Customer Reviews for

One Good Dog

Average Rating 4.5
( 601 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(361)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

148 out of 161 people found this review helpful.

SUCH A WONDERFUL BOOK!

I read a lot and my all time favorite book is The Art of Racing in the Rain. All other books I've read since then have not come close to the feelings, emotions, heart-wrenching as well as happy, that I experienced with The Art of Racing in the Rain.....UNTIL.....I read...
I read a lot and my all time favorite book is The Art of Racing in the Rain. All other books I've read since then have not come close to the feelings, emotions, heart-wrenching as well as happy, that I experienced with The Art of Racing in the Rain.....UNTIL.....I read One Good Dog.
This is an excellent book. Certain chapters are told by a man and the other chapters are told by a dog. And both man and dog grow so much during the course of their story. This is an amazing and excellent, excellent book. Do yourself a favor and read this one! It has become a very close 2nd favorite out of all the books I've loved.

posted by Anonymous19 on April 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Graphic details of pitbull dog fighting. Very sad story!

I got three quarters of the way through this book intending to give it a 4 star rating. It is difficult to read about the dog fighting world and after I struggled to get past the details in the beginning of the book, it comes up again towards the end. You are lead to be...
I got three quarters of the way through this book intending to give it a 4 star rating. It is difficult to read about the dog fighting world and after I struggled to get past the details in the beginning of the book, it comes up again towards the end. You are lead to believe that this poor dog will never encounter the extreme cruelty again, until the unexpected, disturbing twist at the end of the book. I would have never read this book if I had any idea that this poor dog would have to go through it twice! What makes it even harder to read this is that he is describing it! This is so upsetting & I wish I had seen a review that warned me about how upsetting this would be to read. I can't understand why this got such high ratings. I would have never read it and I find it disturbing that this author could put such graphic detail into this story. It was so sad that this dog had to endure the cruelty of dog fighting most of his life. How can you write about him having to go through it again at the end of the book? Way to sad &
disturbing for me!

posted by 11562620 on March 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 361 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SUCH A WONDERFUL BOOK!

    I read a lot and my all time favorite book is The Art of Racing in the Rain. All other books I've read since then have not come close to the feelings, emotions, heart-wrenching as well as happy, that I experienced with The Art of Racing in the Rain.....UNTIL.....I read One Good Dog.
    This is an excellent book. Certain chapters are told by a man and the other chapters are told by a dog. And both man and dog grow so much during the course of their story. This is an amazing and excellent, excellent book. Do yourself a favor and read this one! It has become a very close 2nd favorite out of all the books I've loved.

    148 out of 161 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ONE GOOD DOG By Susan Wilson

    ONE GOOD DOG by Susan Wilson was a great read one that really brought tears to my eyes. Two souls who have become lost now have to find their way back. They find one another and together they go threw ups and downs testing each other but in the end find that they have found their home where they belong.

    56 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One Good Book

    If you loved "The Art of Racing In The Rain" you will love "One Good Dog"! If you have ever loved a dog, you will love "One Good Dog"! If you have ever been loved by a dog, you will love "One Good Dog"! "One Good Dog" by Susan Wilson is one good book!

    26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Do not judge a book by it's cover Proo: Proof: don't judge

    I bought this book because it was on sale. I am so glad I did. This book is written in the 1st person and animal. This is a great voice for pit bulls and any animal lover should be sure to add this book to their favorite list. If you have a nook I think I can share.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    A read for all dog lovers!

    This book is so true, a dog well be with you no matter what happens in your life and you will love your dog with uncondtional love who stays by your side. If you lose your dog one way or another, it leaves a huge empty space in your heart, life and soul. Every dog owner should read this book, not only to know the love that a dog can give, but the love you can give a dog that has been so "hurt" by the world.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One Good Dog is an understatement.

