Customer Reviews for

One Good Earl Deserves a Lover (Rules of Scoundrels Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A fun, touching and sensual tale ... featuring a couple that mak

A fun, touching and sensual tale ...
featuring a couple that makes you believe in soul mates.  Everything you could want in a romantic read!
Not only does the main couple share an intellectual connection, there’s a sizzling undercurrent of desire flowing between them.  ...
A fun, touching and sensual tale ...
featuring a couple that makes you believe in soul mates.  Everything you could want in a romantic read!
Not only does the main couple share an intellectual connection, there’s a sizzling undercurrent of desire flowing between them.  Ms. MacLean has written one of the most sensual scenes I’ve ever read where the couple never actually touch!  Seriously scorching encounters abound in this book, made all the more compelling since there is such a believable emotional bond between Pippa and Cross (they actually TALK to each other about things that matter!).




This is a story about two people who truly ‘get’ each other and accept one another as they are.  I enjoyed the balance of humor with the emotional elements in this book and appreciated the honesty between the characters.  Cross annoyed me a bit when he tried to do the ‘noble’ thing and let Pippa go but she redeemed the situation by taking charge and saving the day – thereby saving Cross too.  I really believe in their Happy Ever After.

posted by PolishedBookworm on January 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

I have read all of Sarah's books. I was so anxious for this one and I'm sorry to say it was by far my least favorite. I love her books and will buy the next one, but this one was a little disappointing. It was just alright.

posted by 19074613 on February 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    I loved it. Cross was hot and Pippa was refreshing. Loved their

    I loved it. Cross was hot and Pippa was refreshing. Loved their story and I can't was for Temple's story. I think his story is going to be
    Even hotter than the other two books. I can't wait..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    Another winner!!

    I have to admit that I adore Sarah MacLean's books. I've read all of her books, except for the first one, and they are easily some of my favorite books ever. One Good Earl does not disappoint. The hero is conflicted without being annoyingly stubborn and the heroine is smart and determined. I have no earthly idea if this book, or any historical romance I read, is historically accurate but that's not why I read them. Every second of this book was fun and lighthearted. It was one of those books that was so good that it made me want to go back and reread the first book in the series to see if it was as good as this one. I really can't say enough good things about this book. I can't wait for the next one in the series to come out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and Tantalizing

    The heroine in most Victorian romance novels are usually prim and proper with a touch of independence. Author Sarah MacLean’s heroine in One Good Earl definitely doesn’t fit this mold. Lady Philippa ‘Pippa’ Marbury looks at life as a scientist. She tries to follow the rules of society, but finds herself not most times. Narrator Rosalyn Landor does a fantastic job bringing the characters to life. She gives distinct voices to each leading you to think there’s more than one narrator. She expresses the emotions and feelings with great conviction. As her wedding to Lord Castleton approaches, Pippa has questions of a scientific nature about personal issues between husband and wife. Her logic is to seek answers from the man reported to be an expert in matters between a man and woman - Cross. A co-owner of The Fallen Angel, the most scandalous and exclusive club (casino) in London, Cross should be able to give her all the answers she seeks. The last thing Cross wants to do is assist this feisty woman in her scientific experiment. He may have the reputation of a womanizing rogue, but he has sworn off women for the last nine years because of a tragic event in his life. When Pippa and Cross clash, the sparks being to fly as they are completely opposites while being so very much alike. Determination leads to dangerous results on both their parts. The bantering between these two is contagious and you can’t help but smile. The dialogue pulls you in to be a part of the adventure. The quirky secondary characters add to the well-developed plot. While there are times you know where the story is going next, you’ll be surprised at what’s waiting when the destination is reached. MacLean slips twists and turns in that will catch you off guard with both shock and delight. One Good Earl was my first introduction to the writing of MacLean, but it won’t be my last. I’m eager to see what adventure the author has in store for the other partners of The Fallen Angel. FTC Full Disclosure - This audio book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Great read

    Heroine with a beautiful heart that brings out the best in the hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    I really loved this second book in the author's The Rules of Sco

    I really loved this second book in the author's The Rules of Scoundrels series. It's well written with wonderful characters.

