Customer Reviews for

One Month to Live: Thirty Days to a No-Regrets Life

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

One Month To Live saved my life...

Who would have thought from a simple 30 Day Challenge that your life could be saved from a potentially fatal heart attack. When my wife and I took the thirty day challenge we both decided to shed a few pounds and work on a nutritional plan together to get into shape an...
Who would have thought from a simple 30 Day Challenge that your life could be saved from a potentially fatal heart attack. When my wife and I took the thirty day challenge we both decided to shed a few pounds and work on a nutritional plan together to get into shape and have more energy in our mid-life. We planned a great anniversary vacation to Maui. After losing over a hundred pounds together I suffered a minor heart attack that the doctor said could have been fatal or with permanent heart damage had I not lost the weight due to the one month to live challenge. The whole experience has restored my passion for life. Instead of just existing we have discovered how to really live with meaning and purpose in each moment. Read the book for yourself and take the challenge. It could very well save your life. I'm thankful I did.

posted by Anonymous on February 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Your Opinion is Most Important

This book and its add-ons were not really useful for me and my husband because we already have a really great relationship with God and we generally do not take anything for granted. It may be useful for you if you need a little direction or help though. Give it a try...
This book and its add-ons were not really useful for me and my husband because we already have a really great relationship with God and we generally do not take anything for granted. It may be useful for you if you need a little direction or help though. Give it a try.

posted by 815581 on November 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    One Month To Live saved my life...

    Who would have thought from a simple 30 Day Challenge that your life could be saved from a potentially fatal heart attack. When my wife and I took the thirty day challenge we both decided to shed a few pounds and work on a nutritional plan together to get into shape and have more energy in our mid-life. We planned a great anniversary vacation to Maui. After losing over a hundred pounds together I suffered a minor heart attack that the doctor said could have been fatal or with permanent heart damage had I not lost the weight due to the one month to live challenge. The whole experience has restored my passion for life. Instead of just existing we have discovered how to really live with meaning and purpose in each moment. Read the book for yourself and take the challenge. It could very well save your life. I'm thankful I did.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    Purchase this book before any other!

    As an avid reader, mainly history and non-fiction, this book is the most inspiring 'Study' of what is truly important. This text helps everyone get rid of 'what is not important' and focus on what 'is important'...... buy several copies because you will want to give this book as gifts to everyone you love.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Inspirational to young and old alike.

    I believe the book was very inspiring. There were moments in reading it when I had to just sit back an take a few seconds to think on my life and how I could have doen things differently or how I can live/look at things differently. It is one book that I feel all of us need to just read over. I do like the questions that are given at the end of each chapter. They give one a chance to review and look at one's own life.
    It's a book to be given to anyone - of all ages. From college age to middle age. We are never too old to make changes in our lives.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A Great Perspective on Life

    It never ceases to amaze me how quickly we lose perspective in life. It is very easy to get caught spending lots of time on the stuff that has little or no lasting impact on our lives. One Month to Live has helped remind me what it means to live life with the proper perspective. It has challenged me to look at life through the right lenses and begin to prioritize the things that really matter. I look forward to what the future holds as I pursue life with this new outlook.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Wonderful reading!

    This is one of those books you want to read more than once and then share with others. Very inspirational reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    A Whole New Lifestyle

    One Month to Live presents a really compelling question--one that's a bit scary but impossible to put aside once you start thinking about it. The stories and tools it provides for evaluating priorities, recalling lost dreams and getting out of the 'someday syndrome' are life-changing. While reading it, I learned so much about myself, and did some impactful work in the Make it Last a lifetime section. Now, my goal is to turn the 30-day challenge into a whole new lifestyle and truly make it last.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must Have!

    One Month to Live by Kerry & Chris Shook
    I hope you have noticed I started the Purpose Driven Life Challenge and come to find out Rick Warren (the author of Purpose Driven Life) wrote the Forward to the book One Month to Live, How amazing, right!?

    One Month to Live is similar to the Purpose Driven Life layout. It gives you daily challenges (which I will be doing in the future) to complete with "make it count moments" questions and "make it last for life" actions.

    We all tend to live life as in we will be here forever, when in reality we are not granted to be on this physical earth tomorrow. So, why not live our life like tomorrow may be our last?

