Customer Reviews for

One Grave at a Time (Night Huntress Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 436 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(255)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

This was a great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

posted by BookaholicTracy on August 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Sadly Disapointed

Let me start off by saying that I adore jeanine frost and think she is an amazing author. I have read every book in this series and have loved them all except for books 5&6. Books 1-4 were amazing. They had so much passion and drama in them that they quickly became my f...
Let me start off by saying that I adore jeanine frost and think she is an amazing author. I have read every book in this series and have loved them all except for books 5&6. Books 1-4 were amazing. They had so much passion and drama in them that they quickly became my favorite books that I have ever read. Then I bought book 5 and was a little disapointed with how that book turned out. I had hope that book 6 would get back on track with the previous books and have that fire burning romance between Cat and Bones that books 1-4 had. Sadly I was VERY disapointed with this book. It doesn't even compare to her previous books in the series. It felt like it was rushed and it turned into to a filler book. There was barely any of the playful banter or deep profound love scenes between Cat and Bones. All in all after reading this book I can't even say I would read it a second time, its just that mundane. I have re-read her previous books several times over, and with this one I dont have that sudden urge to read it again. I absolutely LOVE this series and Bones and Cat are my two favorite characters ever. I just wish this book would have been as good as its counterparts. Heres to crossing my fingers and hoping the rest of the series gets back on track!

posted by ASH18 on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    This was a great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Read

    As usually Jeaniene does not dissapoint.. she brings all the characters to life yet again and draws you into the world of the un dead.. a must read. Amazing job Jeaniene .. Looking forward to more!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Cant wait for the next one!

    Cant wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    I Love Cat and Bones!

    I am hooked. The entire series must be read from #1 to see how much the characters grow in their love for each other and their strengths and abilities. It's a fun read, with lots of humorous dialogue and crazy paranormal surprises to keep you coming back for more! *Thumbs up*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    all of these books are great I've read them all twice and Cried

    all of these books are great I've read them all twice and Cried while reading certain parts in each book I just wish there were more books haha

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE this Night Huntress Novel. Love Cat and Bones! Great book and series.

    This book was amazing, I really enjoyed it, at great addition to the Night Huntress series.

    I really enjoyed Cat and Bones in this book, they are better than ever together. No more leaving each other behind, no more forces separations. They are great together.

    Cat has really grown in this book, she has a very long life ahead of her, and is finally realizing it. This changes her outlook a little, but she is still the Cat we all know and love. She still has her great sense of humor and is full of her witty snide remarks. She has finally realized she can be happy in the moment.

    Then there is Bones, What a HOTTIE! Love Bones. He is also growing and developing as well. I like that he has loosened up a bit, not as severe in his vampire territorialism as he usually is, he's a little more trusting. I also love how he is treating Cat more as a partner now.

    I love how the romance is solid, there are so many small tender moments between them that really made me smile. For those who like them sex scenes, there is one that was unique and fun. Let's just say, it gives the "Mile High Club" a whole new meaning, lol.

    The challenge in this book is a little harder than things Cat has come up against in the past. But how do you fight something that isn't corporal? Something you can't touch, and can't die or be erased? I enjoyed watching Cat try to out maneuver a crafty old ghost. Cat can't just unleash her Red Reaper skills since she can't physically touch the sly witch hunter. I wish we could have seen her go all Reaper on everything, but just wasn't something that fit in the book this time.

    ONE GRAVE AT A TIME was a nice installment to this series, which I had a hard time putting it down. I like where Jeaniene Frost is taking Cat and Bones and am glad some of the magic is back.

    I highly recommend this book, especially if your into the series with Cat and Bones. If you have never read any of the Night Huntress books, I suggest picking up the first one, and read on from there. You won't be sorry. Halfway to the Grave is the first in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Nicole

    Kisses you my hands sliding under your shirt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Love Cat and Bones!

    Can't get enough! Love them, love strong female leaders. love a great book with strong characters and a great story. Thanks Ms Frost!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    Cat and Bones are solicited for help...by a ghost. Seems some cr

    Cat and Bones are solicited for help...by a ghost. Seems some crazy stuff will be going down on Halloween and the duo needs to stop this evil before it gets worse. They enlist the help of Ian, Spade and Denise as well as Cat's mom, who's having a difficult time adjusting to her new lot in life.

