Customer Reviews for

One Good Turn (Jackson Brodie Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Potpourri of Characters in a Mystery Novel

This tale opens with an incident of road rage, scary and all too real....but you are only seeing the tip of the iceberg. Here you are exposed to romance, mystery, greed, parenting, relationships, sickness and funny characters. The threads all weave together very n...
This tale opens with an incident of road rage, scary and all too real....but you are only seeing the tip of the iceberg. Here you are exposed to romance, mystery, greed, parenting, relationships, sickness and funny characters. The threads all weave together very nicely, even though you are doubtful any of what you are reading will relate to the mystery here. And, there are some memorable people you do not want to leave when the story ends. Jackson Brodie...a man who deals with his emotions and shares his thoughts and is also quite the crime fighter to boot. And my absolute favorite, Gloria Hatter who is manipulated by life itself and very slowly starts to realize what a victim she allowed herself to be. Her life becomes her focus when her husband becomes 'ill' under rather unpleasant circumstances and Gloria begins to see exactly what is terribly wrong in the world. The mystery is solved and you find yourself very intrigued when all the people scheduled for demise wind up in the same room with the killer...it would make a wonderful scene for a movie. And, the cherry on top of this wonderfully sweet treat is Gloria's renewal and growth and her take charge attitude for her future. Just absolutley delicious...Read this book.

posted by Anonymous on October 29, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

E-Book formatting is terrible

Para-graphs are bro-ken up; full of hyphens in the mid-dle of sen-tences; question marks lit-ter the pages ? in random spots...WHO IS ? PROOFING THE E-EDI-TIONS OF YOUR BOOKS, BARNES??? & NO-BLE?

posted by Farfel on August 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    A Potpourri of Characters in a Mystery Novel

    This tale opens with an incident of road rage, scary and all too real....but you are only seeing the tip of the iceberg. Here you are exposed to romance, mystery, greed, parenting, relationships, sickness and funny characters. The threads all weave together very nicely, even though you are doubtful any of what you are reading will relate to the mystery here. And, there are some memorable people you do not want to leave when the story ends. Jackson Brodie...a man who deals with his emotions and shares his thoughts and is also quite the crime fighter to boot. And my absolute favorite, Gloria Hatter who is manipulated by life itself and very slowly starts to realize what a victim she allowed herself to be. Her life becomes her focus when her husband becomes 'ill' under rather unpleasant circumstances and Gloria begins to see exactly what is terribly wrong in the world. The mystery is solved and you find yourself very intrigued when all the people scheduled for demise wind up in the same room with the killer...it would make a wonderful scene for a movie. And, the cherry on top of this wonderfully sweet treat is Gloria's renewal and growth and her take charge attitude for her future. Just absolutley delicious...Read this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    E-Book formatting is terrible

    Para-graphs are bro-ken up; full of hyphens in the mid-dle of sen-tences; question marks lit-ter the pages ? in random spots...WHO IS ? PROOFING THE E-EDI-TIONS OF YOUR BOOKS, BARNES??? & NO-BLE?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Love the Character

    I saw the first books in the series brought to life recently on PBS. The books were a definite "must read" after that. Like the character, and love the wit and dry humor Atkinson injects - makes me laugh out loud even while I marvel at the situations in which these characters find themselves. Will continue reading the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ABSORBING STORY - FIRST-RATE NARRATION

    Voice performer Robin Atkin Downes is a more than proficient actor - he's equipped to narrate in some 40 dialects. Television aficionados recognize him for his appearances on Nash Bridges, Beverly Hills 90210, Buffy the Vampire slayer and others. His London stage performances include starring in Dracula, Taming of the Shrew, Much Ado About Nothing, and more. He delivers a stellar reading of 'One Good Turn,' by Whitbread First Novel Award winner Kate Atkinson. What does a Good Samaritan get for his trouble? In the case of 50¿year-old Martin Canning, a second tier crime novelist who spends much time in wishful thinking, maybe a star in his crown but only a wealth of woes on this earth. Set in Edinburgh, Scotland, our story opens with a crowd of people witnessing what appears to be a minor bumper bash but quickly turns ugly. The driver of one of the vehicles jumps from his car and brutally attacks the other driver with a baseball bat. Just as a perhaps fatal blow is about to be delivered, someone in the crowd tosses a laptop case which deflects the attacker's aim. The tosser is Martin. For his life saving act, surely the most untoward thing he has ever done, Martin is robbed and worse. The crowd is quick to disperse, leaving listeners to believe that is the end of them. Not at all. Atkinson's magic pen brings them back, weaves them throughout her narrative in surprising ways. While we never know what life may hold in store, this author leads us on a fascinating journey of what it might. - Gail Cooke

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    One Good Turn is the second book in the Jackson Brodie series by

    One Good Turn is the second book in the Jackson Brodie series by popular British author, Kate Atkinson. Fans of Case Histories who watched Jackson Brodie drive off into the French sunset will be pleased to encounter this flawed but very likeable character again. Jackson, living in France and still unaccustomed to wealth, is in Edinburgh because he is funding the play in which Julia Land is appearing for the Fringe Festival. He witnesses, along with a queue of others, an apparent attack of road rage. Later, he spies a dead body on a beach and tries to stop it from being washed into the Forth. Surviving near drowning and intensive police questioning, he is then attacked by a violent thug warning him off. But off what exactly? Once again Atkinson takes several apparently unrelated events and, with consummate ease, weaves them together to form a brilliant mystery. A great part of the story is narrated by other characters: the wife of a corrupt property developer; a crime novelist plagued by guilt; a teenage boy who likes to shoplift; and a Detective Inspector who is a single mother. Atkinson’s strength is her characters and some of their inner monologues are an absolute delight, filled with dry British (and often very black) humour and understatement. There is humour, too, in certain situations and dialogue, including several laugh-out-loud moments. Atkinson packs in plenty of action: attack by baseball bat, dog, knife and gun; strangulation, drowning, heart attack, drugging, grand theft, accidental death, a missing body, an assassin and some Russian dolls of the living and craft variety. There are quite a few echoes and twists in the plot, and the final one had this reader grinning from ear to ear. Add to all this, Atkinson’s wonderful prose: gems like “all she could remember about him was his great cloud of hair, like a dandelion clock.”  and “a small life lived in neutral gear” and this becomes a novel that is a joy to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Great read!

