Customer Reviews for

One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Read it!!!

Star and major contributor of The Office. Expect witty, comedic,! and sometimes tender stories. A good, fun collection of short stories filled with simple life lessons that everyone should heed, but few ever do. You're the man, BJ

posted by 18570127 on February 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Zero.....straining to be funny.....and failing!

Absolutely lame!...I don't recommend.

posted by shellyschultz on February 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Read it!!!

    Star and major contributor of The Office. Expect witty, comedic,! and sometimes tender stories. A good, fun collection of short stories filled with simple life lessons that everyone should heed, but few ever do. You're the man, BJ

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    This is a wonderfully humorous collection of thoughts and storie

    This is a wonderfully humorous collection of thoughts and stories, most of which involve unusual twists and viewpoints.  For that reason, it is difficult to provide a descriptive review without including spoilers.  It would be like reviewing O’Henry without revealing his surprise endings.  One cannot do justice to the work with that approach.



    Now, this is not O’Henry.  The stories are somewhat less serious and the characters are less empathetic.  But that is not necessarily bad.  These stories and characters are from our present age.  The people are social networkers who have a more holistic worldview, and they can laugh about themselves with the author and reader alike.




    And I laughed.  For this is a very funny and enjoyable book to read.  Even the lesser stories, and some can be no more than a few well written lines, are thought provoking in a light hearted way.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Moderately entertaining

    I was familiar with BJ Novak's work as a TV writer and expected more from him. Some stories, Missed Connections and Heaven, were entertaining but the majority fell flat.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    I wanted to like it...

    ...but I didn't. I was hoping for more of the humor that The Office was known for, but instead, I got profanity and vulgarity...and a bit too much of the word "like" for my taste. Disappointing, I am sorry to say.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Zero.....straining to be funny.....and failing!

    Absolutely lame!...I don't recommend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Great read

    Loved this book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Hated it! Did the audio version. B.J. Novak is trying to "a

    Hated it! Did the audio version. B.J. Novak is trying to "act" like he is an intellectual and it does not work. Too much profanity just for the sake of it and he was trying to be super creative and it came off as boring and ridiculous. I think he was trying for shock value maybe? Just one person's opinion. I had such high hopes. Also, his voice really gets on your nerves after 9 hours. He should have hired a professional to do the reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    I read this so quickly! So many of the stories take a turn you d

    I read this so quickly! So many of the stories take a turn you don't expect. BJ's such a talented writer, and it's engaging and interesting to hear his various voices and points of views. DEFINITELY recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Terrible stories

    This is one of the worst collection of storied I've read. Most of them made no sense. I couldn't finish it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best book of short stories released in the past few y

    One of the best book of short stories released in the past few years. I looked forward to every story and it never disappointed. This is a must read for anyone, the book delivers life lessons and advice. I was amazed by this book. Everyone must read.  

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Fun and Fast read!

    Had to get it as soon as I found out about this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Self-consciously clever, with little substance.

    Self-consciously clever, with little substance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Great Read!

    I thought this book was fabulous! It was funny, witty, thought provoking and a little dark. The only thing that kept me from giving a five star rating was that I just didn't enjoy a handful of the stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    This book is terrible! Could not even finish it.....It was a was

    This book is terrible! Could not even finish it.....It was a waste of money! Market scam, do not buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Really enjoyed this

    It's difficult to review books (and movies, for that matter) because everybody likes different things.
    But I was familiar with this author because of his work on "The Office." Personally I found it
    very funny. In fact, laugh-out-loud funny in places. I had read this after getting it from the
    library & ordered one from B&N and had it sent to my son. He, also enjoyed it very much. We
    both have a slightly skewed sense of humor, which probably also contributed to our enjoy-
    ment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Funny stories.

    Not great humor, but enough to keep one interested and giggling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    A greet book which I purchased from B&Ns crappy company only because I wanted to buy this with the author's initials included. Mitchell Klipper and the other senior sleazing, dishonest, fraudulent peaces of crap should be avoided at all colds!!

    I real sorry for those who work in the stores!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Absolutely fantastic! 

    Absolutely fantastic! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Very enjoyable Very enjoable

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book and bought a second copy to share with a friend. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    great

    great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2