Customer Reviews for

One Night Stand

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Amazing

    ## Fabulous read. Short but oh so sweet. I adored both hero and heroine. They were amazing together. Their chemistry was palpable. And the sex? HOT, hot, hot. Albeit a tad short (107 pgs), i didn't feel the characters lacking. Would definitely read again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Joe was awesome!

    Amanda met Joe and wanted a one night stand, but things changed between them. Joe knew Amanda's brother Caleb and her other brothers seemed to like Joe right away. Joe had to overcome some things with Amanda, but these two had such a chemistry. I loved this book. It was well written and I enjoyed learning about Amanda and Joe's family and friend Sam. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Enjoyable!

    I enjoyed this book very much. It had romance, humor as far as the characters are concerned and some drama making you wish the story did not have to end. Well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Amazing

    Love it. Hot, sexy, funny and damn right intense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good new writer!  I am excited to have found this new writer, Pa

    Good new writer! 
    I am excited to have found this new writer, Parker Kincaid.  This book as a kick ass heroine who holds her own against a super sex ex
    military man. 

    Joe is great and knows a good thing when he sees it and seizes it.  Our heroine has some abandonment issues but these are reasonable
    and otherwise is a fierce and appealing heroine. 

    The secondary characters who will clearly be getting their own books are lively and compelling. There is a nice thread of humor that makes
     the action adventure parts of this story work well. 

    The erotic aspects of the book are good. We do have some superhuman stamina going on here but hey its a fantasy. 

    This was a good book. There are some ways is could have been excellent. 

    I would have liked more of Joe's backstory. We get something of his military time and little of his childhood but that is it.  I would like him to
     have some other interests.

    The heroine backstory in terms of her awesome job needs much more flushing out and showing up. She is a hacker. This is so cool!
     However, we are just told she is very good with computers and not shown nor do we see this techie part of her in the story. 

    I am looking forward to the rest of the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    Applause for One Night Stand My Thoughts: This book was provide

    Applause for One Night Stand

    My Thoughts:
    This book was provided by the author for an honest review.

    Amanda Martin is a loser at love. Two of her recent relationships, dissolved by cheating exes, leave her with an abundance of mistrust, fear, and insecurity — convincing her to swear off relationships and love. Love smove! Her best friend Samantha suggests that she doesn't need love BUT she does need a man — for a one-night stand, that is. After relationship number one ends, Amanda is resistant to the suggestion; however, the end of relationship number two leaves her more than receptive to the idea. Amanda decides to do it...quite literally. She leaves the city for her family's retreat home nestled in the woods an hour away. One Night Stand opens with Amanda stilling her nerves and preparing to enter a bar in search of her one-night lover. But, what she actually ends up finding is true love.

    This story was a most enjoyable read. It was short, sweet, and oh so very sexy. Amanda and Joe were very likable, separately and together. Amanda was strong and confident but had an air of vulnerability that made her relatable and interesting. Joe...*dreamy sigh*...was the total package. He was sexy, sweet, and 100% drool-worthy alpha male. I appreciated how Ms. Kincade evolved Amanda and Joe's relationship from one-night to love. Although Amanda was resistant and hesitant, Joe was steadfast and consistent, even after receiving a painful blow to his heart from her.

    Amanda's best friend, Samantha, and her three brothers Caleb, Brandon, and Alec *who were also to-die-for* were interesting and supportive elements in the story. Samantha was witty, sarcastic, and absolutely hilarious. She made me laugh...a lot...especially when she referred to Amanda's brothers with her derisive moniker, "the horesemen". The brothers, especially Caleb, were very alpha, protective, and overbearing to both Amanda and Samantha. Caleb and Samantha are always at odds with each other and the sexual tension reverberating between them leaves the reader wanting to know more and what happens next.

    One Night Stand was a delightfully sexy story with engaging characters, a well thought out plot, and a fantastic introduction to what promises to be an amazing series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great New Author you must not miss

    You find out that the man you've been dating is sleeping with his secretary. You've become a cliché. What's your next step? That is, aside of from the obvious first step of calling your best friend and get rip roaring drunk.

