Customer Reviews for

One Hundred Years of Solitude

Average Rating 4
( 303 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

One Hundred Years of Solitude is the most interesting novel I have read in a long time. I was immediately drawn into the character development in the novel. Marquez tells the story in a way that makes the reader relate to characters that are strongly flawed. The family...
One Hundred Years of Solitude is the most interesting novel I have read in a long time. I was immediately drawn into the character development in the novel. Marquez tells the story in a way that makes the reader relate to characters that are strongly flawed. The family depicted is surprisingly realistic although their lives are at times abnormally crazed. The magical, and at times tragic, events that occur through the story do not hinder the heart of the characters. The refreshing use of mystical realism is appropriately placed throughout the sometimes dark writing. While I was reading the novel, I couldn¿t help but smile at the witty details that were strategically used throughout. Although this book may be seen as dense and even random at times, the pure heart of the story shines through. When I first found the book, I was not sure if I would enjoy it, because it is a change from the usual novels I read. Once I completed the story, I was pleased that I chose to read this important piece of literature. After reading this novel, I feel that my views on society have changed. I would definitely recommend this book, because it is a worthy read.

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

not worth it...

I don't understand why this novel is as popular as it is. I found it to be extremely boring. It follows the Buendia family through generations during the rise and fall of the fictional town of Macondo. Much of the Buendia family have almost the exact same names, so that...
I don't understand why this novel is as popular as it is. I found it to be extremely boring. It follows the Buendia family through generations during the rise and fall of the fictional town of Macondo. Much of the Buendia family have almost the exact same names, so that got very confusing. Nothing interesting happened to any of them. I didn't care about, or even like, any of the characters. One Hundred Years of Solitude was a big disappointment for me. Definitely not worth the time I spent reading it.

posted by songcatchers on August 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 303 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    100 Years of Solitude Book Review Jake Vanderglas One hundred

    100 Years of Solitude Book Review
    Jake Vanderglas
    One hundred years of Solitude one of the most interesting books I have been required to read in school behind Lord of the Flies. I would rate it second or third on the list, although it has a few spots in it that can be a bit difficult to get through just because of the challenging diction, or the lack of excitement, and just the plain boringness in some large chunks of the book, for the most part it is a fairly interesting book. The book follows the Buendia family members, through five generations, without spoiling too much for you the family experiences its ups and downs like most families do but on a much more drastic scale. It starts out with its original family that includes Jose Arcadio Buendia, Ursla Iguaran, and their children Aureliano, Jose, and Amaranta. It also follows the story and history of the fake town Macondo, and some of its inhabitants, which were originally this family and their friends; you experience the village and family change through its history as more and more people start coming to it, bringing new technology, violence, businesses, and people to the once small and isolated village. The problems I have with the novel is that it takes a while for the books plot to start picking up, and for the book to get interesting, so if you focus on the plot too much at the beginning the book will most likely not make any sense and seem like a series of random events, as the book will jump back and forward in time without much of a warning. Although it doesn’t seem like it at first the book has huge elements of Magical realism in it, which differs from the opening chapters that make it seem like a realistic drama of a fictional town. The most confusing thing(s) about the book are the fact that all characters name in the family vary between the options Jose, Aureliano, Arcadio, Amaranta, Ursula, or Remedios. Keep in mind while these might seem like a decent bit of names these names are divided between 30 family members 21 of which happen to be named Aureliano. Although this does have significance to the plot and theme of the book it still is a huge part of why people don’t like the book and why the book can be confusing. If this isn’t confusing enough the author doesn’t give much information and personality to the characters after the original generation so you can be confused of what or who the author is writing about and what event is happening to who. Another confusing thing can be the jumps in time both backwards and forward that occur throughout the book, in one moment the book will be focused on what’s happening where you are in the book and the next moment you will be thirty years in the future or past without much of a warning only to jump back to where you originally were. The prime example of this is the opening sentence of the book where Aureliano is facing the firing squad, which in terms of the plot timeline doesn’t occur until the middle of the book. The thing I liked most about the book was the plot twist without going into much detail about it actually makes what was for the most part a pretty confusing and random book that got pretty repetitive make a ton of sense. Also it helps you realize exactly what the author Gabriel Garcia Marquez wanted you to realize about the theme and moral of the story.I would recommend this book to any experienced reader that has the time and patience to read it, as it does get pretty complicated towards the middle of the book, and this book isn’t made for the purpose of entertainment however so it will get boring and sad at some points just to help the author convey his message, overall it was an interesting and challenging read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2015

