Customer Reviews for

One Imperfect Christmas

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An Imperfect Christmas

I enjoyed this book. It was different from alot of christmas books and the book deals with serious issues. Myra has done a good job with this book. I appreciate how she deals with Natalie and I admit at times I wanted to shake her out of her feelings but I do appreciate...
I enjoyed this book. It was different from alot of christmas books and the book deals with serious issues. Myra has done a good job with this book. I appreciate how she deals with Natalie and I admit at times I wanted to shake her out of her feelings but I do appreciate guilt that can be associated with an elderly parent being sick or injured or in this case having a stroke. Guilt when a parent is in a nursing home is very hard to deal with but sometimes you have to let go of the guilt to go on. The way Natalies feelings affect the rest of the family is intersting to and I did enjoy how the story played out. The ending was well done and not quite what I expected but it was better.

posted by Ausjenny on September 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well Written but unsatisfying

Myra Johnson starts with an intriguing premise: dealing with guilt and how that affects a marriage. But her main character, the one to who we are to relate, was so selfish that it was hard to sympathize with her. And her husband was annoyingly passive.
One thing that ...
Myra Johnson starts with an intriguing premise: dealing with guilt and how that affects a marriage. But her main character, the one to who we are to relate, was so selfish that it was hard to sympathize with her. And her husband was annoyingly passive.
One thing that especially bothered me, and that was emphasized by one of the discussion questions at the end, was the complete lack of community these supposed small-town, church-going people had. Natalie has no friend who comforts, supports, challenges her as she goes her unhappy, selfish way. Neither does their pastor involve himself, except in a very superficial way.

posted by HippolytaTS on December 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK This was one really awesome Christm

    MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK




    This was one really awesome Christmas read! When Natalie Pearce chose not to go help her mom take down her Christmas decorations, she never dreamed what the year ahead held for she and her family. When her mom suffered a stroke that left her helpless, Natalie blamed herself for her mom’s condition. A string of events lead to Natalie leaving her husband and daughter, accepting a job that would require most of her time, and leaving her with strained relationships that may not be fixable.




    Most of the time we like to think that all is perfect at Christmas time, but it is usually not. Life situations just doesn’t look at our calendar first before they happen. It was heartbreaking, yet refreshing to read One Imperfect Christmas because it was sad to see Natalie and her family going through what they had to endure with her mom, yet it was comforting to know that everyone has difficult situations during the Christmas Season, some not as bad as others, but we all have our heartaches. But I really like how Myra Johnson weaves everything together, good and bad, and brings an ending to the story that will give you peace, and make you smile. Not an ending that the Pearce family wanted, but one that gave them hope. This is an amazing debut novel for Ms. Johnson, and yes it was written a few years ago, but the message is still the same. I can’t believe I haven’t read it before this year. I really want to encourage you to pick up a copy of One Imperfect Christmas by Myra Johnson for a few hours for delightful entertainment. You will be glad you did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

       One Imperfect Christmas is a five star book times 3. This





       One Imperfect Christmas is a five star book times 3. This book teaches that love is the perfect gift and that sometime having everything “Perfect” isn’t always the best.




    I wasn’t sure I was going to like this story, it started out being after Christmas and Natalie was not feeling the Christmas Spirit. Then she gets a call from her mother to help take down the Christmas decorations and Natalie tells her she is to busy to help! From then on the story captured me and I couldn’t put the book down till I had finished the last page.




    When Natalie gets a call to go to the hospital and finds out that her mother has had a stroke, she blames herself and then the troubles starts between her and her husband and their teenage daughter.




    While reading this novel I found myself  feeling the emotions of all the characters and I wanted to tell them, look at what you are doing to each other. This is a story filled with sorrow, hope and forgiveness and love. 




    There are tender moments as well as funny scenes. Lissa, the teenage daughter is quite the schemer.




    This book is about Christmas, a year later after the beginning of the story, which makes the title “One Imperfect Christmas” the right title for this book.




    I found myself having the same wish the family did for the “star” and hoping that Natalie’s parents could keep their promise to have fifty Christmases together!




    There are references to God and church attendance and you can tell this is Christian fiction but I believe anyone that has a family and has medical and financial problems and loves Christmas stories, they would love this story. “One Imperfect Christmas” leaves you feeling that even through you have troubles and every thing isn’t perfect, “It is a pretty good life”.




