Customer Reviews for

One Moment, One Morning: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Will give you a deeper appreciation for the loyal friends in your life

One Moment, One Morning tells the stories of how three women experience the aftermath of a sudden death: the wife of the deceased, her best friend, and a stranger who happens to witness the death. Through these stories Rayner examines the interconnectedness of people, h...
One Moment, One Morning tells the stories of how three women experience the aftermath of a sudden death: the wife of the deceased, her best friend, and a stranger who happens to witness the death. Through these stories Rayner examines the interconnectedness of people, how they influence each other’s lives, and how coincidence works to forge bonds between strangers. She demonstrates how love and friendship can help people to rise above circumstance, and how tragedy can bring out strength and character that people never knew they possessed. The novel begins as Lou witnesses a man having a heart attack on the 7:44 train from Brighton to London. She sees the tenderness in him during his last moments with his wife and then watches helplessly as others try and fail to revive him. Forced to exit the train before reaching London, she finds herself sharing a cab with Anna, another passenger. En route to London, Anna receives a phone call from her best friend Karen, and discovers that Karen’s husband Simon was the heart attack victim from the train. Anna hurries to join her friend at the hospital and takes Lou’s business card to settle the cab fare later. When Lou meets up with Anna again she finds herself drawn into Anna’s and Karen’s lives, helping them cope with the sudden tragedy. Simon’s death affects each woman’s life in different ways, and the narrative alternates between them to describe the events that follow: telling Karen’s children of their father’s death, the difficulties of organizing the burial arrangements, cooking for the wake, and attending the funeral. Karen’s memories of her life with Simon well up and illustrate how loving a relationship they had and the magnitude of the loss that she suffers. She struggles with guilt over Simon’s death, torturing herself with thoughts that she could have done more to prevent it. Anna does her best to help Karen, but has her own problems to face as she deals with her boyfriend’s drinking problem and the wild mood swings that accompany it. The difficulty of the situation illuminates what an unreliable and insufficient partner he is, and Anna is forced to make some hard decisions about their relationship. Meanwhile, Lou struggles with the complications of keeping her homosexuality a secret in her personal and professional lives. As she copes with witnessing Simon’s death on her own, she realizes the extent of her loneliness without a partner. The suddenness of his early death makes her realize that she must live her life genuinely so it will not be wasted. Ultimately the challenges they face unite the three women in deep friendship, and they have each other’s support as each of them, in their own way, must start a new life. One Moment, One Morning is a deeply emotional and thoughtful novel. It contains as much introspection as it does action, yet remains absorbing and moving from start to finish. Rayner has a unique voice and reveals the inner lives of her characters in a simple and genuine tone, winning the reader’s sympathy without overwrought sentimentality. Her depiction of ordinary people overcoming a crisis with strength, goodness, and integrity, despite their various shortcomings, offers a refreshing and inspiring vision of human nature that is good for the soul. Quill Says: One Moment, One Morning will give you a deeper appreciation for the loyal friends in your life and open you to the possibilities of the wonderful new people who could cross your path at any moment.

posted by FeatheredQuillBookReviews on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sad

I knew the subject matter was difficult but I was in tears by the 3rd chapter. I just couldn't go through with reading the rest. I have friends who did, however, and they liked the book.

posted by 4832479 on April 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Will give you a deeper appreciation for the loyal friends in your life

