Customer Reviews for

One Hand, Two Hands

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Recommend for young schoolage children

    I enjoy anything written by max Lucado whether it is for children or adults. I usually prefer a book that i can hold in my hands and display in the classroom but this was well done for the nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    Great Kid's Book

    I recommend One Hand, Two Hands by Max Lucado. It's a great illustrated book for our kids that teaches the value of our hands and all of the great things we can do with our hands. I recomend this book. I am a member of Book Sneeze by Thomas Nelson Publishers. I received this book for free for submitting a review. I give this book 4 out of 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    A helping hand for parents of young children

    If left to themselves, our kids would live out their days in an unending, self-centered pursuit of their own happiness. The tendency to serve and show concern for others simply does not come naturally. They are by-products of consistent modeling, the right teaching and of course, some help from the ONE who "came not to be served, but to serve."

    Max Lucado gives parents a hand with this in his recent children's book, One Hand, Two Hands. While following the loveliest little girl throughout her day, he shares a series of ways children regularly use their hands. He shows them some of the many ways their hands can help others and teaches them to be thankful for their hands and to pray that God will use them daily.

    This emphasis on helping others is so necessary and it's the reason I was drawn to the title. And while it's not one of my favorite Lucado children's books, it was well written and delightfully illustrated (and I have to mention how adorable the animals were). Overall, I'd recommend the book for its message, quickly pointing out that although the message is universal, the appeal of the book is not. My five year-old son was not at all wowed by it, but I'm certain it would be appealing to younger children, and prove very helpful as you teach them to show compassion for others.

    I completed this review as a member of Thomas Nelson's Book Sneeze book review blogger program and received a free copy of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    MY favorite!!!

    This is my favorite bedtime story to read to my daughter. The illustrations are so adorable. It keeps my 1 1/2 year old interested. It is a well illustrated and written book. I absolutely love it and highly recommend it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    Pleasant: a nice gift book

    I recently read "One Hand, Two Hands" by Max Lucado. It is a book for young children to teach them the value of using their hands to the glory of God. It is a nice book that is written in a poetic style and rhymes most of the time. The art in the book is well done and would definitely keep a child entertained. I was interested in reviewing this book because we are soon going to have our first child. I was not too impressed with the forced rhyming in some of the areas of the book, and was not overwhelmed with the content as I usually am by Max' books. The book tries to show that we have opportunities to use our hands to God's glory, and that is probably a difficult concept to put into a children's book. The message is definitely a good lesson for children to learn, but with the lack of flow in the rhyming, it was definitely not my favorite children's book. I would not recommend the product to others. This is based primarily on the price. Its cover price is roughly $17, which seems pretty steep to me for a children's book. While I usually enjoy Max' books, this time I would steer clear.

    I received an advance copy free for a blog program. I am not paid and I can post my own opinion, which I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    A sweet, charming book about making a difference

    I received this book to review the same time I received Max Lucado's new book for adults, Outlive Your Life. This was meant as a companion for small children to understand that they, too, can make a difference in their world. This is a picture book of a little girl and her extraordinarily cute companions discovering all the things they can do with their hands. The illustrations are bright and colorful. Some reviewers have noted the imperfect rhyming, but my kids weren't bothered by it. I think that One Hand, Two Hands is a wonderful way to share with your small children or grandchildren, nieces or nephews, the blessing of giving of one's self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable for Kids and Adults

    This is quite a charming book teaching different values of prayer, helping others, and thankfulness for your blessings. It may not be applicable only to children, but to adults as well. I find this book entertaining, and educational. It is simple, and delightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One Hand, Two Hands by Max Lucado

    Max Lucado has pleased children and adults alike with his writings over many Years. This book does not disappoint. One Hand, Two Hands recounts many of the fun things that children can do with their hands. It goes on to give children some ideas for helpful things they can do with their hands.

    This is a great book to read to children. It is also a great book to use interact with children, talking with them about things they did with their hands today. It also works as a first reader, where children learn to read.

    Librarians will love this book because it focuses on counting, basic motor skills and is a great interactive reader.

    Parents will love this book because it does all these things plus it leads perfectly into an opportunity to pray with their children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Bedtime Read For Little Ones

    In this book, a little girl learns just what her hands can do in this beautifully illustrated book.

