Customer Reviews for

The One Minute Manager

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    One of the most influential books I've ever read

    I'm starting a new business, and this book has given me a new sense of direction. I cannot say enough about it and highly recommend it to ANYONE who works with people. I've bought 6 copies to give to friends already, and I just learned of it yesterday!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2003

    Parable that can be put into action

    I read this book years ago and have made the principles a part of my life. I recommend you do too. Recently I read a book that Ken Balnchard endorsed called Optimal Thinking-How to be your best self. I can't recommend Optimal Thinking highly enough. With books like these in the world, we don't have to settle for suboptimal performance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    BRAVO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Got some incredible ideas from 'The One Minute Manager'. Reminded me of the 'Extreme Project Management', by Shaun Ajani. The same style of short chapters and great ideas. BRAVO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2002

    Used by AF Leadership schools

    I had the benefit of reading this book in conjunction with the Air Force Non-Commissioned Officers Academy. The steps in this book opened my eyes to some of my past failures as a manager and leader. I highly recommend reading 'Putting the One-Minute Manager to Work' after reading this book. The concepts are a must for anyone in a leadership or management position.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2001

    A Profoundly Useable Book

    The problem with most business books is that they include a lot of great theory, but the ideas are so abstract that it's difficult to bring them into daily practice in your business. This is one of very few that a busy manager stands a chance of being able to actually READ, much less use, in time to impact your bottom line this quarter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    A Must Have

    This token is excellent for anyone in management. A lot of items are mention and thought of but not discussed, but are carefully defined in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2000

    Unique approach to Management

    There's no doubt that this book should be in every manager and team member's professional library. It distills what are truths in the fields of leadership and management and presents them in an easy-to-read style that's pleasing and concise. Definitely worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2000

    Great Role Modeling of Communications and

    When most people become a manager for the first time, they are more than a little unsure of themselves. Naturally, they often use speech and ways of doing things that they have seen others use. That's great if their role models are good, but can be terrible otherwise. The One Minute Manager provides a positive role model for those who have not yet seen one, and good reinforcement for those who have not seen one lately. If organizations try to operate on the assumption that only the manager has ideas worth acting on, then very little will be accomplished. The One Minute Manager provides a useful model for opening up and stimulating the minds of everyone in the organization to accomplish more. Not only is this advice worth following from an effectiveness point of view, it will also make you feel better about yourself as a manager and as a person when you follow it. And you will certainly make those who report to you feel a lot better, as well. I like the use of a parable to help each of us reexamine ourselves, because it makes the reader feel less defensive. But be sure to remember what you gut instincts would have been in the same situations the One Minute Manager describes. Otherwise, you may miss the point of how much your behavior needs to change. This is one of a handful of books well worth rereading annually. Unlike most business books, this one is short and easy to read. The academic language has been banished, and it is well written. If you want to go beyond The One Minute Manager to get even better results, you will have to learn and use other beneficial habits as well. But you can have all the great ideas in the world, and if you annoy and stifle everyone around you, not much will happen. So think of this book as necessary for more success, but not sufficient in and of itself for getting the utmost benefits in working with others. Donald Mitchell, coauthor of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2000

    Great at any level of managment

    Our CEO purchased a copy of The One Minute Manager for every member of our management team. It was very insightful as to the way we did some things and a better way to handle other situations. This is a must read for any 'manager'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1