Customer Reviews for

One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1350 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(988)

4 Star

(271)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 271 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mindless Fun!

    I gave the first book in the series three stars, and wasn't sure if I would continue reading. I didn't want to give up so easily, so I bought books two and three. To sum it up, the Night Huntress Series is a mindless (which is not always bad) and fun story to read. It doesn't require a lot of thinking and guessing as to what will happen next. The plot is often times repetitive as far as vampire hunting and love scenes go. The characters lack a certain depth that usually draws me into a book, but they all work well together. From the beginning, I think I was expecting something completely different from this series; maybe that's why I was a bit critical.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2015

    Great series

    Love the series. Keeps my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2014

    One Foot in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost is the second book in th

    One Foot in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost is the second book in the Night Huntress series. I’ve been sick the last few days, I do sick the first few days really well, heroic even, but by day four I’ve given up all hope and toss in the towel proclaiming I have hamster flu. I’ve told you before, I would not survive a zombie Apocalypse.

    Being sick means I’ve had plenty of time to read since I have slacked on all household and blogging duties opting instead to cuddle in my chair with my Husband’s blanket. It’s camo, but so far has been unable to conceal me from the needy 4 year old, who I’m quite sure I caught this hamster flu from.

    Anyway, back to the task at hand, reviewing One Foot in the Grave.


    Overall Rating: 4.5 Stars – Kept telling myself “just one more chapter.”

    I started this book pretty much right after finishing book one, you can read my review for it here. While a portion of this had to with the fact that I’m sick and using that as a reason to read it probably would have happened even if I wasn’t. I’m really enjoying this series and couldn’t wait to see what would become of Bones and Cat.

    For every measure that my love for Cat grows my hatred for her Mother is also expounded. I really just want someone to stake her already. It would make us all happier. But I do love Cat, while I don’t always agree with her choices she is such a strong heroine that I can’t fault her. I love kick ass heroines and she definitely fits the bill.

    Of course I also love Bones as well. He’s so sure of himself and their relationship, hearing him talk and be reassuring just melts me. He’s willing to battle an obstacle and make sure Cat is as well. Make sure and pay attention in the future because Bones will definitely be a book boyfriend.

    So much happens in this book, between our characters and with action. I mean really, there was so much action I didn’t have time to take many notes. I’m normally one for the more action the better, but honestly I’m starting to wish we would have had more time with Bones being his sweet self toward Cat. That’s what I fell in love with and I wanted more of those times in this book.

    Don’t get me wrong there is sex in this book and it’s good, but most of the scenes are of a more fade to black or just light in the details. But it was even more than that, I just wanted to see more mushy bones. I wanted him to woo me, he does, but I wanted more.

    I can’t wait for future books when we get to see everyone working together as a team and what the author has in store for our couple. I feel like everyone is finally accepting themselves and each other, including Cat. I loved One Foot in the Grave and will definitely continue to read this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Good

    I liked the twists. Curious to see what's next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    My Initial Reaction┬┐ I absolutely loved Halfway to the Grave, bu

    My Initial Reaction…
    I absolutely loved Halfway to the Grave, but based on how it ended I was really worried how I’d feel about One Foot in the Grave. I was not disappointed.




    The Characters…
    One thing I had really loved about Halfway to the Grave was Cat’s development as a character and- thank goodness! –  that really continues in One Foot in the Grave. Book 1 left off with Cat being roped into working for a government agency; this book picks up four years later and Cat has gone from kick-ass chick who doesn’t exactly know what she’s doing, to an independent woman, leading an entire special force for the government, knowing exactly what she’s doing and yes, she still kicks ass! Everything Bones taught her has made her not just a skilled fighter, but has been put to good use making a successful and loyal team.