    A little girl and her animal friends are beautifully illustrated and depict them as they go about their day. While waving her arms in the air, washing a canine friend, making mud pies, helping with chores, and even saying her prayers, the little girl learns a valuable lesson. Lucado teaches children this lesson through rhymes that will draw in even the youngest readers.

    This book is a wonderful way to open up a dialogue with children about how our hands can be used for good but also how they can be used in negative ways.

    One Hand, Two Hands which ends with a short prayer will make a perfect bedtime story to end the day for little ones.

    *I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through BookSneeze. The opinions I have expressed are my own. No other compensation has been or will be received.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Very fun book for young children!

    Cute, cute, cute!!! Christopher has been quoting this book since the second time we read it: "Thank you for my hands, God, please use them again." Literally. He says that in his prayers! (He's not even three!)

    I was afraid it was going to be a rather preachy book, like unfortunately some of Lucado's are. But, it was written in a very personal, childlike style that little kids love to hear.

    The illustrations, by Gaby Hansen, are just adorable! We follow a cute little girl and all her stuffed friends throughout her day as we learn what she does with her hands; everything from playing in the mud, to washing the dog, to writing a letter for Grandma. I absolutely loved it!

    I would have to say that this is one of my very favorite of Lucado's books, by far! (Not that his others are bad, because they're definitely not.) Sometimes they can be a little wordy, and maybe it's just because my kids are very young, but I prefer this one!

    I even like how at the end of the story there are conversation topics for things we can do with our hands. It's a great discussion starter for young children.

    *I was given a complimentary review copy of this book by Booksneeze blog network.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Great Book, awesome gift!

    It is adorable and of course, written for a child to understand.

    Like Mr. Lucado says, from the time we are born...
    Your child began to learn about hands...
    Think about it..
    Hands are what feeds them, loves them, cleans and comforts them...
    and if you really watch a little one..
    Remember when they first "see" their hand?
    Talk about hours and hours of just pure amazement!
    Do you remember?

    I think the best one is " Wipe tears. Give a gift. Write Grandma a letter. With hands and a hug, we make people feel better."
    Sure, he talks about the clapping and snapping and all of that too...
    but he also talks about all the wonderful ways we use our hands in life.

    This is a great book to add to your little ones library.
    I also think that this would make a great baby shower gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Delightful book for children

    Max Lucado is the author of this book and it is illustrated by Gaby Hansen. This is a charming children book with cheery and colorful illustrations, which teaches children many ways of using their hand in their daily activities to express their helpfulness, kindness and loving nature. I am really excited to receive this book, as I ordered it specifically for my son. Although he is too young to appreciate the book, he shows excitement upon seeing the new book and he also enjoys flipping through the book. I, personally, like the illustrations. It is cheery and colorful and most of all its gives a warm and happy feeling to the reader. However, I prefer the book without its book jacket. For Iggy, the book jacket actually gets in the way when he try to flip open the book. I think it is only a matter of time before he accidentally tear it in his attempts to flip the book open.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Whimsical Illustrations Paired With Vivid Rhythmical Language

    Whimsical and frolicking illustrations bring the pages alive with color while the rhythmic and flowery prose will capture children's vivid imaginations. As they hear and repeat the words and inspect the illustrations even toddlers will find encouragement for the tasks they already perform at home. Youngsters will also discover new ways to use their skills and talents for the benefit of others as well as the satisfaction of receiving back through their own giving. Parents will be thrilled with the additions to this book which assist in finding additional media from this author, an introduction written in the form of a letter to parents with activities and suggestions to correlate with the story, and even some simple questions and lists of tasks or projects to involve children long after the book has been read. Even the language itself is formatted for emphasis on specific phrases through the use of bright colors and larger fonts. Other adults who have relationships with children in their lives will enjoy sharing this book with the youngsters as well. Don't miss out on a wonderful new tale for your younger loved ones or the young at heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Good Book for Young Children

    This is a delightful book that teaches young children that hands are for helping. The young girl in the book gives examples of how you can help with your hands. Such examples include; cleaning her room, washing the dishes, and writing a card. The illustrations are adorable and young children will enjoy looking at them. The author also uses rhyming text which will draw the attention of young children. Overall, I would give this book four out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Great Kids Book!

    One Hand, Two Hands is a simply wonderful children's book! From the minute they are born, children grow up learning about their hands. They learn the ways they can use their hands and how they work. This book teaches children what your hands can do and how wonderful they really are. They are so many positive things you can do with your hands and it's important to teach these things to our children. The most important thing we can do with our hands is to use them to serve God, and this delightful book helps children to understand just how to do that!

