Customer Reviews for

One Night of Scandal

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Cute

    It was a bit predictable and a bit sappy but I still would reccomend it as a lighthearted read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Ok

    I love this author but not one of her best books but still a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Enjoyable, would recommend!!!!

    I enjoyed this read, though some parts dragged a little. I felt so sorry for the heroine when she was ignored by her husband, when he didn't want to ride with her, when she was treated like she was unwanted in her new home, when she realized he was still in love with his first wife and when he sent her away!!!! But Lottie was a very strong young women and made the best of every situation!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Loved it

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    enchanting

    Had a hard time putting this book down. Funny and enchanting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    Awesome!

    As always the book is entertaining from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2006

    An awesome book!!!!

    She marries a suspected killer to avoid a scandal. He then wisks her off to a land that's completely foreign to her. There she encounters an extremely spoiled little girl who tries to make her life a living hell. The child just wasn't expecting her. Meanwhile, her new husband won't even spend a mere five minutes with her. They love, they fight, and end up losing themselves in the end. This is an awesome book and I would recommend it to anyone who loves historical romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    Not what I hoped for

    I love Teresa Medeiros' novels. But this one was disappointing. I expected it to be a great read because it continues from Medeiros' A Kiss to Remember. Now that novel was an excellent read. The heroine in One Night of Scandal was a willful and courageous character, but I found the storyline lacking in excitement and sensuality. The middle sort of dragged on a bit too. It was okay, but it could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    Delightful!!

    While rather new to this particular genre of books, this was my third novel by Teresa Medeiros and it did not disappoint. The story was an absolute delight to read, reminding me something of Jane Eyre, intricate and not at all what I was expecting. Faced with two characters who's nature are so different from each other they were a perfect balance making it an interesting and amusing tale, while the supporting characters help to add a depth lacking in other book that share a similar plot. Medeiros does a good job of giving the reader a good dose of humor, magic and fun. A wonderful read with plenty of romance that will keep you from putting this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    It was just OK

    I gave it only 3 stars because I felt like something was missing in this story. The magic from other books didn't make its appearence in this one. First of all, the main characters where never together until the end. This is a romance novel, where was the romance? At some point I hated the guy,( I even forgot the name of the MM) he was mean to Lottie, and still she loved him???? It was weird. I finished reading it because I hate to leave my books unfinished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    It was ok

    I own all Ms.Medeiros books and I enjoy reading them over & over again. When I bought 'One Night of Scandal' I couldn't wait to read it but was disappointed by the characters. They lacked the magic of other characters Ms.Medeiros has created. If I'd never read anything by Ms.Medeiros then I'd be satisfied with this book. But I've read her books so I know that it could be better. I hope Ms. Medeiros graces us with other books because I anxiously await for other magical tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This is one of the best books I have ever read YOU MUST READ it for anyone who likes historical romance you will love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    One night of Reading

    It only took about one full day for me to finish this book. With her usual talent for story telling Ms. Medeiros has captured again what i love best in romance novels; characters with flaws and real emotion running through them. I highly recommend this book. It made me laugh and definately made me choke up as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    Read this Book

    This is an awsome book! I recomend it to anyone who loves romance. Teresa is a wonderful writter and very discriptive. The story is dazzling and thrilling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    Not Medeiros's Best

    I've read a good dozen of Teresa Medeiros's books and I feel that if I were to rank them, this would fall somewhere towards the bottom. It lacks some of the humor that I look forward to in the author's books and I feel that it doesn't even compare to Touch of Enchantment or Fairest of Them All.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2003

    fabulous fiction

    i would have to say i could not put this book down. it was filled with many hilarious moments, angst ridden emotions and romantic overtures. i thought the whole package was absolutely wonderful. one of the best i have read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Fabulous!

    This is by far my favorite Teresa Medeiros novel. The heroine is absolutely hilarious! I was cracking up throughout the entire book! I definitely recommend this book, but beware, you won't be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    Good book

    I just finished and and I cant believe how good it is!~!! This is the first book I read by her and not the last. Im going to enjoying reading more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    I ADORE THIS BOOK!

    I picked this up yesterday and I started reading it but then I just couldn't stop -- I even read while I was getting my hair done. Not very polite, but it was such a great story that I just had to. I loved Lottie. You know those heroines you'd really like to be friends with? That's Lottie. I have all Ms. Medeiros's books, and this one is one of my top favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful storytelling

    Carlotta ¿Hertforshire Hellion¿ Fairleigh has earned her reputation with only her family prestige keeping her from being banned from polite society. However, in 1825 Lottie returns to London to make her latest previously delayed debut, vowing to behave. However, being Lottie she cannot resist sneaking into the home of Hayden ¿Murderous Marquess¿ St. Clair, infamous for killing his best friend in a duel over his wife's honor and not long afterward, his spouse vanished.<P> Hayden vowed to never marry again, but Lottie has compromised herself. Honor refuses to allow him to ignore this situation so he reluctantly marries her. The newlyweds journey to his remote Cornwell home in Cornwell where the apparent ghost of his first wife haunts the halls. However, it is the ugly recollections of his first marriage that prevent Hayden from falling in love with Lottie as she has done with him.<P> This engaging otherworldly gothic romance will provide plenty of joy to readers as the courageous Lottie battles a ghostly rival and her dark beloved¿s reticence. The story line is action-packed and filled with a few neat twists as Teresa Medeiros provides a fun tale that will give pleasure to her Regency era fans.<P> Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4