    Step one: Get drunk... check
    Step two: Take some time off. Get away from the family. You love your big brothers, but the horsemen of the apocalypse cannot know what happened just yet. check
    Step three: Allow your best friend to convince you that what you really need is a hot meaningless one-night stand with a stranger. check
    Step four: Walk away, no strings attached, now waiting for a phone call and definitely no expectations.

    Well, I guess three out of four isn't bad. However, when you add three incredibly hot, overbearing older brothers, also known as three of the four horsemen of the apocalypse and a one-night stand that is anything but, you have the makings for a recipe for disaster.

    I am nothing if not a sucker for a story with a hot alpha male and independent heroine that know how to kick butt. So it should come to no surprise that I loved Amanda and Joe. I have to admit to having my doubts during that first chapter. Amanda came across as whiny and quite a defeatist, the complete opposite of what I like in my heroines. Luckily though, this turns out to be an abnormality for Amanda. Having grown up with three older brothers, a girl learns how to take care of herself and this sexy, Harley driving, ex sniper is the perfect rebound relationship for Amanda.

    With likable secondary characters, a great storyline and incredibly steamy scenes, One Night Stand is a must not miss. Ms. Parker may be new to the scene but I can guarantee we'll be seeing a lot more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Hot!

    New author, looking forward to more. Maybe, Samantha and Caleb or maybe, one of the other brothers. Enjoyed. Hot!
    (109 pages)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hot and Sexy

    If you like erotic romance, then you need to read Parker Kincade’s One Night Stand. Seriously, this story was just fantastic. I thought about quitting my job so that I could get home quicker to read more of the book. I also got a chance to connect with Parker on Twitter (read: I’m a stalker) and there are three more upcoming books in the series! She told me which one is next, but I’m not telling you until you read this one. Parker was very nice and I hope to get to know (stalk) her more in the future. I will probably also bug her until the next book comes out. Seriously, this story was that great. Oh wait, you probably want me to talk about that? Sheesh!

    Ok, this story is about Amanda, and she has just been cheated on again. Her BFF, Sam, convinces her that was she needs is a one night stand to get her fires burning again. After a little bit of debate Amanda heads off to a hole in the wall bar in Texas in search of just that. The scene is not exactly what she pictured, and she is about to leave when Joe Sterling (my new book boyfriend, so back off) enters the scene. Holy Hotness Batman! Joe has got it going on. Tall, dark, sexy, a bit of a bad boy, and able to clear a woman’s head of any rational thought with just once burning stare.

    “A voice, low and full of menace, drifted from behind her just seconds before she felt him. Well, not so much felt as sensed. Like a rabbit would sense it was about to become coyote kibble.”

    Joe is “over six feet of powerful male”. Just like I like em’! Jet black hair, blue eyes, and built like a mofo. And on top of that he is a straight shooting good guy. He isn’t playing games, and he stands up for the things he believes in. He’s a bit domineering, a great sense of humor, and a libido to rival any leading man. Am I gushing? Well, read the book and find out why!! Sheesh, again!

    Wait a minute, I’m sensing a trend that my review is mostly about Joe. Ok, let me try to pry my imagination and brain free from him to tell you about the rest of the story. So Amanda meets Joe and sparks fly. But sparks is putting it lightly. More like the biggest show of Independence Day fireworks you’ve ever seen. And one night stand turns into several days. And those days are filled with some hot and steamy scenes that are just delicious. And then there is the addition of Amanda’s older brothers, who are a lively bunch. You instantly fall in love with her family and can see why they are so tight. And we can’t forget her friend Sam, to whom there is so much more than meets the eye. I look forward to getting to know her more in upcoming books because she seems like much more than a handful with a heart of platinum.

    This story has a lot of fun in it. You can tell that Parker Kincade has a great sense of humor because her writing shows it. Amanda is quite cute; her mouth keeps talking with no attachment to her brain. She is definitely one of those women whose mouth gets her into trouble one way or another. And then there are a few dramatic scenes that will definitely get your heart pumping. Pretty much I can guarantee that Parker Kincade has a new and loyal fan in me. Her writing is fantastic, and I am not-so-patiently waiting for more.

    Ok, one more quote about Joe.

    “The dominance that bled from his voice made her stomach clench.”

    Seriously, don’t we all want a man like that? Heck, I know I do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1