    One Moment, One Morning tells the stories of how three women experience the aftermath of a sudden death: the wife of the deceased, her best friend, and a stranger who happens to witness the death. Through these stories Rayner examines the interconnectedness of people, how they influence each other’s lives, and how coincidence works to forge bonds between strangers. She demonstrates how love and friendship can help people to rise above circumstance, and how tragedy can bring out strength and character that people never knew they possessed. The novel begins as Lou witnesses a man having a heart attack on the 7:44 train from Brighton to London. She sees the tenderness in him during his last moments with his wife and then watches helplessly as others try and fail to revive him. Forced to exit the train before reaching London, she finds herself sharing a cab with Anna, another passenger. En route to London, Anna receives a phone call from her best friend Karen, and discovers that Karen’s husband Simon was the heart attack victim from the train. Anna hurries to join her friend at the hospital and takes Lou’s business card to settle the cab fare later. When Lou meets up with Anna again she finds herself drawn into Anna’s and Karen’s lives, helping them cope with the sudden tragedy. Simon’s death affects each woman’s life in different ways, and the narrative alternates between them to describe the events that follow: telling Karen’s children of their father’s death, the difficulties of organizing the burial arrangements, cooking for the wake, and attending the funeral. Karen’s memories of her life with Simon well up and illustrate how loving a relationship they had and the magnitude of the loss that she suffers. She struggles with guilt over Simon’s death, torturing herself with thoughts that she could have done more to prevent it. Anna does her best to help Karen, but has her own problems to face as she deals with her boyfriend’s drinking problem and the wild mood swings that accompany it. The difficulty of the situation illuminates what an unreliable and insufficient partner he is, and Anna is forced to make some hard decisions about their relationship. Meanwhile, Lou struggles with the complications of keeping her homosexuality a secret in her personal and professional lives. As she copes with witnessing Simon’s death on her own, she realizes the extent of her loneliness without a partner. The suddenness of his early death makes her realize that she must live her life genuinely so it will not be wasted. Ultimately the challenges they face unite the three women in deep friendship, and they have each other’s support as each of them, in their own way, must start a new life. One Moment, One Morning is a deeply emotional and thoughtful novel. It contains as much introspection as it does action, yet remains absorbing and moving from start to finish. Rayner has a unique voice and reveals the inner lives of her characters in a simple and genuine tone, winning the reader’s sympathy without overwrought sentimentality. Her depiction of ordinary people overcoming a crisis with strength, goodness, and integrity, despite their various shortcomings, offers a refreshing and inspiring vision of human nature that is good for the soul. Quill Says: One Moment, One Morning will give you a deeper appreciation for the loyal friends in your life and open you to the possibilities of the wonderful new people who could cross your path at any moment.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    Rayner captures the essence of friendship and the searing pain of loss. Although we often casually comment on how quickly life can change, it is rare to read a book that presents that shift so starkly and beautifully.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    I really enjoy this author.

    I have read several of Sarah Rayner's and have enjoyed them all. I especially like the style of her writing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Sad

    I knew the subject matter was difficult but I was in tears by the 3rd chapter. I just couldn't go through with reading the rest. I have friends who did, however, and they liked the book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Draws you in from the very first page!

    Loved her style of writing and how you followed the main characters for only a short ammount of time and got to know them so well. Sad though, teared up at moments.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Sweet and thoughtful

    This is a sweet book. It was perfect timing for me to read such a book about women examining their lives after a tragedy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Good book

    I enjoyed meeting the characters in this novel and getting a glimpse of their lives. Sudden death is a tough subject, but the author dealt with the emotions involved delicately and created a family of characters I cared about and grieved with. Overall a very quick, engaging read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    You never realize what you're missing in life.

    To me, this was a book about opportunities. Lost opportunities and ones you need to stop and pay attention to. It also shows how your life really does touch other lives that you just may not realize. The characters are flawed, which makes them real. I enjoyed this book tremendously, as it will be one I will read again...just to see what I missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Compelling Read!

    Having read UK author, Sarah Rayner for the first time with her latest book, “The Other Half”, (I loved); wanted to read some of her earlier books – as the initial attraction to “One Moment, One Morning.”

    The title is true to its word, happened in one moment, one morning, a horrible tragedy, involving three women on a train to London when woman’s partner has a fatal heart attack and dies. Karen, the widow is left to deal with her loss and care for her young children. Anna (Karen’s best friend), is there to support her, and Lou (a witness) is not facing some facts about her own personal life.

    As with “The Other Half”, “One Moment, One Morning” does not disappoint, as the talented author has a way of reaching down to the heart to bring life and loss to her characters with emotion and sensitivity. She has a way of captivating her readers from the first page to the end.

    I highly recommend to any woman interested in loss, love, and friendship and being true to oneself. A strong theme to holding on to life, and no matter our loss, we can find the courage to move on through the support of friends and people who come into our lives through fate, at just the right time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Haley_Marie

    So far so good. It's still making me smile. Mine seems like a ghost story, while yours has an odd, kinda diary-type thing. It's fun to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Morning Rises~ Chapter 3

    A few days later, Morningkit woke up first. Today was the day! "Psst! Risingkit! Wake up!" Risingkit woke up. "Whee!" She shouted. "Shhh! I can't wait to be an apprintence!" Morningkit purred. They slipped outside to watch the sunrise. "You know what sis?" Said Risingkit, "I wonder how Dewpaw would act." "Mmhhm." Morningkit replied. "She was awfully mean and stuck-up at her first gathering. She even yelled at us *poor helpless kits*!" They burst out laughing. "She'll probably be soo hopping mad, she'll burst!" "Mhm! I bet she is in the apprintences den, sulking!" Risingkit laughed. Their mother rushed over. "Kits! Come to me!" Soon they were ready. They trotted over to the rock, where Velvetstar was waiting.


    Sorry it was short but the ceromony was to be long and I didnt want to type it all!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    Not a book I would recommend

    In my opinion this is not a book I would recommend, just did not hold my attention. I was easily distracted, I could not connect with the characters and honestly I was not engaged in the storyline.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Just ok.

    Nothing was outstanding bur ratger a hodpodge. However, i would read this author again

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2