    Live passionately. Love completely. Learn Humbly. and Leave Boldly.

    Readers are encouraged to enjoy one chapter a day for thirty days while figuring out how they would live their life if they only had thirty days to live. It is so easy to read, awesome analogies and advice.

    I would suggest this book to friends/family. Be prepared for lots of self-examination. This book will reveal that you have a much-needed eternal perspective and you will be reminded of the depth and meaning God has in store for us.

    Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Serious about change

    If you are going to read this book you better be ready for so life changing things to happen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    30 Days To A Better You

    This book was very informative and thought provoking. It really stretched my efforts in trying to become a better person and made me look at what it must be like with little time left here on earth. WE all should live like this every day.

    For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain or the past in general, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. I was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. It is available here on BN.com.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    One Month to Live has inspired and challenged me to focus on what's most important in my life - my wife, my kids, my relationships with others - my relationship with God - Jesus Christ. Each chapter is full of 'Make it count' thoughts and action items that really drove me to focus on how to put my words and intentions into actions. This is an excellent book for anyone who is looking for purpose and clarity on what this life is all about and how to make best use of the limited time we have. I have already purchased several copies for friends and family!! A must read for sure!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Life changing

    What an awesome book gave me things to think about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Jumpstart Your Life With This Book!

    What would you do if you suddenly learned you only had 30 days left to live?

    Would you continue to invest your final moments in the activities that currently fill your days? Or, would you feel a sudden urge to re-evaluate your priorities and focus your time and energy on people and projects that matter more?

    If you want to start living your life with more meaning, direction, and passion than you ever thought possible, than pick up Kerry & Chris Shook¿s best-selling book, One Month To Live: Thirty Days To A No-Regrets Life and take The One Month To Live Challenge:

    I commit with God¿s strength to live the next thirty days as if they are my last so I can experience life to the full!

    This book is divided into 30 daily readings that can help you to live more passionately, love more completely, learn more humbly, and leave more boldly. Each day¿s reading is full of inspirational quotes and anecdotes, biblical encouragement, and questions for reflection and journaling.

    This is a great book to start the New Year with and a fabulous alternative to the same old resolutions we tend to make year end and end out. The questions run deep. If you truly commit to the process, you may find yourself taking the challenge several times to reap the full benefit!

    Disclosure Of Material Connection: I received this book from the Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Great Book

    Our Pastor did a Sunday night study on this book and I bought it for that reason. It is an interesting book to read and study. Gives you things to think about in your own life and your personnel walk with the Lord !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    An eye opener

    This book has really open my eyes to the things that are going on in my life. An Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One Month To Live

    One Month To Live: Twenty Days To A No- Regrets Life by Kerry & Chris Shook is marketed as a thirty day program , self- help book for life changing journey. Although this book is entriely appropriate for anyone facing a terminal illness, this book is also intended for any reader whatsoever regardless of his or her health or life span. This book motivates and empowers the reader to live life deliberately and morally regardless of religious beliefs or lack thereof.

    For those readers to take this book seriously, who take the time to read this book and apply it to their own lives- this book can be life changing, addressing crucial areas of mending relationships and making more efficient use of one's personal time. This book offers valuable practical advise for sorting out and making priorities. For example if you wre to find your time here on earth was limited, would you choose to waste your remianing time sitting around passively watching television re runs? Or would you spend your remaining time stewing in anger, seeking revenge for past hurts and wrong? Probably not... and if that's the case this book offers constructive, realistic and relevant alternatives for making one's life more meaningful and satisfying regardless of how many days you have left. This book is not about booking that expensive vacation cruise you always wanted or purusing the ideal career or purchasing an expensive Coach bag or dream car. It's not about achieving material goals or wants- and its not about satisfying one's own greed. its about pursuing eternal lasting and meaningful treasures: its about mending relationshsips, pursuing spititual and moral satisfaction and its aboub savoring the special moments and times that so many take for granted. If you are tiured of your old world view and find that materialism and the superficial way of today's fast paced greedy society no longer works for you than this is the perfect book for you.

    As a blogger for Waterbrook Multnomah bloggers I recieved this book for the purpose of writing a review. Teh opinions expressed in this review are my own

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2