    Everyone comes together in this story, and even though it's a mystery, it's also funny

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Highly recommended

    Loved this book! Well developed and likable characters with wonderful twists and turns! Didn't want it to end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    too much back story and not enough plot

    The core plot was intriguing. Unfortunately, there was so much back story to flesh out the characters, it really seemed more like page fillers. I found myself skipping paragraphs just to get back to the main story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding author, good story

    This is the second book I have read by Kate Atkinson. She reminds me of our American author, John Irving. All the storylines throughout the novel are tied up neatly together at the end of the book. One trend I have noticed with many authors lately is having one or more Russian characters who are usually the bad guys. There was quite a varied cast of characters in this book. There were also variations on the long-suffering wife who comes out victorious. You do have to pay close attention as you read to keep the characters and storylines in order, but it is definitely worth the effort.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    Don not know what the fuss is about

    I struggled to get through both her last 2 books. Won't be a third.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    FUN, FUN, FUN!

    Plan on sitting down and reading the entire book as reading a chapter here & there will not deliver. I loved this book - it offered me everything I want - a crime mystery, humour especially, humanity & reality. Greatly woven characters. I was surprised that I could not predict anything in this book - finally a plot that is fresh & fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    highly recommended

    So well written and laugh out loud funny..a realpage turner...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Loved the Action and Suspense!

    Kate Atkinson's way of interweaving lives is phenomenal! Could not stop turning the pages as the excitement seemed to have a steamrolling effect! Can't wait to read the next Jackson Brodie novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Amateur effort

    While Case Histories was very good, One Good Turn is a failed effort as a mystery/thriller. The main character, Jackson Brodie, former cop and PI, witnesses a road rage incident. He can ID the culprit and gets license his plate BUT DOESN'T TELL THE COPS. Then he's attacked by the culprit BUT HE DOESN'T TELL THE COPS the guy who attacked him is wanted in the road rage incident. Instead, Brodie is arrested and he pleads guilty to assault. I'm not making this up. Atkinson did. If Brodie just said a couple of things to the cops, the book would come to an abrupt end. Instead, Atkinson, after hyping her hero as observant and smark, makes him stupid for no reason except to keep the plot going. She altered character to accommodate plot - an amateur mistake for novice mystery writers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    I love Kate Atkinson's books

    This is no exception.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Would not recommend

    Interesting twists and turns but a very disjointed book. Only grabbed me in the last 100 pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Mystery!

    One incident at the beginning of this story ties a bunch of strangers together. Only they don't know it yet.

    Kate Atkinson's characters are fun, quirky, and completely unique. Individually and together, they carry the plot along many twists and turns. A master of mystery, Atkinson kept me guessing until the very end.

    This book has no serial killers, mass violence, or creepy, nail-biting suspense. Atkinson's talent for storytelling kept me turning the pages, [...] me in to her characters' world. No gimmicks required.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    Kate Atkinson at her best

    It is hard to express just how much I loved this book. After reading Case Histories, I was excited to read another novel featuring Jackson Brodie and I was not let down. Like Atkinson's other novels, this one is full of snarky humor, with a touch of sadness, and a fantastic mystery at it's heart. The characters stayed with me long after I was through reading it and the thing that impressed me most about this novel, was how satisfied the ending made me feel. I absolutely loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    the ripple effect...

    Sometimes, one event causes a ripple effect. This one tiny little occurrence causes people to come together who in other circumstances may never have met before. It also causes a chain of events that would otherwise never have happened. This story revolves around this ripple effect; a simple fender-bender at the beginning topples the very first domino.

    I loved the characters in this book. Each one was definitely unique and real at the same time. I could relate to bits and pieces of Gloria, Louise, Jackson...even Martin. I loved getting into their heads and understanding their thoughts and emotions, as well as seeing the same event from their different perspectives. I also enjoyed the pictures of the Edinburgh scenery that the author paints for her readers. I have been there before, and it was great to be able to place the characters on the street that I have walked or the castle that I have visited.

    The one downfall to this book was that the author was long-winded at times. In some parts she just talked too much. It did get a bit tedious, and we didn't really need that much information. The book could have been shorter and still brought the same idea across to her readers.

    All in all, it was a great mystery and the twist at the end is definitely intriguing. You find out the true event that really started it all, and then it all comes together like a finished puzzle. Toward the end, I became a bit concerned because I was about 10 pages away and the author was teasing me with the loose ends still flapping about, but once I turned the last page I breathed a sigh of relief and was happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    One Bad Turn

    I had a difficult time getting into this book. One of the main characters was a writer who allowed everyone to walk all over him. He wrote a popular book series which he hated and constantly daydreamed about changing his life which always seemed to include having an old fashioned wife who would knit, cook, etc. I found myself mentally groaning when I came to a chapter featuring him and skimming to get through as quickly as possible. Essentially I finished the book because I spent money on it and felt guilty not doing so.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6