Customer Reviews for

One Good Dog

Average Rating 4.5
( 584 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(349)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

144 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

SUCH A WONDERFUL BOOK!

I read a lot and my all time favorite book is The Art of Racing in the Rain. All other books I've read since then have not come close to the feelings, emotions, heart-wrenching as well as happy, that I experienced with The Art of Racing in the Rain.....UNTIL.....I read...
I read a lot and my all time favorite book is The Art of Racing in the Rain. All other books I've read since then have not come close to the feelings, emotions, heart-wrenching as well as happy, that I experienced with The Art of Racing in the Rain.....UNTIL.....I read One Good Dog.
This is an excellent book. Certain chapters are told by a man and the other chapters are told by a dog. And both man and dog grow so much during the course of their story. This is an amazing and excellent, excellent book. Do yourself a favor and read this one! It has become a very close 2nd favorite out of all the books I've loved.

posted by Anonymous19 on April 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Graphic details of pitbull dog fighting. Very sad story!

I got three quarters of the way through this book intending to give it a 4 star rating. It is difficult to read about the dog fighting world and after I struggled to get past the details in the beginning of the book, it comes up again towards the end. You are lead to be...
I got three quarters of the way through this book intending to give it a 4 star rating. It is difficult to read about the dog fighting world and after I struggled to get past the details in the beginning of the book, it comes up again towards the end. You are lead to believe that this poor dog will never encounter the extreme cruelty again, until the unexpected, disturbing twist at the end of the book. I would have never read this book if I had any idea that this poor dog would have to go through it twice! What makes it even harder to read this is that he is describing it! This is so upsetting & I wish I had seen a review that warned me about how upsetting this would be to read. I can't understand why this got such high ratings. I would have never read it and I find it disturbing that this author could put such graphic detail into this story. It was so sad that this dog had to endure the cruelty of dog fighting most of his life. How can you write about him having to go through it again at the end of the book? Way to sad &
disturbing for me!

posted by 11562620 on March 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 586 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 30
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Recommended for any dog lover!

    A highly enjoyable read that offers insight into the workings of our best friends. Although heartbreaking at times, it shows the power of determination & ultimately, the power of love to triumph over evil.

    I can imagine my own dogs thinking some of Chance's thoughts...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    a book for all dog lovers

    a great book for those who have had stress of family and work. Dogs like people can change! what you see on the outside does not tell what you get on the inside! i would recommend to all my friends and family.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of my Favorites

    I loved every page of this book. This was a heartwarming story of a scarred up pit bull that had escaped his life of dog fighting being picked up by a man who had lost everything he had accomplished in life due to a mistake. It was by chance that they met each other, but they turned out to be just what each other needed. Their worlds crossed as the pit bull went from the life of living in a filthy cage to being a "house dog", and Adam (the man) went from being a CEO of a company to being single and broke serving a sentence of community service for an act that cost him the life he once knew. Unlikely companions at first, but they ended up being two souls that needed each other. This book will make you hug your dog, kiss your spouse, and tell your parents how much you love them.

    This book will go on my shelf of favorites.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!

    Such a good read and hooked me from the start. Not a big fan of emotional upheaval but so grateful for the rollercoaster, if you will, of the emotions this evoked.

    Pay attention as there are many levels of circumstances that make you think about your own relationships, make you grateful for so many things you forget to think about and also remind you to stay in the moment.

    I admit to having a slightly irrational fear of pit bulls so this makes me re-evaluate me behavior and thought pattern. I love you Chance!

    Hug the things you love and remember them daily.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Great reading.

    I couldn't put the book down. I can't look at my dog now and not wonder what he is thinking. The author put me inside the dog's head. Also touched on several important social issues.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Very nice read

    This was a very nicely written story with loads of self-reflection, mistakes, courage and change. I enjoyed it. Thanks!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Read This

    This was a tough book to put down. I love a book where you cry,laugh,yell, cheer, and smile, If you love dogs and know they think,get sad,get disappointed,get silly, and that they do communicate clearly, then you must read it. This has a lot of lifes lessons in it. One just needs read and think AND then LIVE them!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    Loved, loved this book! The premise of this book was unlike other books in that the human was as needy of love and companionship as the dog. I cried more than once over the plight of both of the main characters. Both of them had been surrounded by people who were cruel in their own ways. The healing processes that both of them needed were addressed beautifully by Ms. Wilson. I will look for more of her books in hopes that others will be as thoughtfully written as this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One Good Dog.

