BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One Night of Sin (Knight Miscellany Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

Very romantic story with a lot of adventure.i loved it.

posted by DimplesND on January 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Boy Toy Makes Good

Foley's writing is crisp and true to the period, but the suprise here comes in the form of a hero with some serious self-esteem issues and Oedipal hang-ups, including a brief turn as Regency Mr. Goodbar to one nasty lady of the ton. Alec Knight is the brother of inter...
Foley's writing is crisp and true to the period, but the suprise here comes in the form of a hero with some serious self-esteem issues and Oedipal hang-ups, including a brief turn as Regency Mr. Goodbar to one nasty lady of the ton. Alec Knight is the brother of interest in this entry to the Knight Miscellany series, and Foley has given him great press in other titles, such as Lord of Ice, Fire, etc. Here we find the Rogue both disenchanted with his life and bruised by some spectacularly bad luck at the gaming tables, until he finds a redemptive moment in saving Miss Becky Ward. While our damsel in distress seems a bit dim to me (can't tell true rubies from paste--quelle nitwit!), she does manage to soothe Alec's wounded pride and give him a new lease on Regency life. She cares not that our boy once sold his charms to a truly twisted baroness in exchange for settling his gambling debts, and instead our heroine loves all his Mumsie-Was-A-Harlot angst away. This is no small feat, considering all Knight Bros. walk a fine line between love and hate for their dearly departed mamma, Georgiana Hawkscliffe, aka The Hawkscliffe Harlot. To a man, all Knight brothers have grown up handsome, charming and brave, except when it comes to facing their feelings, and Alec is no exception. The fact that he was mamma's favorite seems to have done him more harm than good, and a lost little boy hides just under the surface of his hedonistic veneer. Can Becky get past his use of sex as escaping true intimacy to find the 'fallen angel man' she loves? Well, DUHH! In the end, unconditional love wins the day, with some smokin' hot sex scenes that may be pushing the limits of good taste, but so what?! It's a good story featuring a great Knight brother, and I hope Foley finds a few other byblows in this family to keep me cruising the pink ghettos of fiction for new releases. I've run through most of Kleypas' and Jordan's stuff, as well as Dodd and Quinn, and this writer holds her own with the best of 'em. Her male characters are always infinitely more compelling than the heroines, and sympathetic in a way that is neither cloying nor predictable. I assume she's working on a 'prequel' which tells Lady Hawkscliffe's story at some point, 'cause that will be some read, indeed!

posted by Anonymous on April 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    Great Book

    Very romantic story with a lot of adventure.i loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    Boy Toy Makes Good

    Foley's writing is crisp and true to the period, but the suprise here comes in the form of a hero with some serious self-esteem issues and Oedipal hang-ups, including a brief turn as Regency Mr. Goodbar to one nasty lady of the ton. Alec Knight is the brother of interest in this entry to the Knight Miscellany series, and Foley has given him great press in other titles, such as Lord of Ice, Fire, etc. Here we find the Rogue both disenchanted with his life and bruised by some spectacularly bad luck at the gaming tables, until he finds a redemptive moment in saving Miss Becky Ward. While our damsel in distress seems a bit dim to me (can't tell true rubies from paste--quelle nitwit!), she does manage to soothe Alec's wounded pride and give him a new lease on Regency life. She cares not that our boy once sold his charms to a truly twisted baroness in exchange for settling his gambling debts, and instead our heroine loves all his Mumsie-Was-A-Harlot angst away. This is no small feat, considering all Knight Bros. walk a fine line between love and hate for their dearly departed mamma, Georgiana Hawkscliffe, aka The Hawkscliffe Harlot. To a man, all Knight brothers have grown up handsome, charming and brave, except when it comes to facing their feelings, and Alec is no exception. The fact that he was mamma's favorite seems to have done him more harm than good, and a lost little boy hides just under the surface of his hedonistic veneer. Can Becky get past his use of sex as escaping true intimacy to find the 'fallen angel man' she loves? Well, DUHH! In the end, unconditional love wins the day, with some smokin' hot sex scenes that may be pushing the limits of good taste, but so what?! It's a good story featuring a great Knight brother, and I hope Foley finds a few other byblows in this family to keep me cruising the pink ghettos of fiction for new releases. I've run through most of Kleypas' and Jordan's stuff, as well as Dodd and Quinn, and this writer holds her own with the best of 'em. Her male characters are always infinitely more compelling than the heroines, and sympathetic in a way that is neither cloying nor predictable. I assume she's working on a 'prequel' which tells Lady Hawkscliffe's story at some point, 'cause that will be some read, indeed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    SO SO READ

    STORY IS INTERESTING. VILLAINS NASTY AND NASTIER. MS. FOLEY HAS NEVER WRITTEN A STEAMY NOVEL SO I DIDN'T EXPECT-ON A SENSUAL SCALE OF 1-10-ANYTHING BUT A 3-MAYBE. WHAT I GOT IS A CRUDE DESCRIPTION OF LOVEMAKING BOARDING ON VULGAR. (I AM NOT A PRUDE BY THE WAY AND ENJOY NICOLE JORDAN'S BOOK VERY MUCH.) I HOPE FOLEY GETS A MIDDLE GROUND ON HER NEXT BOOK.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    Alec has always been my least favorite character in this series

    Alec has always been my least favorite character in this series and this book did nothing to dissuade me of that opinion.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Not up to par

    Loved the rest of the series, but this was boring. Missed the rest of the family. Way too much thinking about each other. Even the sex was boring. Alex deserved better then this two dimensional story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Good character development for the most part.