    Lady Philippa Marbury has always been odd. She wears spectacles, is extremely intelligent, and is more interested in science than society. She's recently engaged and though she has read up on human anatomy she still has many questions regarding the mechanics of procreation. She decides to ask another scientific minded person to teach her. She approaches another owner of her brother-in-law Bourne's gambling hell, The Fallen Angel, a man she knows only as Cross. When he refuses she then tries to get her answers from a prostitute she meets outside of Cross's office.

    Jasper Arlesey, Earl Harlow, is known to most as Cross. He's intrigued and frustrated by Pippa. He eventually agrees to teach Pippa what she wants to know without compromising her. Though he ends up having feelings for her he knows he'll never be good enough for her. He's a man of many secrets and regrets. Can a woman who sees things as black or white ever fit into his murky gray existance?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Good series!

    This is the second book in the series, but it can be read independently. I recommend the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Loved it!

    Sarah delivers another terrific read. Sexy, smart and funny. Once you start reading you will not want to stop. Love that Pippa and Cross........can't wait to read Sarah's next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    GREAT book!

    I have now ordered three other books by Sarah MacLean due to this one! I thought the story sounded better than the title/cover looks - and thank goodness - it is! This is the second book in a series but I didn't know that and you don't miss anything by reading this first (it did inspire me to get the other though). My only complaint would be that it is TOO vulgar in the 'love scenes'. These are sex scenes unfortunately. I like a good story - and flip though the love scenes typically. But these are quite graphic. I think she's a way better writer than that. She doesn't need to throw in the gratuitous sex. But the story itself is very compelling. I loved meeting all the 'fallen angels'. This is written very well. Believe me. I'm very picky!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Very enjoyable, can't wait for the rest in the series!

    Likable characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Loved it!

    Wonderful story Pippa is a very unique character the perfect match for Cross

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Great story

    I love Sarah's books, can't put them down once I start reading them.

    This one was cute and funny and a love story. Pippa is a great character, not the typical leading lady and Cross is her perfect match. I'm glad I read their story.

    This book is not as steamy as some of her other's and I wonder if that may be the cause for poor reviews? More cute than sexy, but a good book ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Avon Book

    Our Earl Desrves A Good Lover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Good read.

    I enjoyed this story. I'm looking forward to reading more of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Awesome good read!

    Buy it and her other books, I am going to!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    Fantastic. Loved the story and fell in love with Pippa!! Can't w

    Fantastic. Loved the story and fell in love with Pippa!! Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Fabulous!

    A great follow up to the first book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    This was one of my favorites. I just loved it.

    This was one of my favorites. I just loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    One of the best books I've read lately. Humorous, passionate, co

    One of the best books I've read lately. Humorous, passionate, convincing. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One Good Earl Deserves a Lover is the second book in Sarah MacLe

    One Good Earl Deserves a Lover is the second book in Sarah MacLean’s The Rules of Scoundrels series, and from the first page to the last, simply wonderful! It’s witty, poignant, romantic, and sexy, and a story I simply couldn’t put down!

    I don’t know where to begin when sharing with you the many things I love about this book! The story is amazing - fast paced, sensual, deliciously sexy and very romantic. It's the perfect backdrop for our hero and heroine who are also amazing. They are vulnerable yet strong, stubborn but yielding, flawed yet in a word, perfect!

    Lady Phillipa Marbury, with her black and white, scientific way of thinking, drew me in and had me loving her early on. At times I laughed at how naive her ideas were, and at other times, I almost cried because of the same. I wanted to protect her from the harsh world of The Fallen Angel and Cross's life, and at other times I wanted to push her right into the middle of it - right into his arms! Pippa, like all of Sarah MacLean's heroines, is wonderful! The kind of woman I would like to be if I were living in her era.

    And then there's Cross. Cross is such an interesting character! A man of many contradictions. He's got secrets, demons that torment and eat away at him. At times he's oppressive and bleak, yet at other times he's compassionate and determined to protect those he loves. He's devoted, exciting, sexy... a truly perfect hero!

    And as if all that weren't enough, toss in an incredible supporting cast of characters, people whose stories I want to learn and whose lives I wish I had a place in... there's nothing more I can ask for.

    The bottom line: This book has everything I look for in my historical romance reads. It’s funny, romantic, heartwarming, sexy… indeed, it has everything I want, everything I’ve come to expect from Sarah MacLean’s stories.

    Many thanks to Avon Books for providing me with a paperback ARC of this story. It was a true pleasure to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4