    We are also introduced to a very eccentric, and very gay, floral designer/medium who is helping the team with their ghostly problem. He is a total riot!

    We've also got Cat's uncle, who is also getting used to his new lot as well. It seems Don has many secrets about the new commander of paranormal government agency Don used to head. We see a lot less of Tate, Juan, Dave and Cooper in the book and I have a bad feeling something awful is getting ready to happen.

    As we wind down to the closing of the series, many things are set in motion in this book that, hopefully, will be resolved in the next and final book of the series. I don't know about you but I'm super excited to find out what happens!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Review by Shannon Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Review by Shannon
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I never understand just how much I miss these characters until I finish the new book and realize I have to wait MONTHS until the next one comes out. 

    This story picks up a few months after the skirmish with the ghouls. Cat's still dealing with the aftermath of drinking from Marie (which has many ghosts camping outside of their house) and the loss of her Uncle and his subsequent inability to cross over. While Cat thinks they have a lot going on, Bones reminds her that no one is trying to kill them or their friends, so everything is going pretty well. Cat should really warn Cat to be careful of what you wish for.

    It's after returning from a summons to her old team base (and the harassing from a government jackass hiding more than he's telling) that things go south for our beloved couple. 

    It seems Fabian has taken a fancy to another ghost, Elizabeth. He breaks a house rule, allowing Elizabeth into Cat and Bones home, but for good reason. Heinrich Kramer, the Inquisitor (aka witch hunter) was murdered centuries ago by Elizabeth, who was trying to protect innocent women from being killed by Heinrich like she was. Unfortunately, Heinrich has figured out a way become corporal on Halloween to continue on with his torture. Elizabeth has taken it upon herself to try and stop him, but is now asking Cat for her help.

    Cat, being Cat, immediately agrees as a favor to Fabian (who never asks her for anything and is always there for her). What she doesn't realize is that Heinrich is no regular ghost and the juju she got from Marie's blood may not be there to help her out of this one.

    I loved this story. We continue to see how Cat has evolved from that woman with a single determination we met way back when. Even when I expected Cat to go off on her own, because she thought it was the right thing to do, she listened to what Bones said and agreed with his course of action. It's almost as if, in this story, she's finally trust the depth of the feelings she has for Bones and he for her.

    Of course, that doesn't mean Cat isn't her normal snarky self when it comes to the bad guys, because she certainly is. Heinrich is one bad as ghost who wants Cat anyone he can use her or abuse her (and abuse her is does, quite a few times).

    Some old friends come to Bones and Cat's aide. Denise and Spade, Ian, and Cat's mom Justina are all there to lend a hand, body, or other implement of torture or rescue. I was a little disappointed that Vlad wasn't around, because surely he would have enjoyed dispatching Heinrich with the rest of them.

    For those that enjoy those intimate moments with Cat and Bones, I'll leave you with this. They've given a whole new definition to the Mile High Club!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Night Huntress

    I love this series. Jeaniene Frost is my favorite author. Well written. Can't get enough!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    This book is more about the ghost aspect as opposed to fighting vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    highly recommended

    couldn't put it down - loved the whole series - love all the characters looking for more of authors work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Please read this series from the first book. If you do, you wil

    Please read this series from the first book. If you do, you will realize that this book is great because of all the characters have been through a lot of change. I love how Ms. Frost has developed the whole Cat-Bones relationship and the rest of the characters. The story line on this one is interesting and very challenging for Cat and Bones and the rest of their allies… how do they fight an enemy who has solid form only a few hours every year? Great plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Must READ!

    Love this author and I have ready all the books in this series. You canot put them down! I lauched, I cried and I was on the edge of my seat the entire time! Fantasy set in modern times with all the gore, romance and suspense a girl could want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    This was definitely one of the best of the series. Lots of actio

    This was definitely one of the best of the series. Lots of action and Cat and Bones are funny as usual =), can't wait for the 7th!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Night Huntress Series is a must read.

    I have read all the series so far this is a must read series. If you love Vampires this will be a great series for you. It is full of interseting thing and will keep you going. I can not wait for Jeanine to put more of this series out. I can read them over and over again, I can not get of enought of Cat & Bones & freinds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Next one please.

    Next one?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    love this series

    I love cat and bones! I have read the entire series and i hope she never stops writing these. Cant wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    jeaniene frost, night huntress series

    These books have a little bit of everything. very entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13