Customer Reviews for

One Grave at a Time (Night Huntress Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 435 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(254)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

This was a great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I can't wait for the next book to come out.

posted by BookaholicTracy on August 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Sadly Disapointed

Let me start off by saying that I adore jeanine frost and think she is an amazing author. I have read every book in this series and have loved them all except for books 5&6. Books 1-4 were amazing. They had so much passion and drama in them that they quickly became my f...
Let me start off by saying that I adore jeanine frost and think she is an amazing author. I have read every book in this series and have loved them all except for books 5&6. Books 1-4 were amazing. They had so much passion and drama in them that they quickly became my favorite books that I have ever read. Then I bought book 5 and was a little disapointed with how that book turned out. I had hope that book 6 would get back on track with the previous books and have that fire burning romance between Cat and Bones that books 1-4 had. Sadly I was VERY disapointed with this book. It doesn't even compare to her previous books in the series. It felt like it was rushed and it turned into to a filler book. There was barely any of the playful banter or deep profound love scenes between Cat and Bones. All in all after reading this book I can't even say I would read it a second time, its just that mundane. I have re-read her previous books several times over, and with this one I dont have that sudden urge to read it again. I absolutely LOVE this series and Bones and Cat are my two favorite characters ever. I just wish this book would have been as good as its counterparts. Heres to crossing my fingers and hoping the rest of the series gets back on track!

posted by ASH18 on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 254 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 13
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Always a great author!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted September 3, 2011

    keeps getting better all the time..

    Loved this book and its a must read if you love Jeaniene Frost.....lets hope more are to come and soon.PLEASE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Frost just do NoT dissapoint

    Love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Another compelling tale of the Red Reaper

    Having stayed up to make sure this downloaded right away, I started as soon as i woke up today. Frost has a way with Cat that endears her to yourself and Bones is a perfect compliment after so much time. Thanks to the issues with Don and the old gang, it shall be interesting to see how she approaches the change of authority and deals with both worry of an undead government if she makes the wrong moves and also that of the United States coming for her if she steps too far out of bounds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One Grave at a Time continues the fresh exciting adventures of Cat and Bones

    Fabian the friendly ghost introduces his buddies to his peer Elisabeth. She explains that in 1489 when she was twenty-seven years old, a magistrate and Heinrich Kramer accused her of witchcraft; though she was not a witch only a midwife, the zealous lunatic burned her at the stake. As a ghost she spooked his horse which led to the "Hammer of Witches" being tossed to his death. However, the story does not end there as Heinrich became a ghost who over the centuries every Halloween when he gains a body he continues his inferno homicides. She wants to execute this vile ghost.

    Cat agrees with Elisabeth's assertion that this abomination needs total extinction as Kramer selects three females to haunt as a ghost before he tortures and kills them when he obtains his annual body. Cat and Bones work up a plan to destroy the medieval ghost and his human sidekick, but also still must deal with her dead Uncle Don hanging around at the Lasting Peace Cemetery in Garland, Texas and Jason Madigan's plans for them and their team.

    One Grave at a Time continues the fresh exciting adventures of Cat and Bones. This time in the Jeaniene Frost Night Huntress urban fantasy realm, the protagonists work on killing a dead spirit as well as her Uncle who remains on This Side of the Grave. As always in this strong series, there is plenty of action while Cat evolves further as now she is full "blooded" vampire. Readers will want to join the dynamic duo as they cope with the good, the bad and the ugly ghosts and Jason.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Great book

    When we last left Cat and Bones they managed to stop a war between the ghouls and vampires. A ghoul wanted Cat dead, he wanted this because she was a half breed. But now she is a full vampire but it didn't matter to this ghoul. He told people she was to powerful for someone who has not been a vampire for very long. He preaches to anyone who will listen that the ghouls need to unite aganist the vampires, or the vampires will defeat them and turn them into slaves. They are able to defeat him with the help of the ghoul queen Marie Laveau.
    Now Cat and Bones are ready for some down time and to be able to spend some time alone with each other. But that is not going to happen. Their ghost friend and roommate, Fabian, has a female ghost waiting to speak with them. It seems that Fabian's friend named Elisabeth became a ghost in 1489. She was a midwife and when the magistrate accused a mother of strangling her baby with its own cord. When Elisabeth told him he was a fool. He sent for the witch finder, Heinrich Kramer. After Elisabeth was burned at the stake, her ghost huanted Kramer until his death. Elisabeth thought that was the end but it was just a new begining. For now Kramer has gained enough power to become flesh and bone one night of the year, Halloween. Before that night Kramer finds three women whom he wants to torture and burn. He uses his ghost form to torment and drive the women crazy then he convinces a human that the women really are witches and must be punished. The accomplice will then grab the women and get them ready for Kramer. It is up to Cat and Bones to find a way to stop this evil ghost forever. The question is how do you dill something that is already a ghost?
    This is the sixth installment of Ms Frost's Night Huntess series. Cat and Bones are the perfect team. They can kick butt with the best of em. This is the sixth book in this series but Ms Frost keeps each book fresh and different. Cat has grown since the first book. Hopefully there will be many more adventures with Cat and Bones.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 254 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 13