Customer Reviews for

One Good Dog

Average Rating 4.5
( 578 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(344)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

144 out of 157 people found this review helpful.

SUCH A WONDERFUL BOOK!

I read a lot and my all time favorite book is The Art of Racing in the Rain. All other books I've read since then have not come close to the feelings, emotions, heart-wrenching as well as happy, that I experienced with The Art of Racing in the Rain.....UNTIL.....I read...
I read a lot and my all time favorite book is The Art of Racing in the Rain. All other books I've read since then have not come close to the feelings, emotions, heart-wrenching as well as happy, that I experienced with The Art of Racing in the Rain.....UNTIL.....I read One Good Dog.
This is an excellent book. Certain chapters are told by a man and the other chapters are told by a dog. And both man and dog grow so much during the course of their story. This is an amazing and excellent, excellent book. Do yourself a favor and read this one! It has become a very close 2nd favorite out of all the books I've loved.

posted by Anonymous19 on April 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Graphic details of pitbull dog fighting. Very sad story!

I got three quarters of the way through this book intending to give it a 4 star rating. It is difficult to read about the dog fighting world and after I struggled to get past the details in the beginning of the book, it comes up again towards the end. You are lead to be...
I got three quarters of the way through this book intending to give it a 4 star rating. It is difficult to read about the dog fighting world and after I struggled to get past the details in the beginning of the book, it comes up again towards the end. You are lead to believe that this poor dog will never encounter the extreme cruelty again, until the unexpected, disturbing twist at the end of the book. I would have never read this book if I had any idea that this poor dog would have to go through it twice! What makes it even harder to read this is that he is describing it! This is so upsetting & I wish I had seen a review that warned me about how upsetting this would be to read. I can't understand why this got such high ratings. I would have never read it and I find it disturbing that this author could put such graphic detail into this story. It was so sad that this dog had to endure the cruelty of dog fighting most of his life. How can you write about him having to go through it again at the end of the book? Way to sad &
disturbing for me!

posted by 11562620 on March 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    I really liked it!

    It promotes a value system, and gives hope for human change. Love dogs and dog stories, this is no exception.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Love it!!

    I am really enjoying the reading of this book and will recommend it to all of my dog loving friends.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    a book for all dog lovers

    a great book for those who have had stress of family and work. Dogs like people can change! what you see on the outside does not tell what you get on the inside! i would recommend to all my friends and family.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Very nice read

    This was a very nicely written story with loads of self-reflection, mistakes, courage and change. I enjoyed it. Thanks!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One Good Dog.

    One Good Dog is about two creatures that have scraped the bottom of the barrel. Adam March did something supremely stupid and went from being a multimillionaire on the verge of becoming CEO to being a divorced, penniless man forced to work in a homeless shelter to complete his community service obligation. Chance is a pit bull that has escaped the pits of hell and was mistakenly rescued from death row. A case of mistaken identity. But once Adam rescued him, he was stuck with him. They are two creatures who have been beat up by life. Will they be able to help each other heal and become productive members of society? Or is it too late to teach an old dog new tricks?

    One Good Dog, is a book I can recommend. The story is told in alternate voices. One chapter is Adam's point of view, the next chapter is Chance's. Put together, the chapters tell a poignant tale of redemption, love and loyalty. The story is well written without being cheesy or hokey. If you love dogs and you love a good redemption story, don't waste time finding One Good Dog.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Another Nice Dog Tale

    While I wouldn't rate One Good Dog among the best dog tale books, it really is a pleasant read. The development of Adam, his issues with abandonment and the wonderful dog Chance takes the reader on an emotional ride. Sometimes you may hate Adam, sometimes you may love him. But at the end of the book you appreciate his growth, as well as Chance's, and how their lives weren't all that dissimilar.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Good read..highly recommended

    This was a great book. I enjoyed it becuase this guy had it all and his world came crashing down. He had struggles in all aspects of liife from job, family and other things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Excellent book

    I loved getting the dogs point of view. Well written, enjoyable book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Highly recommended for a book club discussion.

    I really enjoyed this book! I especially liked the story of the man and his loss of wealth but finding other things that he found more rewarding after getting over his "wealth" ideas. The dog became such a companion that he finally started thinking of something or someone else besides just himself. The ending though a little hard to appreciate was a just ending to this great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Easy & enjoyable read

    Dog lovers will enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    One Good Dog

    Keep tissue handy as you near the end. If you like books about dogs, you will enjoy this one. It is also about both rehabilation of the man as well as the dog and how they help each other through the process. I will read this one again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Good read

    This book is about relationship, its sad how hard the husband
    Worked to provide the best for his ungrateful wife and spoiled daughter, i enjoyed the book, it had a happy ending, i adopted a stray dog never had a single regret

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Easy read!

    Very well written, through the eyes of a man who lost it all & a dog who helps him find the true meaning of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    A Heart Warming Read

    This is a delightful book. It is written from two viewpoints, the man's and the dog's, and shows us that there is always hope even for a pit bull who was a working dog. I completely enjoyed every word.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    ONE GOOD DOG by Susan Wilson was an enjoyable and heart felt boo

    ONE GOOD DOG by Susan Wilson was an enjoyable and heart felt book to read. The main characters Adam (human) and Chance (dog) tell about life's struggles, fights, and the true meaning of "man's best friend;" in their own point of view. I particularly liked how Susan Wilson used a dog's point of view to explain chances feelings on how he felt about certain situations like the cellar he was kept in and the abuse Chance had to endure. Really good book to read if you need a good cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    A good read

    If you're a fan of The Art of Racing in the Rain, this is not nearly as moving or descriptively written, but it is a satisfying read and has redemption as its theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Emerald

    -the golden retriver cross breed with white paws and muzzle, and with very long straight fur padded in. Her eyes were colorful jade and emerald.- ((can i join and wheres the bios?))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Stirs the heart

    I bought this because of the reviews. I love animals, but don't often care for animal stories. This had highs and lows and the story just flowed. I kept wanting to read more. Parts were hard to read, but I kept going. The story was very good, and it was well written. I loved the dog's perspective. I recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    one good dog

    Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Different!

    Tough to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8