscale Art Deco apartment building to meet Schiffer Diamond, Lola Fabrikant, Mindy Gooch, Annalisa Rice and Enid Merle. A keen observer Bushnell details each one's foibles, frailties, and fantasies with insight and humor. Her metier is often satire, and it is put to good use with this group. Most wouldn't want to have them as neighbors but One Fifth Avenue is a great place to visit, and you won't want to miss a detail. <BR/><BR/> Poor insecure Mindy frets because she lives in the building's smallest apartment (after all, this is where address and floor space = social acceptance), and Enid is an over-the-hill gossip columnist. Schiffer is an actress, and Annalisa with pots of new money is eager to buy her way into high society. Money talks - hers screams. Lola is young, lovely, used to getting her own way, and isn't about to be ignored.<BR/><BR/> Award winning actress Donna Murphy delivers a can't stop-listening-to narration of this tale of the rich and fatuous. A highly acclaimed musical actress Murphy's reading is enhanced not only by her acting prowess but also by her naturally melodious voice.<BR/><BR/> - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    One Fifth Avenue

    After a wonderful birthday start, I headed over to a wonderful sushi restaurant for an early lunch and visited my favorite store ever with a friend, Barnes & Noble, of course. I heard the new Candace Bushnell book One Fifth Avenue had just come out, so I purchased it for myself, yippee! What a fun book, plus you get the New York City experience in all of its glory. From a gold-digging actress who will do anything to become famous and/or marry into wealth (and I do mean anything), a publisher who can't help but sleep with his gorgeous assistant while he's still in love with his famous actress ex, nosy neighbors, an extremely arrogant business tycoon who gets sabotaged by a little boy in the building, to a woman who blogs about her life, this is one busy building. I had a blast reading the book, full of drama for sure and all taking place in the same building, One Fifth Avenue. I also enjoyed seeing the life of a successful author as well as the beginning of success for a new author, highly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Candace Bushnell Delivers Again

    Candace Bushnell delivers another thrilling New York lifestyle novel. I could not put this book down, the detail and imagination is wonderful. If you have every wanted to live in the New York Society, you must read this great novel. I absolutely can not wait for Candace Bushnell's next novel!!!! She is a great writer and always keeps you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3