Customer Reviews for

One Hundred Years of Solitude

Average Rating 4
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

One Hundred Years of Solitude is the most interesting novel I have read in a long time. I was immediately drawn into the character development in the novel. Marquez tells the story in a way that makes the reader relate to characters that are strongly flawed. The family...
One Hundred Years of Solitude is the most interesting novel I have read in a long time. I was immediately drawn into the character development in the novel. Marquez tells the story in a way that makes the reader relate to characters that are strongly flawed. The family depicted is surprisingly realistic although their lives are at times abnormally crazed. The magical, and at times tragic, events that occur through the story do not hinder the heart of the characters. The refreshing use of mystical realism is appropriately placed throughout the sometimes dark writing. While I was reading the novel, I couldn¿t help but smile at the witty details that were strategically used throughout. Although this book may be seen as dense and even random at times, the pure heart of the story shines through. When I first found the book, I was not sure if I would enjoy it, because it is a change from the usual novels I read. Once I completed the story, I was pleased that I chose to read this important piece of literature. After reading this novel, I feel that my views on society have changed. I would definitely recommend this book, because it is a worthy read.

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

not worth it...

I don't understand why this novel is as popular as it is. I found it to be extremely boring. It follows the Buendia family through generations during the rise and fall of the fictional town of Macondo. Much of the Buendia family have almost the exact same names, so that...
I don't understand why this novel is as popular as it is. I found it to be extremely boring. It follows the Buendia family through generations during the rise and fall of the fictional town of Macondo. Much of the Buendia family have almost the exact same names, so that got very confusing. Nothing interesting happened to any of them. I didn't care about, or even like, any of the characters. One Hundred Years of Solitude was a big disappointment for me. Definitely not worth the time I spent reading it.

posted by songcatchers on August 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    One Hundred Years of Solitude is the most interesting novel I have read in a long time. I was immediately drawn into the character development in the novel. Marquez tells the story in a way that makes the reader relate to characters that are strongly flawed. The family depicted is surprisingly realistic although their lives are at times abnormally crazed. The magical, and at times tragic, events that occur through the story do not hinder the heart of the characters. The refreshing use of mystical realism is appropriately placed throughout the sometimes dark writing. While I was reading the novel, I couldn¿t help but smile at the witty details that were strategically used throughout. Although this book may be seen as dense and even random at times, the pure heart of the story shines through. When I first found the book, I was not sure if I would enjoy it, because it is a change from the usual novels I read. Once I completed the story, I was pleased that I chose to read this important piece of literature. After reading this novel, I feel that my views on society have changed. I would definitely recommend this book, because it is a worthy read.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful tale of epic proportion

    First and foremost, the prose in which this book is written is some of the most beautiful phrasing I have ever read. It reads extremely fast, but you have to be careful not to miss something. One paragraph can be three pages long, but one line in that paragraph can be something so powerful that it just tugs at your heart, so while it reads fast, also give it time to sink in. <BR/><BR/>I've read reviews on here about how others have thought the characters were bizarre, or the events were explicit or unbelievable. It's magical realism, folks. This is part of the story, part of the heritage of the author and their nature of literature, and it's the biggest part of the story that brings the impossible to life. It's imagination, it's devotion, strength, love, lust, pain, jealousy and strife. I think that when most authors set out to write a book, they hope to capture just one of those feelings. Marquez captures them all, and he does it in such a way that no one else ever has before. <BR/><BR/>I'm not going to give any details of the book. The pages speak for themselves. I only read these reviews after I read the book, just out of curiosity. I highly recommend not reading the book's description or anything that could potentially ruin the story. Just turn to page one, begin to read, and feel the power of this author's magic. It's truly overpowering.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    not worth it...

    I don't understand why this novel is as popular as it is. I found it to be extremely boring. It follows the Buendia family through generations during the rise and fall of the fictional town of Macondo. Much of the Buendia family have almost the exact same names, so that got very confusing. Nothing interesting happened to any of them. I didn't care about, or even like, any of the characters. One Hundred Years of Solitude was a big disappointment for me. Definitely not worth the time I spent reading it.