    Gabriel Garcia Marquez¿s most popular novel, One Hundred Years

    Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s most popular novel, One Hundred Years of Solitude, is a dramatic adventure through the lives of the Buendia family. Written with unfamiliar family circumstances, the book immediately captures interests through its magical realism and Latin American voice. Each page becomes more and more interesting as the six generation family’s story unveils it’s unique, yet bizarre ideals, through a period of one hundred years.
    Beginning with Jose Arcadio Buendia and Ursula Iguaran and ending with an interesting twist, a boy born with a pigtail due to a warned curse of incest, the novel vividly explains the experiences of the Buendia family in a way that is not commonly found in modern classics. Throughout the novel, a common technique found is the use of magical realism. Whether it is seen in the items brought by the gypsies to sell, the constant swarming of yellow butterflies, the slaying of a sea dragon, the sight of ghosts, or the surprising turn of milk to worms, the novel captivates its audience with its unusual events, that when analyzed, manifest deeper meanings. The magical realism also helps the reader stay interested because of its bizarre applications to the idea of real and unreal life occurrences. 
    The book is like nothing you have ever read before. What is normally seen as unethical and immoral, is expressed through a calming tone to show the family’s acceptance of what is believed to be correct in their traditions. The biggest example of this is the repetitive practice of incest found in the Buendia family. Marquez’s risk when writing about the common taboo, only seems to intrigue the reader because of its unfamiliarity. This, like the deaths of some characters, is so uncomfortable, it keeps the audience reading because, to put it plainly, it is different. 
    The family’s enchanting expeditions reflect the novel in an exciting sense. The Nobel Prize winning author seems to easily dazzle his readers with the page turner of a novel, set in a time and setting so different for the reader, it is captivating. As a result of the unusual events found within the book, the piece is easily one of the most compelling written works of all time.
    If there were to be a down side to the novel, it would be the confusion caused by the similarities found within the character’s names, that without, would not make the book what it is. Overall though, it is a great read that everyone should enjoy at some point in their life. Through it’s magical and odd affairs, the book is one you should not miss. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2015

    One Hundred Years of Solitude, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, is a r

    One Hundred Years of Solitude, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, is a riveting tale following the story of the of the Buendia family over six generation and one hundred years in the small village of Macondo. Founded by the figure head of the Buendia family, the town of Macondo and the Buendia family are closely tied through out the story. Garcia Marquez ingeniously uses the Buendia house as a metaphor for the town, with the family's problems being projected onto the town on a larger scale. When the house turns old and forgotten, so does the town. When the industrial revolution hits the town, it is again illustrated by the improvements made to the house. The troubles of the family are often foreshadowing of the disaster about to strike Macondo, evident in the dictatorial rule of one of the Buendia woman, which is swiftly followed by an overtaking of the town by the capitalist Americans and instillation of Martial Law. Throughout the history of the town, members of the Buendia are charged with building, leading, and maintaining the town that is always on a course of disaster and destruction. The Buendia family drastically affect the course of the town time and time again, leading the town into a new revolutionary age, and then maintaining the history that no one ever seems to believe. From the first arrival of the Gypsies, Macondo gradually transforms from a quiet town at the edge of the earth to a bustling city full of technology and wealth. The new innovations introduced into Marcondo are critical in the development of Macondo, and endorse and allow more and more problems to occur. The arrival of this technology is swiftly followed by devastation and sorrow. People start dying, and the Buendia family experiences their own share of suffering. This book is full of magical realism, from children born with pig tales, to five year monsoons, which helps to contribute to the theme of perceived reality. The characters are both riveting to follow and real enough to relate to. Motivated by love, curiosity, and passion, each character has its own unique experiences and all follow different paths to the same place. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez is an instant classic, and should be read by all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    I don't understand why this book is deemed so important.... I gu