    Interesting story and good rooting value for characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved Alec and Becky!

    I think I am reading these Knight family books not in order, however, I am happy to have read that Alec was such a sweetheart and that he wasn't still pining over Lissette. It was sweet to see Alec lose his heart to Becky, who I truly loved from first being introduced to her. It's nice to see the "love at first site" theory and go with it throughout rather than have them hating each other at first. I will enjoy reading the rest of the Knight family series if this book is any indication.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    I'm Still Swooning!

    It's books like One Night of Sin that make me love romance novels. To put it lightly, Gaelen Foley is a phenomenal writer. Her plots are intricate and captivating and kept me interested throughout. This is the second to last book (*tear*) in the Knight Miscellany and it is Alec's story. Oh Alec!!! I really believed his sincere affections for the heroine, Becky, and his dedication to her had me dreaming all day long. I am such a sucker for the reformed rake storyline and Alec falls into that category perfectly. The only thing I did not like about him was the fact that he seemed to be suffering from some serious Mommy Issues. There were some Freudian undertones to his character that had me pursing my lips and rolling my eyes. But other than that I think he is definitely one of my favorite heroes of all time. Becky, makes me smile so so much. I loved that within the first fifty pages she had met Alec, and given in to her attraction to him. She did not try and fool herself into believing that she did not want him, or that he did not want her (That was palpable). There are scenes in this book that will stay with me forever. Particularly when Alec must defeat Becky's pervy cousin in a high stakes game of whist that will end in his death if he loses. Becky's reaction coupled with Alec's dedication to honor had me in tears. I wish there were more books like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    wow!!!!!!!!!!!1

    so omg i just discovered romance novels about a month ago and so far i have three of her books left to read and man o man do i love her. it makes me sad the knight family ever has to end. her books are so amazing and i have to say one night of sin was one of my favorites besides duke. alec was so easy to fall in love with. so if you loved the rest of the knight family believe me you'll love this one. and don't forget to read her other novels, pirate prince, princess, and prince charming, they're even better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2005

    Not the best but certainly not the worst

    I absolutely adore Gaelen Foley, but this was her first novel that I could not finish. I don't know something seemed to be lacking from this one. I hated how there really was no interaction with the other Knight family members. I have noticed that as the series progresses we see less and less of the Knight family. Another thing that still bothers me is that although I loved Devil Takes A Bride with Lizzie, in my heart of hearts I wanted her to end up with Alec Maybe this was why I was unable to enjoy this book to its full potential. I just felt that the heroine didn't fit in with the rest of the Knights. Nevertheless I am waiting with baited breath for Lord Jack's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    great!!!

    i was very happy to say that this is a great book.... the romance is a 8... all in all i am very enthusiastic....i press everyone to read....very hottttt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    tense romantic suspense Regency thriller

    In 1817 London half Russian half English Earl Prince Kurkov sends four of his best Cossack soldiers to capture his cousin Rebecca Ward before she can reach her late grandfather¿s friend and political adversary the Duke of Westland. Becky watched Kurkov kill in cold blood, has learned about his anti-Tsar plot, and knows he plans to use and abuse her. --- After four days of little to eat and no rest, Becky reaches London with the Cossacks closing in on her. A storm sends her seeking shelter under the portico of Lord Draxinger¿s home where she falls asleep. Drax and three friends, Rush, Fort, and Alec Knight arrive for a night of cards when they see her and assumes she is a whore. Rush tries for a kiss but takes a knee in the family jewels; Drax follows but receives an elbow knocking out a tooth. Becky flees, but Alec pursues her. He persuades her to come to his home where they make love. The next morning she leaves and he realizes she was a virgin. He follows her and soon kills two Cossacks attacking her. As they struggle to stay alive and raise the alarm about the anti-Tsar plot, they fall in love.--- ONE NIGHT OF SIN is a tense romantic suspense thriller that brings to life an interesting historical footnote, England¿s adulation of Tsarist Russia following the Napoleonic Wars. The characters make for a fine story line with the lead couple¿s inability to compete with Kurkov¿s charm to sell himself to Westland (and his daughter). Fans will enjoy this fine Regency that would be folly not to read.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3