Customer Reviews for

One Hundred Years of Solitude

Average Rating 4
( 303 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

One Hundred Years of Solitude is the most interesting novel I have read in a long time. I was immediately drawn into the character development in the novel. Marquez tells the story in a way that makes the reader relate to characters that are strongly flawed. The family...
One Hundred Years of Solitude is the most interesting novel I have read in a long time. I was immediately drawn into the character development in the novel. Marquez tells the story in a way that makes the reader relate to characters that are strongly flawed. The family depicted is surprisingly realistic although their lives are at times abnormally crazed. The magical, and at times tragic, events that occur through the story do not hinder the heart of the characters. The refreshing use of mystical realism is appropriately placed throughout the sometimes dark writing. While I was reading the novel, I couldn¿t help but smile at the witty details that were strategically used throughout. Although this book may be seen as dense and even random at times, the pure heart of the story shines through. When I first found the book, I was not sure if I would enjoy it, because it is a change from the usual novels I read. Once I completed the story, I was pleased that I chose to read this important piece of literature. After reading this novel, I feel that my views on society have changed. I would definitely recommend this book, because it is a worthy read.

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

not worth it...

I don't understand why this novel is as popular as it is. I found it to be extremely boring. It follows the Buendia family through generations during the rise and fall of the fictional town of Macondo. Much of the Buendia family have almost the exact same names, so that...
I don't understand why this novel is as popular as it is. I found it to be extremely boring. It follows the Buendia family through generations during the rise and fall of the fictional town of Macondo. Much of the Buendia family have almost the exact same names, so that got very confusing. Nothing interesting happened to any of them. I didn't care about, or even like, any of the characters. One Hundred Years of Solitude was a big disappointment for me. Definitely not worth the time I spent reading it.

posted by songcatchers on August 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    100 Years Too Much

    The beginning of this book was very confusing. The descendant's stories that were told had me constantly referring back to the family tree because of the similarity of names. Marquez although elegant with his prose did not weave the story well until after two hundred pages. It was then that I finally got into the book and the characters. Unfortunately the saying "too little too late" fits this book perfectly, I was dying to get this book over with by the time I finally got into it. This was disheartening for me due to the fact that as a Hispanic woman this was the first book that I read by a Hispanic author and I must say I was highly disappointed. I would never recommend this book I am an avid reader and can complete most books with in a week longest is about two weeks it took me a month and a half to complete and in my mind all I kept think thinking was that this was going to take 100 years to complete.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    Enough is Enough

    Just recently, I decided to give this book a second chance. Like other reviewers here, I hardly ever give up on a book. But about 30 pages into the SECOND attempt, I am feeling exhausted. All of the bright and shiny books on my bookshelves have never looked so good at this point. So I came here, read the reviews and feel better. I think I can put this book away and be at peace with not appreciating it. I will say, some of the words Marquez uses- his descriptions, seem to have been created especially for the world that exists within this book. But is the trip worth it? I have decided that it is not. Thank you all for helping me be at peace with NOT completing this novel.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    I don't get it...

    I don't get why this book is receiving such praise. There was no real plot or story line. The characters were flat and uninteresting. The book is entirely narative. Without dialogue between characters, its hard to get a sense of their relationships or who they are. Not to mention that it was hard to keep the characters straight since they all had similar, if not the same, names. It was also hard to track the timing - I never seemed to know how old anyone was. There are much better 'praised' books to read such as Middlesex or Empire Falls.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    I don't understand why this book is deemed so important.... I gu

    I don't understand why this book is deemed so important.... I guess I don't get it...It's confusing, I don't get how this book is so great...I've read many great books....this one I'm perplexed by.....tell me what I'm missing'''''

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    Am I missing something?

    This book was supposedly one of the classics. I have begun reading it, and find it to be drawn out, and fairly pointless. I'm not sure what it's about, or why it's so wonderful. I've just started and I haven't gotten very far, but I plan on sticking to it to see if it is truly as great as they say. Until then, I am not impressed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    Blah!

    I had heard that this novel was amazing, and I was highly recommended to read it. I did, and words have never been so painful to me in my life. I hated it. It was so long and boring, and I did not feel that I gained anything from reading it. I really just wanted to poke my eyes out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    i would love to read this novel and have heard some amazing thin

    i would love to read this novel and have heard some amazing things about i would love it it came in an Ebook so i could read it now and not have to wait til i can make my way into a book store next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    I Don't Understand

    I am a person that reads and writes avidly. I hardly ever 'put down' a book. However, I did not think that this novel is something of great achievment that everyone thinks it is. I was thoroughly bored with this novel and was not happy with the $14 that I gave up to read it. If you are drawn to it, then read it... but get it on sale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    not what I expected.

    I picked up this book to do so much reviews but I just could not get into his writing. The book was a struggle for me to finish, there are plenty of parts where I could have feel asleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1