    I don't understand why this book is deemed so important.... I guess I don't get it...It's confusing, I don't get how this book is so great...I've read many great books....this one I'm perplexed by.....tell me what I'm missing'''''

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    This reminded me of And the Mountains Echoed. Various stories to

    This reminded me of And the Mountains Echoed. Various stories told through the course of time, this somewhat depicts a rich history we often don't get.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    This was the final book I was required to read my sophomore year

    This was the final book I was required to read my sophomore year of high school and it was phenomenal. It is one of the most interesting, intriguing, and thought provoking books I think I've ever read. It may not be the best was to teach readers about Colombian history, but it certainly is an interesting way. The book does assume that the reader does have quite a bit of real-event knowledge, which can make it difficult for younger audiences. Another reason why this book is amazing is because of how much we can compare it to the Bible, which is a book everyone is familiar with. The writing style of Marquez is just breathtaking and the words he uses just make every aspect of the novel flow together perfectly. Death, Love, Family, Memory and the Past, and the Supernatural is what this book is about and I've never seen those themes woven together in one book as greatly as they are in this book. I think this is one book that every member of society should be required to read, next to the book of Genesis... And I'm not even Christian! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    Marvelous

    I was awestruck by this book. I can't get it out of my psyche. This is a marvelous work of art. Kudos to Marquez for another masterpiece!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    One of Garcia Marquez's best!

    Amazing Book... it's detail, it's magic realism, it's everything is just one amazing book. A must read for any person with a pretension to an education.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This book is an absolute must read!

    This book depicts the rise and fall of the Buendia family. Marquez said he tries to write the way his grandmother told him stories as a child, as if she truly believed the far-fetched stories she told. Marquez makes everything about this family totally believable except for that you know much of it is impossible. I will agree with some of the other reviewers that its a good this theres a family tree in the front because the names do get a little repetative. That is really the only drawback. I'd really recommend this book to anyone who has the patience to keep up with the characters because it does get a little confusing, but is WELL worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    disregard the negative comments, just read it

    this book easily is either the best or the second best that i have ever read. for those looking for substance, for an easy read with gentle plotline and unique characters, this isn't the book for you. most of the characters have 'nearly' the same name, the story all takes place over the period of hundreds of years, and to top it all off, Marquez decides to take the linear aspect of time and throw it out the window. An enjoyable read. A highly enjoyable read. Just don't try too hard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    UGH.

    This book was a waste of my time. I wanted badly to love it, but I could'nt. Tried to force it, got about 3/4 through and had to (absoulutly had to) QUIT.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    Am I missing something?

    This book was supposedly one of the classics. I have begun reading it, and find it to be drawn out, and fairly pointless. I'm not sure what it's about, or why it's so wonderful. I've just started and I haven't gotten very far, but I plan on sticking to it to see if it is truly as great as they say. Until then, I am not impressed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Blah!

    I had heard that this novel was amazing, and I was highly recommended to read it. I did, and words have never been so painful to me in my life. I hated it. It was so long and boring, and I did not feel that I gained anything from reading it. I really just wanted to poke my eyes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    The most important book that you could ever read!