    Can I just say that I ADORE her team? When I started this book I was pretty angry about everything Cat had done (What was she thinking? Bones could handle himself and her mother was not worth the trouble IMHO) and when I realized that it had been FOUR YEARS since she left Bones I was book-hurling angry. How could she just give up like that? And why the HELL hadn’t Bones found her and knocked some sense into her? So yes, I was predisposed to not like these guys. They were what stood between her and Bones. But then I got to know them. Tate, Juan and Cooper are the guys Cat has chosen and trained to be her elite team and they’re so fiercely loyal to her that they’re kind of impossible to not love. Frost did a really good job making them complex, complete with their own baggage and reasons for being part of the team. However, I do have to say, the one element I find really irritating in One Foot in the Grave is caught up with these guys. Why is it that every single man Cat knows has to basically have a hard on for her? I get it. She’s tough. She’s beautiful. She’s unattainable. But come on, does loyalty have to equal obsession? It get on my nerves a little, but not enough to not love the book.




    I just have to add that if you love Bones in Halfway to the Grave, you’re going to ADORE him in One Foot in the Grave. We hadn’t seen even a fraction of this vamps’ abilities yet and seeing him in action was really jaw dropping at times. Of course, Cat and Bones even NEAR each other signals some really great fantastic superb, okay you get the point, sex. What makes this sex so particularly great is the buildup. Miss Frost makes you work for it! The wait is excruciating – I mean it’s been 4 YEARS and you expect me to wait?!? – but it provides some of the best sexual tension I’ve read. This isn’t an erotica, but those faint of heart should beware of chapter 32. The rest of us will just look forward to it and blush just a little. Obviously, it’s not for the young crowd.




    The Story…
    So, yes, the romance gets a wee-bit hot and heavy. But this is still Urban Fantasy at  it’s finest, not a paranormal romance. And what makes it that way is the great plot and fantastic action. There really isn’t a dull moment in One Foot in the Grave. Cat’s the target of an assassin and she’s not going down without a fight. Added to that, Cat’s continuing to work on the mystery of her father. Both aspects meld together into a couple great mysteries and one great plot. Seeing her in command of her forces, prepping them for her plan (because she comes up with a pretty great plan) and setting her operation in motion was pretty fantastic in itself.




    The other element is Cat’s love life – as already clearly alluded to above. Cat has really matured and grown over the four years, but it’s not terribly surprising to see that she’s also alone. She has a friend, but romance is pretty much non-existent. Leaving Bones behind broke a piece of her and he hasn’t disappeared from her mind or heart. Cat’s internal struggle is a nice balance for the action, especially as she begins trying to enter the romantic world. Of course, it wouldn’t be a Night Huntress book if we didn’t get some times with Cat and Bones, so it’s really no surprise that before too long, Bones is reintroduced. It’s not simple though – Cat faked his death to protect him and as much as they still long for each other, there’s some hurdles to get over if they’re actually going to be together.




    Concluding Sentiments…
    I can’t believe I’ve let this series sit for so long after reading Halfway to the Grave. I’m an Urban Fantasy junkie, and this is IT. Oh and the last 15%? Be prepared to just cancel any plans after that point, you won’t want to put it down. I sure couldn’t! Definitely recommend to the few out there who haven’t started this series.




    *This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Nightfoot

    /•\ "I can come.." He pawed the ground. /•\

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    This is so far a fantastic series. I didn't enjoy this book near

    This is so far a fantastic series. I didn't enjoy this book nearly as much as the first, but it was still fast-paced, captivating and very exciting. 
    I was a tad let down at the climatic scene, yet with the way it ended, I can't complain. I love the dynamics of Bones and Cat's relationship and can't wait to read more.
    If you enjoy reading, pick this series up. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have been hearing about Cat and Bones from practically everyon

    I have been hearing about Cat and Bones from practically everyone for practically forever. So when I finally decided to pick up the first book and read it…whoa! I realize now what everyone is talking about!