    7 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Recommended, yet still unsure

    Although I haven't finished the novel yet (I'm half way through), I can understand the good and bad reviews. The author does have an interesting way of telling the story. My only complaint is some of the twisted behavior of many of the characters I guess that's a part of the 'life changing' part of reading the novel.I liked the beginning and it does show the progression of civilization. It also examines government and the revolution in Latin America (yet it's still fictional). I just wish that the characters weren't so twisted. I would recommend this novel to more mature readers (also, if you notice, older/more mature readers liked this book you need maturity to read through the semi-explicit scenes). I'm guessing that the plot is the changes that occur in civilization through time and what those changes does to the people involved.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    This book will change your life.

    If you have the patience, the time, the ability to think and breathe and wonder, then One Hundred Years of Solitude will change your life, and nothing else will be comparable. This novel speaks volumes on what it means to be human, in all facets of life.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    One of the best of all times

    This is by far one of the best books I have ever read. The misterious plot, the complex characters, and the amazingly well-written and thoughtout plot brings about one of the best works of literature of all times. The book's theme also forces the reader to critically evaluate the society we live in today. Clearly, people who say this book is a waste of time do not understand its signinficance and importance. Definetly NOT an easy read, but well worth it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2007

    A Wonderful Journey of Language

    Being an English Major and amateur poet, my profound journey through Marquez's language was astonishing. The tips of my nerves shivered with each exciting tale of how a family and town soaked in years of myth and realism. My love for words and the perculiarities of nature became satiated through Marquez's poetic prose. A great read, recommended for anyone prepared to journey through the life of the village of Macondo. I especially recommend this book if you want let yourself be lifted from the real world and into the world of possibility.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    'Forced Reading' For College Credit

    For the life of me, I would have never thought that I would like a book such as this. I am not going to go into what the book is about as you can read that information from many of the other reviews. This book was required reading for a class as I was getting my B.A. degree. I moaned and cursed the day I ever took that class as most of the books on the list of required reading were titles which I would have never read if I didn't have too. Well, I suppose that is what higher education is all about. Not only did I like the books on the list, but several of them are now in my personal library. One Hundred Years of Solitude is, without a doubt, one of the best pieces of literature that I have ever had the pleasure to read. If you decide to read this book, keep an open mind as it is not the run of the mill story. Once you have read it, you may want to make it a part of your library as I have. Have fun and I hope that you enjoy it as much as I did!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    Wow

    Since I can remember my father has told me that One Hundred Years of Solitude was a must read. Finally, I picked up his old copy and I found it almost impossible to put it down. I just finished reading it and I was not disappointed. I took a course in Hispanic Literature and I was introduced to Marquez there but definetly not as much as I should've been. He's one of my favorites now. His 'realismo magico' is unlike anything I've ever encountered and he has a way of going back in forth in his story while it keeps flowing. I pass the recommendation on and I'm on my way to buy Love in the Time of Cholera.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    A Must Read

    This is one of my books but it had been more than ten years when I first read it. My husband's book club picked it for next months book and after talking to him about the book I descided i should re-read it. I was even better the second time! Hint to new readers: don't over-think characters you can get to wrapped up in the family tree and spend your whole trying to figure out who is who. Just go with the flow of the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    100 Years Too Much

    The beginning of this book was very confusing. The descendant's stories that were told had me constantly referring back to the family tree because of the similarity of names. Marquez although elegant with his prose did not weave the story well until after two hundred pages. It was then that I finally got into the book and the characters. Unfortunately the saying "too little too late" fits this book perfectly, I was dying to get this book over with by the time I finally got into it. This was disheartening for me due to the fact that as a Hispanic woman this was the first book that I read by a Hispanic author and I must say I was highly disappointed. I would never recommend this book I am an avid reader and can complete most books with in a week longest is about two weeks it took me a month and a half to complete and in my mind all I kept think thinking was that this was going to take 100 years to complete.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    DARE to read this book

