Customer Reviews for

One Night with You

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A nineteenth century romance

    Since her husband died, his family led by her brother-in-law treats Lady Jane Guthrie at best like a poor relative but for the most part as a servant. Jane chaperones her fickle nieces and puts up with the outrageous abuse of her mean spirited sister-in-law.-------------- Jane sneaks out to attend a courtesan masked ball although she knows her behavior is scandalous as she does not belong there. To her misfortune, her in-law catches her, but to her good fortune, Lord Seth Rutledge intercedes. When they were younger she loved Seth, but he chose her sister, who rejected him as he was title-less with no prospects. , Seth has returned from the war angry at society that now finds him acceptable. Only his beloved blind sister can reach him until he meets the masked siren, who vanishes on him. When he next encounters his disguised minx, she seduces him although she fears his reaction if ever finds out that his childhood friend is his secret paramour.----------- This terrific historical romance star two walking wounded as Jane has not recovered from being a lord¿s wife to a second class citizen and Seth suffers from post traumatic stress disorder caused by his combat experience. The story line is fast-paced while also containing neat unexpected but plausible spins. Fans will enjoy Sophie Jordan¿s charming nineteenth century romance.-------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    Another Gem from Ms. Jordan

    Once upon a time, Jane Spencer fell in love. And shortly after that, life intervened. Sean Rutledge, the man of her dreams, fell for her sister, was rejected, and shipped off for a life at sea. Herself married off into a life of loneliness, Jane never imagined things would grow worse with widowhood. Oppressive relations usurp her freedom, pressing her into service as governess for their three vulgar daughters. Jane yearns for a bit of adventure, an escape from her abysmal life, and on her friends¿ advice, attends a daringly inappropriate masquerade ball. And there her Prince Charming waltzes back into her life. Battle-scarred and heart-hardened, Sean is in London searching for a bride¿his only criterion that she not recoil at the sight of him¿but instead finds himself trysting with a mysterious beauty who triggers forgotten memories of the painful long-ago. Jane thrills at the seductive exhilaration of her dangerous game, but how long can she keep her secrets? And does she truly wish to? In One Night With You, Sophie Jordan has crafted a luxurious, redemptive tale of love lost and found again. A captivating read, highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    Lady Jane Guthrie doesn¿t mind being a widow, but she loathes being treated like a servant in her own home. Sneaking out to a masquerade ball seems a daring adventure until she encounters Seth Rutledge, the man she¿s always secretly loved, and the man her sister bewitched and humiliated. Her mask makes her bold and he clearly desires her. She promises herself if he makes love to her as the mysterious masked golden lady just once, she¿ll be content with her lot for the rest of her life. Seth, the new Earl of Sinclair, needs a wife. Unfortunately he wants the golden temptress he made passionate love to and who now haunts his thoughts. If only he could forget her and find a suitable young woman to marry, someone to be a companion, friend and protector to his blind sister. When his sister insists on renewing her childhood friendship with Jane, the irritating, proper widow arouses the most improper fantasies. Can he really desire two such different women¿the passionate golden goddess and the prickly Jane? Life has damaged Jane and Seth. Once they were best friends but Seth became infatuated with the wrong sister and Jane was given to a man who used her badly. Now years later can they overcome the cruelty and hurt that has scarred their lives and allow themselves to trust each other again? Once again Sophie Jordan brings together a rich, colorful cast of characters in a sexy, original love story. Jane and Seth are both fairly mature by historical romance standards and disillusioned with life. They must contend with personal tragedies and their own mistakes as well as the harsh restrictions of the social conventions of the time. Even so, they have a natural optimism, brought to life by the attraction they feel for each other. I love Ms. Jordan¿s secondary characters for their individuality and depth, especially Seth¿s blind sister who¿s determined to defy a world where her blindness condemns her to spinsterhood and dependence. One Night with You is a wonderful story I couldn¿t put down until the happily ever after. Don¿t miss this one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was such a great read that I couldn't put it down! The main

    This was such a great read that I couldn't put it down! The main characters drew me in and I enjoyed them immensely. I totally recommend it! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2014

    This book had so much potential. The exposition of the main char

    This book had so much potential. The exposition of the main characters, Jane and Seth, are surprisingly good for a typical romance novel. I was immediately taken into their world. I felt like I knew them only from the first few chapters and already cared what happened to them. 

    But as the book continued on, major flaws started to reveal themselves. These characters that I had come to care for became sex driven maniacs for no reason. I understand most romantic novels are meant to be steamy and sexy, but this just crushed all the character development it had made and threw it out the window. For example, upon seeing each other for the first time in years, both Seth and Jane recite pages and pages of horny thoughts. They say absolutely nothing of relevance to each other.  They just stare at each other thinking dirty things, which makes absolutely no sense since they’re relationship was more like brother and sister in the past. This is obviously the author trying to create something sensual and exciting for the reader but it ends up just being plain creepy. 

    There are moments where the book brings it back to the relationship and character development, which is the only reason I continued reading. But even so, there are so many plot points that are developed and have the potential to create great drama, but just disintegrating into nothingness.

    I really enjoyed the tension between the characters, the initial idea, and some of the more developed scenes between Seth and Jane. But overall, this just fell flat to what it could and should have been. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    One Night With You

    I loved this book. It held my attention all the way through... I had to dry my eyes a couple of times. I participated with my heart! LOVED the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Pass

    I can not believe this book received high ratings. The storyline was a good one but execution was lacking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    So lovely!

    Sophie Jordan is one of my favorite authors and yet again she wrote a book that I couldn't put down. The double love story was lovely!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet and touching

    My favorite kind of story. The plot develops and revolves around the character's emotions and developing trust. It's not dependant on sinister plots or convenient misunderstandings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It

    Sophie Jordan only has 5 books out. This is the second I read. I really must say she's got a talent. I loved this one. The mystery. The love. Over all one of my favorite books ever. :] Can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3