Customer Reviews for

One Night with a Hero: A Heroes Novel

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    So, so good. One Night with a Hero by Laura Kaye is so good. It

    So, so good. One Night with a Hero by Laura Kaye is so good. It is the second in The Heroes series. Laura's writing is so smooth and easy to follow. I don't normally like one night stand type books but this one worked. The characters are very likeable from the beginning.  I really enjoyed their easy dialogue with each other and how sure they seemed to be of themselves. Deep down, they were a mess, though.

    I feel like the cover police when I say this but the cover of this book does not do it justice.  I know sex sells so it is a big deal to have hot and sexy covers (so it appears anyway - I am no expert) but really, this book was not about the sex. There were intimate scenes in this book that were well done and moved the story along. They were not overly detailed or long. In fact the memories that stand out for me from this book are not the sex scenes. There is an oh so sweet gift-giving scene and a scene that happens during Halloween that melts my heart. Oh and there is a "mutual" scene that was a lot of fun (but I am not giving that detail away).

    Brady and Joss don't really know how to handle their relationship. They are attracted to each other in more than the physical sense, but neither wants to be vulnerable enough to open up and stick with the other. It is easier on their hearts if they keep each other at arm's length. Luckily, as this spirals out of control for Brady and he risks losing Joss because of the PITA he is, his sister Alyssa steps in and saves the day (one of the reason's I can't wait to read her and Marco's story - Her Forbidden Hero).  One Night with a Hero is a story about rising against the odds and learning who you can become if you allow yourself. It is about acceptance for who you are and allowing yourself to love completely. If you are looking for a sexy, intense, love story about real people, I highly recommend One Night with a Hero.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Loved it :)

    Another great love story! :) read Her Forbidden Hero first....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    ***

    It's okay. But not what I expected. Occassionally I had to skip over sections that can best be described as yata-yata.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Loved

    Loved this book. It was engaging and intense from the very beginning. Joss is unique and loving with a past of heartache. She meets Brady one night and their chemistry is undeniable and intense from the very beginning. One night leads to more which leads to major life altering changes. Brady never wants to settle down or get married. The whole kids thing isn't for him. His past with his dad is dramatic and intense. But together, they have to learn to let go of their past and embrace their future. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Loved it, again.

    Great book! Love the military theme. Very smooth and easy to read. I don't usually get teary eyed but with this book I did. Love the other books too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Loved it

    A re-read for me. Well developed characters. Good plot. Great sex scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    This is the third book that I have read from Laura Kaye and I am

    This is the third book that I have read from Laura Kaye and I am so happy I found her as an author. This book was fantastic. It kept me reading and reading and reading, yes in only a short 12 hours I finished it because I couldn’t put it down again…. Brady was so cute when he sent the Halloween costume and how he wanted to be a better person for Joss. It is a book that you must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    *swoon* A military man who wrestles with some demons from his pa

    *swoon* A military man who wrestles with some demons from his past and a resilient young woman who has courage.  I found myself cheering for Joss and at times yelling at Brady. A very enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Kept my interest, lovely romance, well written. A great read!

    Kept my interest, lovely romance, well written. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    Emotional story by an amazing author. As a fan of author Laura

    Emotional story by an amazing author. As a fan of author Laura Kaye, I was happy to find this book and couldn't put it down! The entire premise of the book is unusual though the reader can see several possibilities when the hero and heroine get together. Heroine Joss is free spirit with a troubled past - after her mother died, she briefly lived in a few foster homes though she ended up going back to the children's home. For Joss, trust is hard to have and risk is something that she doesn't take. Hero Brady is a military man with a cruel father who never cared for him or his younger sister - a sister that Brady protected from their father's abusive temper. Brady has only been able to hook-up briefly with women, but had no desire for more than a one-night stand. Meeting Joss changes Brady and forces him to look deeply into himself and also deal with his anger issues and feeling of betrayal by his father. You will not want to put this book down until you get to the last page! Another wonderful story from an amazing author - thank you, Laura!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    another good book

    like stories about hero's...who doesn't..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I have to admit I¿d never read a book by Laura Kaye but I¿d hear

    I have to admit I’d never read a book by Laura Kaye but I’d heard so many good things about her—and she got me hooked!

    Brady is a Wham, Bam, Thank You M’am type of guy. He wants one night and one night only—otherwise it gets too complicated. This arrangement has been working out real well for him, until of course he met a woman who kept bringing him back in.

    Joss is just looking for someone who will accept her the way she is. She wants a home and a family more than anything, especially because she didn’t have that when she was a child.

    When they meet, sparks fly, attraction is almost palpable, and the inevitable happens.

    And then… pregnancy! I have to admit, I have a soft spot for pregnancy stories. I love the whole “we are going to have a baby now and you have to deal with your issues” plotline. So it was no mystery why I wanted this book.

    And while I loved the plotline, I (arguably) loved the characters even more. They had flaws, they weren’t perfect by any means, and that’s what made me like them. I never once got really annoyed at a character, especially because I could completely understand where they were coming from. Brady had an abusive father and doesn’t want to become him, so he just wants to avoid the whole “children” situation completely. Joss has felt rejected all of her life, so when Brady rejects her, she swears she won’t let him back in.

    I also really liked the secondary characters, Alyssa and Marco, who I later on realized their story was told in the first book of this series. It made sense because these characters were so fleshed out and weren’t just in the background.

    But you don’t need to read the first book to enjoy this book. I didn’t (though I will!) and not once did I feel like I was missing something or like I had to read the previous book.

    The story was believable and it went by really smoothly, and I read it in one sitting. There were a few things here and there where I wondered if that would really happen, but it wasn’t anything too major and it didn’t spoil the book at all for me. I definitely recommend this book for anyone who wants a HEA with two people who’ve tried to protect themselves from everyone and ended up growing stronger because of each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Great Heroine  I liked the heroine of this one quite a bit. She

    Great Heroine 
    I liked the heroine of this one quite a bit. She is her own self. However, I have no idea why she would fall in love with the hero other than
     the fact he is good looking and can be charming.  He can also be a real jerk. His bad actions are well explained by his backstory and the
     events of the novella but we never get to see why she would fall in love with him. 

    Her, I adore. Him, not so much. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Good book

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Great!

    You will go through all the emotions you have on this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    OMG

    Oh I fell in love with Brady on the first page...such an awesome story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Great Read!

    Enjoyed the story and characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Amazing read:)

    One of the most enjoyable reads ive had all summer. Ive also read the other in the series and they are both amazing and quick reads (atleast for me they were). It gives the reader a real romance along with the "spicyness" of an erotica. Its also a very realistic story line that readers could relate to. Absolutely worth it:) you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Hero's

    This was an amazing & enjoyable read... It starts at a slow pace, too introduce to the new & remind you of the old characters,. which then contuines into what is just such a beautiful and adoreable story ... This as will as the first one in the series are truly a must read :) You will completly for in love as will as enjoy both stoires like I did... So get to reading :) <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    Best intimate writing I've seen in a very long time...beautiful

    Best intimate writing I've seen in a very long time...beautiful story about the instant attraction of two people. As I read their story I felt like I was right there with them. My heart was pounding, my breaths were coming in short and fast. Wow! Just Wow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2