    Some people are bored and confused to their wit's end by this book. Actually, I am generous enough to even assume they have one. Just kidding. Now before I extol the merits of this book in a more sophiscated and mature manner I will say that this book is TRULY one weighty elephant of a read, not for your average bimbo. This book is TOUGH and THICK, and if you do not try to or take the time to penetrate through the literal meanings of the book you will no doubt end up writing a disappointed review. Anyway, I picked up this book out of curiosity because of its Nobel acclaim, and I was blown away. Reading it was like listening to a storyteller magically cooking up an animated tale and slowly drawing you in. The colorful town of Macondo is the world as it has been and will be, shaped by the clashes of human nature and individual realities set against the backdrop of the rise, evolution, and fall of civilizations. Extravagant spirits, unquenchable strength, family ties, passionate love affairs, political wars, struggle to survive, quest for knowledge, insanity, amnesia, nolstagia - all these elements blend and overlap each other within the storylines. Saying that this book is immensely profound would be a sad understatement. The author incorporates a labryinthe of repetition, symbology, overlaps, and magical realism, not so he can make the book overly complicated, but so that he can communicate a point about the inevitable patterns of us homo sapiens. Take the challenge to read this and make your own interpretation no matter much of a drag you find it at first. Heck, I put off reading this for a few weeks after going through the first few chapters because I thought my brain would be fried eggs if I read anymore. But reading this was darn worth it, more than I can express in words. So crack that book open and go for it. I dare you to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    The Best Book I Have Ever Read

    Absolutely essential reading for everybody seeking to understand the character of the human race. You simply cannot die unless you read it. My life is a little bit fuller having read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2001

    One of the best books ever!!

    I have read this book twice, once for a high school senior year final project and the next time was for personal enjoyment. This book never grows old and it's magical settings, the way it portrays Latin American reality in those times, and just the way the book was written makes you want to read it over and over and discover new things each new time. It could possibly be one of the greatest books ever!! Gabriel García Márquez is a brilliant writter and I would highly recommend this book to anyone out there. To anyone out there: you shouldn't even think twice about reading this excellent novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    This reminded me of And the Mountains Echoed. Various stories to

    This reminded me of And the Mountains Echoed. Various stories told through the course of time, this somewhat depicts a rich history we often don't get.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    This was the final book I was required to read my sophomore year

    This was the final book I was required to read my sophomore year of high school and it was phenomenal. It is one of the most interesting, intriguing, and thought provoking books I think I've ever read. It may not be the best was to teach readers about Colombian history, but it certainly is an interesting way. The book does assume that the reader does have quite a bit of real-event knowledge, which can make it difficult for younger audiences. Another reason why this book is amazing is because of how much we can compare it to the Bible, which is a book everyone is familiar with. The writing style of Marquez is just breathtaking and the words he uses just make every aspect of the novel flow together perfectly. Death, Love, Family, Memory and the Past, and the Supernatural is what this book is about and I've never seen those themes woven together in one book as greatly as they are in this book. I think this is one book that every member of society should be required to read, next to the book of Genesis... And I'm not even Christian! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    Marvelous

    I was awestruck by this book. I can't get it out of my psyche. This is a marvelous work of art. Kudos to Marquez for another masterpiece!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    Wow - another Oprah pick that is just not worth it!

    This novel was chosen for our bookclub and the verdict: not worth finishing! I myself are an avid reader and very ecclectic in my choices as are my fellow book club members. This choice, however, went beyond - I am not sure if it was a translation problem or just a complete mishmash of writing style that we could not wrap our head around. I can't even begin to explain the true weirdness of this novel. I would like to say that his book, "Love in the time of Cholera" was written very differently and I enjoyed that book immensely.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    One of Garcia Marquez's best!

    Amazing Book... it's detail, it's magic realism, it's everything is just one amazing book. A must read for any person with a pretension to an education.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This book is an absolute must read!

    This book depicts the rise and fall of the Buendia family. Marquez said he tries to write the way his grandmother told him stories as a child, as if she truly believed the far-fetched stories she told. Marquez makes everything about this family totally believable except for that you know much of it is impossible. I will agree with some of the other reviewers that its a good this theres a family tree in the front because the names do get a little repetative. That is really the only drawback. I'd really recommend this book to anyone who has the patience to keep up with the characters because it does get a little confusing, but is WELL worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15