    The second book in the Night Huntress series was just as action packed, fun filled, and hot and steamy as the first. I was a bit worried at first having Cat without Bones, but I figured he would not be able to stay away for long – although four years! What was he thinking? That was definitely long enough. I love that Cat is kickass and does not take crap from anyone. She sees what needs to be done and goes for it. She does not question herself or second guess her decisions. Many times you have heroines hemming and hawing over their decisions for chapter after chapter – boring! Cat is a go-get-em type of girl. I love how Bones just takes charge of everything. He walks into a room and commands it. The tension and chemistry between her and Bones is awesome and adds that little (or a lot) extra oomph to the story. Interesting ending to this one. I am getting ready to start the next in the series to see what happens!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    a fun read...

    this was the second beook inn the series and it was just as good as the first one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Go Cat

    I am really enjoying this series. I've only read the first two but will most definitely want to see what happens with Cat and Bones
    It's a good Vamp series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Great Followup without cliches

    I read the first book and loved it. The second book had me worried. Could she write an intriguing book that showed growth and didn't pander to the audience by taking zero risk with her character? Well she didn't pander to the masses, these characters grow, learn and love. Kat is coming into her own and Bones is just full of surprises.

    This book delivers on the happily ever after I was looking for, but she made her characters work for it. The plot moved fast, there were no miscommunications too keep our lovers apart, only really bad guys, questionable good guys and family we need to shoot but their family.

    I can't wait for the next one. I Highly recommend this book and the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well done second installment with actual character growth!

    I love this series. I was a little thrown by the premise of this installment taking place so long after the first. Four years is a long time and I was worried that it would hinder the romantic progression of Bones coming back into Cat¿s life. Really, I should have feared not.

    Bones is almost instantly back in Cat¿s life. Not back in her bed from the get-go, but back as a fellow vampire fighter and trainer. Though, the love doesn¿t follow far behind.

    I loved getting to know Cat¿s team. The men are rough and tough and it was interesting to see them at a point where Cat had a new member. It showed the testaments she needed to make to gain trust from the men, but also assured the reader that she was accepted as their leader as well as a friend. Watching the final team member slowly integrate and trust Cat was almost like watching a relationship develop¿Gave you the new relationship feeling that was missing from Cat and Bones. Mostly because Cat and Bones aren¿t new.

    Nope, Cat and Bones come to this book with previous expectations. High Expectations. And this book does deliver. The relationship is strong and still growing. Frost allows her characters to grow without changing who they are at their base. The repartee between the two is still strong as is the heat of their love. A little jealousy is thrown in (on both sides) to add a little spice.

    Readers who enjoyed the first book will find the same Cat and Bones, just a little older, and a little stronger. Like fine wine they¿re only getting better with age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Really good. Even better than the first one.

    4.5 stars. Loved it. I can't wait to continue on with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Cant wait for more!!

    This is a great series so far! I am so excited to read more from this author. Check it out.....mystery, bloodshed and steamy scenes. This is not a series for kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    couldn't put it down

    In the second book of the Night Huntress series, four years have past and our protagonist Half-vampire Cat Crawfield is now Special Agent Cat Crawfield. She heads up a special unit of the FBI that deals with vamps and ghouls. While she has built up a new life and has made a best friend, she still pines for Bones and what might have been. Her current case puts her in grave danger and Bones comes to the rescue. The storyline was fast paced and entertaining. I look forward to reading book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Impressive

    I am huge l.k. hamilton fan and this is almost as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    Got interesting near the end. The rest of the book is good. Some parts were kind a slow. Still a good read in Night Huntress series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    Check it out!

    This book is much better if you read the books in order. Bones searches for and finds Cat. Despite lots of problems, the hot romance continues! Definately worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    I LOVE THIS SERIES! I could pretty much listen to Cat and Bones go back and forth all day. I love their banter, their flirting, their fighting, their sexing... pretty much everything. Frost always manages to throw in character twists I don't see coming. I wasn't completely right about my guesses having to do with Cat's dad, but I wasn't totally off either! And there was some great character development with Cat's "men," who I just love. Can't wait to start #3!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 271 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14