BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One Perfect Day: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Compelling, uplifting and heartbreaking at the same time.

As is true with all of Lauraine Snelling's books, the characters are compelling and everything they feel you feel also. This book realistically portrays the pain of actual loss, the fear of potential loss, the questioning of faith and the power of hope. It deals sensit...
As is true with all of Lauraine Snelling's books, the characters are compelling and everything they feel you feel also. This book realistically portrays the pain of actual loss, the fear of potential loss, the questioning of faith and the power of hope. It deals sensitively and honestly with a situation where one person's gain is another's tragedy. A warning though --it is not an easy read, particularly if you happen to be the parent of teenagers. The heartbreak of losing your child really comes through. It is also not a terrific book to read on mass transit unless you feel okay sniffling in public. Ms. Snelling is truly a talented author and a gift to her readers.

posted by 377463 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Thin ending

Enjoyed the book but very disappointed with the ending. Felt like the author ran out of time and threw in a quick conclusion. Looked for a sequel but haven't found one yet. Really got into the characters and story, but feel like I was yanked out of it before I was ready...
Enjoyed the book but very disappointed with the ending. Felt like the author ran out of time and threw in a quick conclusion. Looked for a sequel but haven't found one yet. Really got into the characters and story, but feel like I was yanked out of it before I was ready!

posted by CherishD on January 3, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Heartwarming

    I read the back cover and was curious. As soon as I read the first chapter I fell in love with the characters and plot. I would recommend this book for anyone who loves heartwarming books.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling, uplifting and heartbreaking at the same time.

    As is true with all of Lauraine Snelling's books, the characters are compelling and everything they feel you feel also. This book realistically portrays the pain of actual loss, the fear of potential loss, the questioning of faith and the power of hope. It deals sensitively and honestly with a situation where one person's gain is another's tragedy. A warning though --it is not an easy read, particularly if you happen to be the parent of teenagers. The heartbreak of losing your child really comes through. It is also not a terrific book to read on mass transit unless you feel okay sniffling in public. Ms. Snelling is truly a talented author and a gift to her readers.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Thin ending

    Enjoyed the book but very disappointed with the ending. Felt like the author ran out of time and threw in a quick conclusion. Looked for a sequel but haven't found one yet. Really got into the characters and story, but feel like I was yanked out of it before I was ready!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    LOVE!

    You can't put this book down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    A blessing for one brings mourning for another┬┐

    One Perfect Day <BR/>Lauraine Snelling<BR/>Faith Words, 2008<BR/>ISBN: 9780446582100<BR/>Reviewed by Debra Gaynor for ReviewYourBook.com, 12/08<BR/>5 stars<BR/>A blessing for one brings mourning for another¿<BR/>Lauraine Snelling intertwines the threads of two families as they face a drastic change in their lives. Jenna Montgomery¿s daughter has been on the heart transplant list for a long time. They know this is possibly their last Christmas together. Nora Peterson¿s Christmas is perfect until there is a knock on the door. There has been a car accident¿<BR/>Jenna prayed for a miracle and praises God that a heart is available for her daughter. Nora is angry with God. How could He take someone she loves away from her? Nora sinks into a deep depression. She turns away from the one that can bring her peace, Jesus Christ. <BR/>I found myself in tears more than once while reading this book. I praised God right along with Jenna and mourned with Nora. ¿God is the great recycler.¿ What a wonderful phrase. I have signed the back of my driver¿s license and told my family to donate whatever organs are recyclable. Lauraine Snelling is a talented author. Her characters come to life on the pages. Snelling is at the top of my must-read authors list.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Realistic Observation

    This is a story of two extreme and opposite emotions; devastation and elation. It took you through these two emotions with characters that were very believable. It is a story of human endurance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The Perfect Christmas Gift for readers

    One Perfect Day is a gripping tale of hope and loss, of sorrow and joy. Most of all it celebrates the gift of love as one family struggles to accept their son's death and allow his organs to give the gift of life to someone else. Snelling's masterfully portrays both sides of the emotion fraught organ donor program. I was not ready for the book to end when I turned the last page. These characters had become friends and I didn't want the friendship to end. <BR/><BR/>One Perfect Day is the perfect Christmas present for any reader on your list. I give it my highest recommendation; any book that leaves me wanting more is a five-star read.<BR/><BR/>Ane Mulligan

