Customer Reviews for

One Grave at a Time (Night Huntress Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 436 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(255)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

This was a great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

posted by BookaholicTracy on August 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Sadly Disapointed

Let me start off by saying that I adore jeanine frost and think she is an amazing author. I have read every book in this series and have loved them all except for books 5&6. Books 1-4 were amazing. They had so much passion and drama in them that they quickly became my f...
Let me start off by saying that I adore jeanine frost and think she is an amazing author. I have read every book in this series and have loved them all except for books 5&6. Books 1-4 were amazing. They had so much passion and drama in them that they quickly became my favorite books that I have ever read. Then I bought book 5 and was a little disapointed with how that book turned out. I had hope that book 6 would get back on track with the previous books and have that fire burning romance between Cat and Bones that books 1-4 had. Sadly I was VERY disapointed with this book. It doesn't even compare to her previous books in the series. It felt like it was rushed and it turned into to a filler book. There was barely any of the playful banter or deep profound love scenes between Cat and Bones. All in all after reading this book I can't even say I would read it a second time, its just that mundane. I have re-read her previous books several times over, and with this one I dont have that sudden urge to read it again. I absolutely LOVE this series and Bones and Cat are my two favorite characters ever. I just wish this book would have been as good as its counterparts. Heres to crossing my fingers and hoping the rest of the series gets back on track!

posted by ASH18 on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 440 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Not as good as the others in this series but, she is still on of my favorite writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    jeaniene frost, night huntress series

    These books have a little bit of everything. very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Frost

    ALL I CAN SAY IS LOVE IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Just finished the series.....

    Loved it...Ms Frost is an excellent writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cat and Bones are back again for another intense adventure. This

    Cat and Bones are back again for another intense adventure. This book takes place a few months after the last book. Cat still has the powers from the voodoo queen, you get to see how she handles so many ghosts being attracted to her. There is also the matter of taking care of a ghost that is a killer. How does one kill a being that isn't in the flesh?

    Not only that but there is a new addition to Cat's old team. Don is still a ghost and hanging around. Sadly this installment in the series does not have Vlad, though it does have Spade, Denise, Ian, and even Cat's mother.The book sort of left me feeling incomplete, like the story was not fully wrapped up. Hopefully the next book will answer my questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    You go Cat and Bones!

    Jeaninene Frost is among my favorite authors! I love the humor and plot in her books, and she delivered in this one!!! Way to go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Ghostly twist

    I loved the plot of this one! And the dialogue is incomparable to any other series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    One of the best

    If you want something more than Twilight than this series is IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was a roller coaster ride. Touching in that it allowed

    This book was a roller coaster ride. Touching in that it allowed us to enjoy some of the more serene moments we has gotten to experience with Cat and Bones, and harrowing when we faced off against one of the worst evils ever spawned by man. Add to that a new egomaniac that took over out government funded friends and a passel of ghosts to contend with and you have one wild ride.
    I liked this book a great deal, although I have to admit to not particularly enjoying parts of it—the miasma of evil and just plain psycho-ness of the main villain in this one was enough to give me the willies at times—which is a great big well done to Ms. Frost, even if I did have to take a time out while reading to recover from the pain of having my psyche twisted. The characterization was flawless in this book adding depth to the characters that we know and love, while adding some new and memorable names to our cast. Cat and Bones have made it to the point of intimacy that as a reader warms my heart without lessening either the sensual or emotional tension. They love each other more than anything; and if anything, that is almost scarier, as they have more to lose. Tyler, our new medium, was probably my favorite in comic relief; able to keep a head on his shoulders, at least when not bleeding out, and still keep a fierce wit and be snappy tease.
    The plot of this book worked well to move both the story and the world along, tho the ghostly quest bit did strike me as a tad contrived. I was saddened by the presence of Madigan as the new agency head, and see plenty of room for future plots to, hopefully, put him in his place. I also hope we see more of Tate and the team in the future, all good reasons to tune in to the next book. Tho first, I believe, is Vald’s tale—which assuages my grief that he did not make an appearance in this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    just Continued success

    I enjoyed this book as much as the first five and I hope there are more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Love this series

    READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay

    While this one was okay, it did get creepy in some moments and at the end too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Super

    Two thumbs up ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Night Huntress #6

    Awesome series! Ready for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Awesome!! Best books ever

    These books are amazing and there perfect and blend well together and has great and well described scences and characters.just because it doesnt have more sexual scences as the other books doesnt mean its not good or dissapointing, its good to have an equal amout.these series are amazing the best ive ever read! Cant wait for the next book to come out !!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Great reading

    I can't put down this book.
    I live the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Loved it!

    Another great installment to the series! (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Bones.....

    love me some Bones

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    At Last the Dynamic Duo Have Returned!

    I strongly suggest you read the previous books in the series (Halfway to the Grave, One Foot in the Grave, At Grave's End, Destined for an Early Grave and This Side Of The Grave) prior to reading this book.

    Wow, what a spectacular installment! Cat and Bones are back to being the fantastic dynamic duo! The previous installment in this series, Destined for an Early Grave, was interesting, however, there was a bit of lackluster to it. This current read is enticing and mysterious with lots of pizazz!

    The author did a fabulous job of maintaining plenty of twisted-humor, while having a consistent feel-good ambience throughout the story. Unlike past installments, this book didn't have a lot of explicit sex scenes. There was plenty of sexual tension, but the story mostly stayed on point with the plot which was very exciting.

    The release of this book could not have come at a more perfect time for me and this installment was exactly what I was looking for..pure unadulterated entertainment.

    I can't wait for the Cat and Bones book 7, The anthology Bite Before Christmas "Home for the Holidays", which is almost the size of half a book due out 10/25/11, and also the new Night Prince series with Vlad and Leila, Once Burned due out 3/27/12.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 440 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 22