Customer Reviews for

One Little Sin

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Liz Carlyle can light up a page without a match. It was a great

    Liz Carlyle can light up a page without a match. It was a great story. Yes, Alasdair was everything the excerpt says he was but he was also a reformed rake when he found Esmee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Just ok

    This srory was clever at times but really didnt hold rogether well- i didnt really empathise w any of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book

    I loved the characters in this book. Probably because I could relate to Esmee. Alastair was moody and a little spoiled but lovable when you figured out he was trying to redeem himself. Sorcha was adorable and definitely true to a two year old. It got a little redundent as the main characters continued to fight their attration and make excuses, but I loved this book and definitely recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Had its moments, but it wasn't a resounding hit!

    Having just ventured into the romantic novel realm, titan Johanna Lindsey captivated me with her ability to make me want to turn the pages. Its hard to go from such spell binding tales, to Liz Carlyles "One Little Sin". It wasn't completely uninteresting, but I felt the romance aspect lacked. The beginning didn't draw me in, although it should have. Such a creative way to start a book off, but in my eyes, it didn't register as I read it. Time and Time again, I felt myself getting bored with the story. It just lacked that something to make it alluring. Towards the end, I couldn't even bring myself to read thoroughly and just skimmed the pages till I got to a paragraph of interest. Although, I disliked the book, it was more my personal preference of a good supply of romance in a romantic novel to be more evenly and well balanced with conflict that threw me off. I found that the action and conflict really kept me from tossing the book completely. The accident in the park, the theater fire...I really appreciated the added suspense (it didnt compensate for the lack of romantic spark that I typically enjoy)... Give the first few chapters a read and see if the characters speak to you. thats my advice. if they don't, then move on to another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Flawed (but very lovable) characters

    Liz Carlyle has the great talent of showing all of a characters flaws and still making you love them and want the best for them. This book was no exception to that. I enjoyed the romance, but also the interaction between the friends, the hints of an earlier story (in a previous series), and the darling antics of one-year-old Sorcha. Very enjoyable, and I'm on to the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    Great read

    I swore off romance novels since I was nineteen and this is the first I've picked up in six years because a friend pawned it off on me. I was not disappointed. Like it was said before, some parts were VERY unbelivable, but cast the reality aside and you have one heck of a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    Sometimes It Was One Little Bore...

    This is the 2nd book by Liz Carlyle I have read. I finished earlier `The Devil You Know¿. I was hoping this 2nd story ¿One Little Sin¿ would be better and in some parts it was¿but, some parts it was not. I saw a similar pattern in both books that the beginning starts off fresh and interesting then drags with problems and irritating issues until the middle to ¾ of the book are done. Then¿the last few chapters pick up, things make sense, everyone becomes appealing and the books concludes in a positive manner. There were some oddities to this book that didn¿t work again¿such as: 1) It was not realistic that an attractive unwed young woman would be living with a scoundrel nearly 1 ½ times here age without society going into shock 2) Alasdair would not have so easily taken on a child as his own and actually been involved in child rearing events 3) A life long scoundrel bent on nothing but, gambling, drinking and sexing it up would suddenly turn over a new leaf in the middle of life for a country lass he knew nothing about, had nothing in common with and were ages apart¿4) That Esmee would fall for a man that had slept with her mother, had a child together and now would be hooking up ¿ daughter and step-father practically with no qualms? 5) A man of Aladsairs experience and knowledge wouldn¿t have caved in to the demands of Esmee and the child Sorcha for housing, food and hundreds of pounds without the blink of an eye ¿ he would have done homework and research first. On top of these things¿there were times I didn¿t really care for the heroine or hero sometimes. All Aladsair did was get drunk with his friends, gamble away late into the night, meet women and have constant sex and he hadn¿t a care in the world. There was nothing respectful, admirable, interesting or appealing about this character until way too late. It made you wonder what Esmee could find to love about this man? He certainly wasn¿t always nice to her. As for the daughter/child Sorcha¿she was rotten, spoiled, aggravating and irritating. This child did not add warmth to this story. I found the very late explanation of who Esmees¿ mothers long term love was a bit unbelievable. I didn¿t find any of the intimacy scenes remarkable or memorable. The secondary characters in this book at times seemed more interesting than the main leads (such as Quin and Evie, Lord Devellyn & Sodonie, etc.). I still haven¿t given up on this author after two rather so-so books. I still think she has talent and lots of potential ¿ it just seems to get away from her at times. Perhaps I¿ve hit the jackpot with ¿No True Gentleman¿ - another book by LC that I am almost done reading? It certainly didn¿t happen in ¿One Little Sin¿. Oh well¿.I¿ll keep hoping.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2005

    New author for me

    I enjoyed this book very much. This is my first book written by Liz Carlyle and I consider it a great find. I laughed and cried. Well worth my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    The Gupsy was the one who seal their faith!!!!

    While the men did not lisen to the Gypsy's warning, they will pay. While Alasdair believed that he was truthly paying for what he had just done. He was soon to find out that he was wrong. He had met his match in Esmee and he was fighting till the end. This is one of the first books I have read by Liz Carlyle and i enjoyed it. I can not wait to read Quin's fall that he surely deserves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Regency romance fans will enjoy this fine amusing tale

    Running from a blacksmith who he cuckolded, Sir Alasdair MacLachan, accompanied by his brother Merrick and their friend Quin, duck into a fortune teller¿s tent. The Gypsy informs the three hedonists that their wicked past is catching up to them. Only Quin seems shaken by the prognostication.................... That night young Esmee Hamilton arrives at Alasdair¿s home carrying an infant Sorcha Guthrie who she claims he sired. Stunned but recognizing the family eye color, he listens as Esmee explains their mother recently died so their stepfather tossed both out of his home as neither shares his blood. She cannot care for her half-sister as she must work as a governess. Alasdair believes her story though he fails to recognize the name of her mother. He hires Esmee to care for his offspring. As his brother and friend think he is a fool, Alasdair falls in love with Esmee though she constantly rips his skin for his transgressions she hides from him that she feels the same way because she believes a leopard cannot change its spots nor can a rakish gambler........................ Regency romance fans will enjoy this fine amusing tale starring a reprobate and a reformer. The story line focuses on the changing relationship between the lead couple as the heroine converts from disdain to love while Alasdair has no concept of what hit him since the Gypsy cursed him. Liz Carlyle opens her trilogy with a humorous novel that will leave her audience looking forward to what happens to Merrick and Quin............. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2