    One Good Dog is about two creatures that have scraped the bottom of the barrel. Adam March did something supremely stupid and went from being a multimillionaire on the verge of becoming CEO to being a divorced, penniless man forced to work in a homeless shelter to complete his community service obligation. Chance is a pit bull that has escaped the pits of hell and was mistakenly rescued from death row. A case of mistaken identity. But once Adam rescued him, he was stuck with him. They are two creatures who have been beat up by life. Will they be able to help each other heal and become productive members of society? Or is it too late to teach an old dog new tricks?

    One Good Dog, is a book I can recommend. The story is told in alternate voices. One chapter is Adam's point of view, the next chapter is Chance's. Put together, the chapters tell a poignant tale of redemption, love and loyalty. The story is well written without being cheesy or hokey. If you love dogs and you love a good redemption story, don't waste time finding One Good Dog.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Boo

    Well, many thanks to the rude plot spoilers that told the gist of the book AND revealed the ending. Here is yet another book to add to the wanted to read but wont because plot spoilers ruined it pile! Cone on, bn, are you ever going to do anything to stop these plot spoilers?????

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    One good dog

    If you are a dog lover and believe that no breed is bad, just bad people you will love this book told by the humans side and the dogs side i read it in a few hours i could not put it down. I highly reccomend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Saved by a review

    I dont read grafic violence and sex anymore and have removed authors from my reading list who have increased it in their books add to rhis children in dire distress with grafic details and now dogs it is called desensitizing and the reader will soon need more and more to satisfy perverted tastes mom

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Another Nice Dog Tale

    While I wouldn't rate One Good Dog among the best dog tale books, it really is a pleasant read. The development of Adam, his issues with abandonment and the wonderful dog Chance takes the reader on an emotional ride. Sometimes you may hate Adam, sometimes you may love him. But at the end of the book you appreciate his growth, as well as Chance's, and how their lives weren't all that dissimilar.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As an owner of two very lovable rescues, I was drawn to this boo

    As an owner of two very lovable rescues, I was drawn to this book and just had to read it. As a national bestseller and a catchy cover story, it made it to my must-read list. Big mistake.
    At first, I was immediately hooked and raced through the first few chapters of One Good Dog. Unfortunately, it started to slow down about halfway through and even when I finished reading the entire book I felt like I stopped before I finished it. If this was a romance novel, the plot would have been entirely predictable. Boy gets in trouble, falls from grace and is forced to eat some humble pie. Then, a girl comes along, who is just as battered, and together they ride off into the sunset. But in this book, the girl is a dog and there is no “riding into the sunset” because there is not an ending.




    The whole book was reliant on the promise of a great storyline. There were so many great beginnings that were either not followed up on or finished up so quickly that it didn’t do justice to its potential. (The rest of the review contains spoilers, so it is only available on The Book Wheel website.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Good read..highly recommended

    This was a great book. I enjoyed it becuase this guy had it all and his world came crashing down. He had struggles in all aspects of liife from job, family and other things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Beautiful engaging story

    I purchased this book and it was so worth it! Be sure to have tissue on hand because it will pull at your heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Watch out

    This was listed in the under 5.00 section and i was charged 9.99! Not worth it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Excellent book

    I loved getting the dogs point of view. Well written, enjoyable book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Highly recommended.

    If you love dogs and feel for dogs, especially the ones brutalized and tortured in dog fighting, you have to love this book and cheer for one who got out. This book brought me to tears at one point and when does a book ever do that?????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Highly recommended for a book club discussion.

    I really enjoyed this book! I especially liked the story of the man and his loss of wealth but finding other things that he found more rewarding after getting over his "wealth" ideas. The dog became such a companion that he finally started thinking of something or someone else besides just himself. The ending though a little hard to appreciate was a just ending to this great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 586 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 30