    This book held my interest throughout. Don't want to reveal ending, but it kept me turning pages and losing sleep during many chapters to find out just what was going to happen next. It wouldn't be hard to relate to the main human in the story as to how we become so wrapped up in ourselves, work, etc. that we can't see how far detached we have become from the real world. The dog just reinforced my belief that pit bulls learn their bad behaviour from bad human beings. Treated with love and affection they are "Good Dogs."
    All in all, this is a book that I will keep in my library and read many more times.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    One of the most moving books I've ever read

    I believe this book should be required reading by anyone with any influence over the enforcement of harsh penalties for anyone associated with dogfighting.
    That said, I am an active member of a dog rescue organization and still found this book taught me quite a bit. Excellent all the way across the board.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    One Good Dog is One Great Read

    Reminiscent in a way of The Art of Racing in the Rain, but with its own distinct voice and message, One Good Dog is One Great Read. Its about redemption and loyalty, self-awareness and devotion, responsibility and commitment, and all those other sappy themes you could think of, but expressed with a sincere and heartfelt eloquence that will touch your very soul. If this is your cup of tea (or bowl of kibbles), I would also recommend anything by Spencer Quinn (the Chet and Bernie series) or David Rosenfelt (Andy Carpenter and Tara). While both of those are somewhat more lighthearted, they are clear evidence that going to the dogs is not such a bad thing afterall.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book! Partially from the dog's point of view!

    This book intrigued me, since I am a dog mom of 3 four-footed friends, and the sample sounded interesting. It started a bit quirky, but I soon got into the rhythm of the book..touching, nerve-wracking, but not predictable.. couldn't put down until I finished it...a godd read!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Fantastic read for dog lovers! Even if you aren't an animal lover you'll really enjoyed this book. Certainly a tear jerker - sad and happy tears. A real testimony to how God blesses us through His creatures.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Best book ever!

    Such a great story line you won't want to put the book down. Although you may read through many tears don't give up read to the end. This book is a must read for dog lovers.i

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Have To Read!!!!

    This is one of the very best books I've ever read! It starts out a little slow but stay with it...it is so worth the read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    One Good Book!

    Really enjoyed this book. This writer has an easy writing style and tells a good story. I loved the parallel stories of the man and the dog. I loved hearing the story in two voices: human and dog. A great book for all dog lovers, even if you are not a fan of pit bulls. It would be nice if the dogs really were thinking the things that the author made up. I feel bad for those pit bull dogs, people can be so mean.....I am not going to give the story away, but you should read it as you will not be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Recommended for any dog lover!

    A highly enjoyable read that offers insight into the workings of our best friends. Although heartbreaking at times, it shows the power of determination & ultimately, the power of love to triumph over evil.

    I can imagine my own dogs thinking some of Chance's thoughts...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of my Favorites

    I loved every page of this book. This was a heartwarming story of a scarred up pit bull that had escaped his life of dog fighting being picked up by a man who had lost everything he had accomplished in life due to a mistake. It was by chance that they met each other, but they turned out to be just what each other needed. Their worlds crossed as the pit bull went from the life of living in a filthy cage to being a "house dog", and Adam (the man) went from being a CEO of a company to being single and broke serving a sentence of community service for an act that cost him the life he once knew. Unlikely companions at first, but they ended up being two souls that needed each other. This book will make you hug your dog, kiss your spouse, and tell your parents how much you love them.

    This book will go on my shelf of favorites.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!

    Such a good read and hooked me from the start. Not a big fan of emotional upheaval but so grateful for the rollercoaster, if you will, of the emotions this evoked.

    Pay attention as there are many levels of circumstances that make you think about your own relationships, make you grateful for so many things you forget to think about and also remind you to stay in the moment.

    I admit to having a slightly irrational fear of pit bulls so this makes me re-evaluate me behavior and thought pattern. I love you Chance!

    Hug the things you love and remember them daily.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Great reading.

    I couldn't put the book down. I can't look at my dog now and not wonder what he is thinking. The author put me inside the dog's head. Also touched on several important social issues.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Read This

    This was a tough book to put down. I love a book where you cry,laugh,yell, cheer, and smile, If you love dogs and know they think,get sad,get disappointed,get silly, and that they do communicate clearly, then you must read it. This has a lot of lifes lessons in it. One just needs read and think AND then LIVE them!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    Loved, loved this book! The premise of this book was unlike other books in that the human was as needy of love and companionship as the dog. I cried more than once over the plight of both of the main characters. Both of them had been surrounded by people who were cruel in their own ways. The healing processes that both of them needed were addressed beautifully by Ms. Wilson. I will look for more of her books in hopes that others will be as thoughtfully written as this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    One good dog

    If you are a dog lover and believe that no breed is bad, just bad people you will love this book told by the humans side and the dogs side i read it in a few hours i could not put it down. I highly reccomend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 361 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19