    I was given a free ebook copy of this book by Abingdon Press Fiction  for my honest review to be in the 2013 Christmas Blog Tour!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Belinda and Bram Morgan have been married for almost 50 years an

    Belinda and Bram Morgan have been married for almost 50 years and have set the example for all their children to follow in what makes love work in a marriage. They celebrate Christmas the same way now that their children have grown beginning with the celebration of Natalie's birthday and then trimming the tree. But for Natalie, those are high expectations to have even within your own home. She is far from the perfectionist her mother is and often procrastinates more than she should. That's why her husband Daniel asked her to take down the decorations before his own parents arrived later that afternoon. So when Natalie's mom called enlisting her help to take down their decorations she had the perfect excuse. Her mother wanted to help since Bram and their oldest son were on a trip leaving her alone to begin the task if she didn't want to wait.

    So when Natalie told her she couldn't help today due to the visit from Daniel's parents she told her mom to simply leave all the boxes in the guest room downstairs and she would over later this week to put them in storage for her. She often worried that her mom did too much now that she was older and suffering from the effects of arthritis. What Natalie didn't expect when she hung up with her mother, was to receive a phone call later that evening that would forever change her life. Her mother had suffered from a massive stroke and since she had been alone at the time, the damage was far too great for her mother to return to her former self.

    Now plagued with guilt for simply being glad that she didn't have to join her mother that afternoon and instead had a day for herself, Natalie pours herself into her free lance job trying to earn money she knows her father will need to pay for her mom's medical expenses. This drives a wedge between her and Daniel as he tries to fix things between them, and Natalie avoids dealing with their own marriage issues trying to make up for not being there for her mother. She feels if she had only been there, this would have never happened. Will Natalie find a way to restore her own marriage or will this be the first imperfect Christmas to rock her family?

    I received One Imperfect Christmas by Myra Johnson compliments of Abingdon Press as part of the Christmas Blog Tour for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. I absolutely LOVED this novel based in part to being able to relate to Natalie's character so much. Often times when the holidays are upon us, we feel like we are expected to do our best and meet all family obligations despite having to manage our own. I could relate to the guilt that Natalie felt upon hearing of her mother's stroke and understood the need to do everything to make amends to her what she felt was her mistake. The resolution that evidently comes is believable and everything doesn't come wrapped up in a pretty bow like you would expect. This is real in my opinion and thus why I would rate this a 5 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Annonymous

    THis book is about family relationships. Each member in this family was so busy doing their own thing that they were begining to go their separate ways. Daniel was busy with the team, Natalie was busy with her job. and the teenage daughter felt neglected. When illness struck a grandparent everything fell apart. I think the message in the story is to love and forgive. We dont know what will happen tomorrow, but we know who holds the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Great book

    Loved this book! Such a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Good book

    Its a vet good boook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Loved it

    This is a great short read. Would love to have more like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Lovely Christmas Story

    A bit sad, but a beautiful Christmas story never the less. Well crafted wirh believable and endearing characters even when you want t scream at them to stop being so stupid. Good job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Heart warming

    This book brought tears to my eyes. Very touching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This is a very real life story that could happen to any family. I have enjoyed it imensley and would recommed it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Wonderul, captivating story!

    From the first page, this story enfolded me and I just couldn't put the book down! The author has done such a beautiful job of weaving the emotions of life into her story, and the characters of the story convey the qualities and imperfections we all have. This is a story about life, and the author has done a wonderful job in writing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Great for Any Time of the Year!

    I saved One Imperfect Christmas to enjoy over the Christmas holidays. I picked it up one night and got to read about one page, but alas, my crazy schedule kept me from it. So finally, in February, I was able to pick this book up once again. Wow! What a great story. And it's not just a story about Christmas like I assumed. It's a story about a family struggling with illness, guilt, denial, selfishness...and ultimately forgiveness, letting go, honesty and the power of love.

    True, I wanted to shake Natalie a few times. But the more I read, the more I understood her and her problems. I was rooting for her and Daniel as the story progressed to an ending that is truly touching. You won't want to miss reading this book any time during the year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    Inspiring Women's Fiction

    Myra Johnson's debut novel, One Imperfect Christmas, touches the heart. Her excellent portrayal of how Natalie deals with the unexpected blows life can deal out, rings with reality and truth. Her struggles to overcome the guilt and rebuild her relationship with God hit home with me. We often think we are so rooted in our faith, but one major incident that produces guilt or fear can so derail us. Ms. Johnson shows the importance of getting back on track with your faith and with God.

    I loved the deep rich characterization of Myra's writing. It was difficult to put the book down and at the same time reminds us how we must rely on God when life makes those inevitable turns. I'm looking forward to more work from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2