    Garcia Marquez One Hundred Years of Solitude is by far the greatest book you could ever read. The novel says volumes about what it means to be human. Garcia uses the Buendia family to explore fundamental themes related to how we as human beings perceive our reality. In the end one of the most important lessons you can get from this novel is that in life if you don't learn from your mistakes you are bound to repaet them. Read this book, it will stay with you forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    Best Book Ever

    This book is neither boring nor disappointing. Gabriel Garcia Marquez is a Noble Prize-winning author for a reason. Those who call themselves literature lovers and despise One Hundred Years of Solitude are over-estamating themselves. I was here, a 14-year-old boy reading the reviews of a book which, I consider to be the greatest piece ever to be written, and find nonsensical, crudely written commentaries. To all those who have read it it and abhor it: please, I beg of you to read it again. When I read it I was truly delighted. Garcia Marquez shows us a flowing sea of characters,with solitude as a common denominator. With this he takes us a masterfully depicted world as new characters emerge, describing their singular characteristics. I seriously cannot even begin to imagine how anyone could have thought this book terrible. As a fellow reader and literature enthusiast, I plead with everyone to think before you write any kind of worthless 'appreciation' of any novel. I do not want anyone to think that I am saying I am omnipotently correct in what I state but do not ever set your fingers down on a computer keyboard to write an evaluation like 'I found the book entirely difficult to get through because the charaters all had the same names' or 'the book had not plot.' That is, I am sorry if I offend any of you, worthless, despicable verbal garbage. If you did not like the book, I am not trying to say you are wrong, I would just like you to expand on that and not say first-grade level things. I am even annoyed at the comments the said, 'Great,' or 'Marvelous,' without telling me anything else. I was not planning to even write a comment, but my level of ire was so grand, I was about to explode.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2005

    award winning??????

    I picked up this novel expecting a literary challenge. I also expected to find something of value in a piece deemed award winning. Instead, I painstakingly forced myself through each page, expecting at any moment a plot would emerge. It never did. Just when each character began to develop into someone the reader could connect with, they were removed from the storyline. I was constantly frustrated through out this read. I really enjoy sinking my teeth into a good book, but, this work was too scattered and disjointed to ever truly immerse myself. I can certainly respect the literary value of more challenging novels not written for the mainstream, entertaining, easy reading sections of the bookstore. College literature courses taught me how to appreciate the subtle richness of books that make you work for the underlying meaning. Despite my determination to get it, I never found one. Utterly pointless is the theme here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2005

    This should be a put on screen

    One of the best books I read that makes you think and pick up a dictionary sometimes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    The best book this century!!!

    After reading some of the reviews posted here I decided to write my own. I read it in Spanish and I do not know if the style of writting was lost in translation but this is a magnificent book. People kept getting confused with the character, so many having the same name. Gabriel Garcia Marquez did it purposely so you wont be able to distiquised the fate of one character over the there, the point is they all have their solitude to deal with.Regardless of what any character did, every one ends up how they were afraid to end up, alone. It doesnt have to do anything with Psychology or English, it does however, have to do with history and it depends on who's history one is studying. This is the history of latin america.The rise and the fall. Its a world where people dont ask why but adjust to what happens with resignation. Marquez created a world with its own laws, may it be unreseable laws, but laws there are. It's a complex book, but what masterpiece isnt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2005

    Disappointed

    I first picked up this book because I saw Marquez was a nobel prize winner, and I felt drawn to read it. Was I wrong, it took me forever to get through this book and I forced myself to finish it hoping my opinion would change. This book was very confusing and boring, I found myself wishing it was over because it just does not end. I was hugely disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2005

    Huge Disappointment

    I have never written an on-line review, however, after having suffered, and I do mean suffered, over a year to complete this book, I felt compelled to do so this time. I was a history major and English and Psychology minor, so I thought this book would be right up my alley. However, I quite honestly just never understood the book, I couldn't develop an understanding or even care about any of the characters in the book. I finished it solely becuase I have never not finished a book in my life--this one however, almost was the first! Reading it seemed like a self-inflicted punishment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 303 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 16