BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One Piece, Volume 1: Romance Dawn

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Definitely a Must-Read

    I haven't read the mangas or graphic novels yet, but I'm on episode 230 on the anime TV series. Even though FUNimation only has up to episode 195 dubbed in English, the Jap subs are amazing as well. The best character I think is Zoro, which the idiotic producers at 4Kids renamed to 'Zolo'. Roronoa Zoro sounds much better than Roronoa Zolo, dont'cha think? Yes, anyway. I love the hilarity of One Piece and its originality. The most sad backstory of the characters would have to be Chopper. Poor fella. Oda is amazing! I'm surprised more people haven't heard of this spectacular series yet. If you're not sure about it, take it anyway. If you love laughing out loud, pirates, goofy attitudes, et cetera, then you should definitely check out One Piece. A must-have for teens & up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    Love it in shonen jump ill love it hear

    I think im almost the only one in america who cares i mean this is my favorite Manga of all time and you should too. I cant wait this is great in the one of my most favorite magazines of all time Shonen Jump if you dont know about 'One Pieace' then you should go to a local grocrie store or new stand or anyone with Magazine you will be bound to find this FABULOUS!!!!!!!!! comic in that magazine with alot other great manga comics!!! hope i changed ur mind!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Just Amazing.

    If you want to get hooked on a great manga look no where else i started just to see what a manga was and so far i have all of the mangas at the moment and will continue till it's finished to the very end honest this manga series has it a for me and I know you will love it too just give it a shot you won't regreat it trust me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    I really enjoyed this. It was exciting, funny, refreshing, and o

    I really enjoyed this. It was exciting, funny, refreshing, and overall a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    O

    Love it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    A Great Series

    This series is true a great adventure for all ages. I've been enjoying this series for years now and I can never get bored with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    why can't i buy this on my nook!!

    why can't i buy this on my nook!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Im in love with Luffy!! <3

    Heres the thing im not a fan of shonen jump im more of a girl who loves shojo. But luffy changes that he's funny and i cant stop laughing when i read one piece. I love how one piece made the main character not bulky or to muscly. He's my type of guy funny and a joy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One Piece

    This is a great book, mainly because of its plot. Pirates are just too cool!
    Also, just because I can't fit everything I recommend, I also recommend One Piece vol.s 6-21 (that's where I am right now XD)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    amazing

    a peice of true imagination. one of my favorite mangas. i wholeheartedly suggest this to any comic lover!!^____^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    We are!

    You may have seen this at the bookstore and said: 'My little cousin/sibling/kid I babysit/son/daughter watches this on Fridays! I might get it for them!' Slow down, tiger, and you might want to just keep the book yourself. The manga is definitly not kid's stuff. It is, however, a good story. Monkey D. Luffy was a child who befriended a pirate captain, and has his head filled with dreams of the high seas. Unfortunately for him, he was beached he couldn't swim and was too young. After a misadventure including some bandits and the gum-gum fruit that made him a rubber man but took his ability to learn swimming, he vowed that he would start his own crew when he was older and become king of the pirates. The captain of the crew gave Luffy his signature straw hat, and several years later, he set sail. This story is about keeping promises and working for what you want, and the cheesyness and stuff about never giving up. To quote a character, 'Grit counts more than strengh.' Grab this book and start reading. Quoting the REAL Japanese theme song (translation, I think.) 'We are! We are! On a cruise!' So set sail!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    One Piece Rules!!

    One Piece is the best! It's full of action! Sometimes it's so hilarious I could read it over and over and still laugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2005

    AMAZING

    This is one of the best magna I've ever read, its funny and full of action! It is a very good book I totally recomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    ONE PEICE vol.1 Romance Dawn

    this is a great book i definitty sugest you read it and if you like this book you should watch the Anime on CN or 4 kids tv saturday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2004

    ONE PIECE ROCKS

    one piece is a great tale and the author better hurry up with the 5 one cause im ready

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    Psychomag!!!! Hoooooooooowl!!

    ONE PIECE ROCKS!! It's my favorite! It's unique in art as well as plot. Reccomend 100% VERY FUNNY^^

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    only one piece

    this is one of the best books that i,ve ever read,but of course there will be another one piece book that will be better any way this is still a good book:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    Just an awesome series

    I love one Piece. I would give my organs if the story ever asked for me to. For those of you who don't know, One Piece is huge in Japan, following in the footsteps of dragonball. Of course, the storys aren't anything alike, but I'm talking about social commentary, work with me here. One Piece follows the exploits of Monkey D. Luffy (Pronounced lOOfy), a 17 year old who's dream is to become the greatest pirate, because 'anything else would make him look bad'. To become the king of pirates however, Luffy needs to first assemble a crew! And boy, he picks the weirdest people to recruit. A PIRATE BOUNTY hunter to begin with, and later a theif who abhors pirates and steals their treasure. The main themes of One Piece are friendship, loyalty, and bravery. You'll have these messages blasted in your face in every chapter. Still, OP is an amazing adventure story, with it's humor and outstanding characters (Many with the predictable horrible pasts ;). The art for OP is excelent, most complain about it being too plain, but I think the plainess gives the story character. Speaking of the Characters, well, let's just say they're interesting. Oda's characters, whether they be friend or enemy, are always interesting and have great quirks about them. The one Piece story is excellent, and I highly recommend you add the one piece line to your manga collection. Viz is being slow with the releases, and this is a VERY long series, with no signs of stopping in Japan, so it'll probably be about 6 or 7 years before we have even 3/4 of the series released (And that's based off of dragonball's releases, and Viz is releasing the series at a phenomenal rate). One Piece is highly recommended, and is in fact the only series I can read in Shonen Jump that I will buy the Graphic Novels of to make repeat readings easier. So yeah, get this now and get ready for a new obsession!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2004

    Highly interesting series

    One Piece is one of my favorite mangas. I really like the unique character design and the pirate-themed plot. I hope you give this series a chance because I did too, despite my first impression of it, and fell in love with the story and characters so maybe you will too. 2 very enthusiastic thumbs up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    Love MANGA!

    One piece is the greatest manga ever!!!!! It my favorite I read it 1 time every day (I am a very fast manga fast rader I read manga every day). One piece is one story no one can resist laughing out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2