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a poignant emotional tale of two families connected by the organ transplant

    Nora wants the perfect Christmas for her family. She looks forward along with her twins Charlie and Christi to the return of her spouse and their father from Germany. However the Riverbend police arrive at Nora¿s home to inform her a tragedy occurs when Charlie is in a car accident and is in the hospital¿s ICU only kept alive by a ventilator. His dad, delayed in Germany, rushes home to try to be at the side of his son.<BR/><BR/>Jenna is a single mother praying for a miracle for her daughter, Heather. If the child fails to get a heart transplant by Christmas she will be dead. A miracle occurs when a heart is found for Heather. Though Jenna rejoices, Nora mourns. <BR/><BR/>This is a poignant emotional tale of two families connected by the organ transplant. Both families come across as real especially their reactions to what is going on. Besides making a strong plea for the organ donation program, ONE PERFECT DAY points out that for each life saved, someone else mourns the loss of a life. Lauraine Snelling provides a deep inspirational novel.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Eye opening, heartfelt story

    This was a glimpse into the lives of families on both sides of organ donation. Good story. It ended sooner than i thought it would, but with a satisfying ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    For Nora Peterson, this was going to be the Christmas her family

    For Nora Peterson, this was going to be the Christmas her family would long remember. After all the countless times her husband, Gordon, has been traveling for business, they were all going to be home together to celebrate those time honored traditions she had hoped would continue on as her twin teenagers Charlie and Christi grew and had families of their own. Knowing that Gordon would be flying home late from Germany she had hoped he would at least call to let her know he was on his way. When she tried calling his phone all she got was voice mail. The only thing she could do was simply pray that everything would be fine despite the worry settling in her stomach. Her children were expected home soon and then they would begin the Christmas celebration none of them would ever forget. Everything would be just perfect. .

    For Jenna Montgomery, this would undoubtedly be her daughter, Heather's last Christmas. Growing weaker by the day due to a defect in her heart, she wasn't sure just where she was on the transplant list. For them, they refused to speak of things in their finality. Last time decorating the tree, last time making Christmas cookies or opening presents. At least for Jenna should could hope that it would be a good Christmas for Heather. But when she announced she was more tired than she expected and running a slight fever, Jenna knew from her experience as an ER nurse that these were not the signs of something good, but her worst fears being confirmed. She was losing Heather and they wouldn't even make it to see Christmas this year.

    Sometimes life hands up things we hoped would never fall on our plates. We always hope that the bad things in life will escape us and happen to someone else. But when that doesn't happen, it is hard for us to remember how to breathe again. To remember despite all the doubts, that God is still in control even if it seems like this went by His attention unnoticed. If God can do anything, why doesn't He answer our prayers they way we want? For both the Peterson's and the Montgomery family, both of their prayers will be answered just not in the fashioned either had hoped. How each family deals with those answers takes the readers on a chilling look at what grief looks like during one of the worst times in a families life and how they will rise to find a way to move ahead and see the good God can bring from it.

    I received One Perfect Day by Lauraine Snelling compliments of Faith Words, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained in this review are strictly my own. This is a difficult novel to read because it deals with death and the implications that affect the family in such a surreal way, you can easily relate to what it must be like dealing with the situation. While grief affects us all differently, there is no time table for when life returns to normal. For some, they find solace in getting back into their routines again; for others simply trying to find a way to get through the day is a challenge in itself. I believe Lauraine did an exceptional job at taking one of the hardest subjects to face in life and show the beauty that can come from it even though it never fades. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars and it even includes a reader discussion guide that is perfect for book clubs or for small study groups dealing with loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Recommend

    This is a heart wrenching story of two mothers and their young adult children. A book club would have a lot of discussion with this book's topics. Readers who want to stretch their view of modern issues would discover much food for thought in ONE PERFECT DAY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Highly recommend

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2