    "One hand, two hands, five fingers, ten...
    God, thanks for my hands. Please, use them again."

    My 2 year old son also enjoyed this book -- the illustrations really kept his attention and the story was short enough that he could sit through the whole book and understand it! Definitely a keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Amazing Lucado Children's Story...as always!

    In the story, One Hand, Two Hands, Max Lucado has created a beautiful story about using our hands to be a good helper. Lucado always weaves his words together in a special way to touch the lives of each child and adult that reads his stories.

    I have always loved Max Lucado's children stories. As a camp counselor, I would read them nightly and weekly as they spoke volumes to my young campers. One Hand, Two Hands is the same way. It is a very simple story to read, but great for young audiences who love to hear a good rhyme and to hear a good read-aloud. I can see hand gestures being made for this story as toddlers big and small repeat the story to their moms and dads.

    The illustrations are beautiful and will make a child smile and giggle. Not only does Lucado create a beautiful story, but he also provides children with some ideas at the end of the story for how to have helping hands, kind hands, and loving hands. Children will love coming up with their own ideas to add to the list! I lo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    good children's book

    This children 's book is all about the ways we can use our hands and ultimately how God can use our hands. I feel the book would be appropriate for toddlers learning to use their hands for a variety of tasks as well as for children with basic reading skills. The story features a little girl but would also be appropriate for little boys.

    The whimsical illustrations show various examples of how to use our hands. Hands are described as helping, kind, and loving and the story not only addresses how we use hands for ourselves but also how we can use our hands for God's service. I would recommend this book for parents of young children that want a way to teach children a practical application of service to God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet book to share with young children

    Friday, September 10, 2010
    Book Review: One Hand, Two Hands

    I have a sweet children's book to share with you today

    One hand, two hands,
    Five fingers, ten.
    God, thanks, for my hands.
    Please, use them again.

    I am happy to share with you a new children's book by Max Lucado called One Hand, Two Hands. It is written with rhyming text and shows children a variety of ways that we use our hands every day all day long. The illustrations by Gaby Hansen are really fun and add to the enjoyment of this book in my opinion. If you have a special little one in your life, I recommend this book for them. You will enjoy it together.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Fun Kid's Book by Lucado

    'One Hand, Two Hands' is a charming children's book. Max Lucado shows the day to day activities of a young girl and just how important her hands are. The book teaches children about how they can help others with their hands, and how thankful they should be to have them. There is a simple and fun rhyme scheme which would be very enjoyable for kids. The book was illustrated by Gaby Hansen and the pictures are just wonderful. They are bright, cheerful, and really help emphasize the tone of the book. At the end of the story, there are lists for the different activities hands can do: "Helping Hands", "Kind Hands", and "Loving Hands". I believe kids could relate to these lists and it makes the novel more fun for them.

    The only downside I saw to this book was a somewhat limited audience. I think it would have been nice if 'One Hand, Two Hands' had shown a variety of children using their hands. Since only one girl is shown, the book seems like it would be more enjoyable for girls. It would have been better if multiple girls and boys had been shown because it would allow the book to apply to a larger audience. Overall, however, I believe that this was a very good book and young children would really enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good sweet simple book.

    A very simple cute book for the little ones. Pros are that it has adorable illustrations that my kids loved, and enforces the idea that our hands are for doing good things. Cons are that the book really only mentions God at the end there as quoted in the Amazon writeup and the book is a bit long for the attention spans of the intellectual level that would get the most out of the simple rhyming text. I think that my almost 4 year old will after a few readings begin to grasp that the book is saying we should use our hands to do good and kind things, without further explanation. She might need help connecting the one mention of God using our hands to the reason why we do good things with them, simply because God is so obscure in the book. But then again maybe not... kids pick up on things sometimes that we wouldn't think they would. My 2 year old however will probably not grasp this concept right away even with further explanation. I will have to own this book longer, I think, to be able to see what their little minds do with it. :) And every child is different so perhaps what is not immediately obvious to my tots will be to yours, or vice versa.
    Over all a good sweet simple book. I enjoy reading it with my littles. I'd give it 4 out of 5 stars - not 5 simply because I'd like God to be a little more obvious in the text but other than that it's great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3