BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One L: The Turbulent True Story of a First Year at Harvard Law School

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Great book

    As a student starting law school I found this book inspiring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Greast for Parents of a One L

    Great read for a parent of a One L. Although many things have changed with the style of law education it gives you a good idea what your daughter or son is going through. It also helps you understand the "lingo" of law school so you don't have to keep asking them "anyoing" questions.

    It is a fast and fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Informative and Well written

    Scott Turow gives a detailed account of his first year in law school. It serves to enlighten aspiring law school students about the tribulations of being a One L. I found it very informative and has led me to plan to enter law school with caution and fully prepared.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    An interesting period piece without much application to today's law students.

    I appreciate the perspective Turow's book provides, but I must say that the law school of 30 years ago is quite different from the law schools of today. Professors are no longer mean spirited, students no longer rip pages out of books (everything is online), and the advent of the laptop has radically changed the way law students do work. If you are looking for an interesting read, I would recommend the book. If you are looking for a book to provide you with realistic expectations about what your first year of law school will be like, look elsewhere. Take it from someone who is a first year law student at a top tier school, it is not anywhere near as bad as Turow's experiences would have you believe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    Good book, but things have changed

    As a lawyer who followed Turow into Harvard Law School's hallowed halls a decade later (I'm certain they raised the standards after I graduated), I found One L entertaining. Unlike Turow, though, I actually enjoyed my experience -- and I was nowhere near the top of the class. Aspiring law students should read Turow's book, but not take it too seriously. I think most 21st-century U.S. law schools -- including Harvard -- are more humane institutions than the place Turow describes. For anyone who has read One L, I recommend another book, Dead Hand Control. I'd go so far to say that novel should be required reading for anyone considering law as a career, especially if their only insight into law school is from One L. Dead Hand Control chronicles a second-year law student's journey through classes, interviews, and the law firm environment. The author, Tim Stutler, is an attorney who attended Harvard as well as Boalt Hall (U.C. Berkeley). The law school experiences described in Stutler's book are much more realistic (and far more entertaining) than those in One L. Equally enlightening is the book's depiction of life after law school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2001

    A good reminder to expect the worst and prepare your mind for an experience like no other

    Turow does an excellent job of relating his experience at Harvard in the 70's to the attitude one may still expect to find lingering in the halls of American law schools today. Although I will not begin my legal journey for a few months, I observed a couple of classes at one of the 'top ten' schools where my brother attended a few years back and I can assure you that the intimidation factor between the professors and the students is alive and well! This book was more entertaining to me than anything, but has also helped me to get into the mindframe of being a law student. I think One L is especially good for those who have yet to enter law school; it gives you a great idea of what the 'worst case scenario' could be and encourages you to ask yourself if you are really ready for the challenge you will soon be facing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2000

    A Dramatic Account of a First Year at Law School

    If contemplating law school or just simply interested, this book does a good job of taking you inside the doors of America's top law school and portrays the trials and victories that are found there. Turow does a successful job of making a difficult education interesting and his account of his first year in law school is worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2000

    Only read if not comptemplating law school....

    this is a good book, will keep your interest if interested in the law. However, this book will cause anxiety if read by someone contemplating law school, or about to start law school. One must remember that it is no long 1975, and most people do not attend Harvard Law school.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1