BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One Rough Man (Pike Logan Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 227 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

This is a great vacation or weekend read. Will keep you turning pages for days or a couple very long marathon reads. I expect great things in the follow up to this debut novel, and can't wait to see what mischief Pike finds himself in next time.

posted by readzilla on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Another Secret Task Force...

...and another super hero who can get out of any trouble that confronts him while he saves the day. The last part of the novel is quite good, but the whole Guatemala episode can be skipped. There are so many novels like this one out there that to stand out an author ha...
...and another super hero who can get out of any trouble that confronts him while he saves the day. The last part of the novel is quite good, but the whole Guatemala episode can be skipped. There are so many novels like this one out there that to stand out an author has to come up with something different. Perhaps the civilian woman is that, but it didn't work too well for me. Looks like I am in the minority though.

posted by KenCady on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Great Read

    This is a great vacation or weekend read. Will keep you turning pages for days or a couple very long marathon reads. I expect great things in the follow up to this debut novel, and can't wait to see what mischief Pike finds himself in next time.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Secret Task Force...

    ...and another super hero who can get out of any trouble that confronts him while he saves the day. The last part of the novel is quite good, but the whole Guatemala episode can be skipped. There are so many novels like this one out there that to stand out an author has to come up with something different. Perhaps the civilian woman is that, but it didn't work too well for me. Looks like I am in the minority though.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Highly Highly recommended- the next big hit

    Not only is Brad Taylor a Real American Hero as a defender of freedom, he is a total bad a**. He is also going to be a real American Hero Celebrity writer. He is better than Clancy, and this is his first book! Brad when do we get to see read the next adventure of Pike Logan? This was the most fun I have had in a great read in years.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Brad Taylor provides an exciting thriller that grips the audience

    By Presidential decree, President Warren established Project Prometheus to capture or assassinate terrorists as soon as possible; preferably before an event. The field unit of this top secret government is Taskforce who understands the mission is to kill the enemy before they harm Americans.

    Pike Logan is one of the best taskforce operatives. However, while performing a mission involving Azzam the Jordanian dirty Hedgehog in Tbilisi, he suffers a personal trauma back home as he fails to be there for his family at a time they needed him. When he returns to the States, Pike vanishes as he now understands the threat is not fanatics or rogue nations but a few powerful affluent ideologues.

    Nine moths since the assault on his family, Pike's "retirement" ends when he rescues College of Charleston student Jennifer Cahill from two professional killers. While she has no idea why they came after her, at the same in Guatemala her uncle Professor John Cahill finds an ancient Mayan weapon of mass destruction that Arab terrorists plan to steal and employ to cause a Holy War in the Mideast.

    Although the body count is way too tropospheric and the romantic subplot feels more like a softening requirement of One Rough Man, Brad Taylor provides an exciting thriller that grips the audience from the opening mission in Georgia and never slows down for a nanosecond. Action-packed with corpses seemingly on every page, fans who enjoy an engaging look at globalization from his perspective of weapons of mass destruction will want top read Pike's return to the living thanks to Jennifer.

    Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Almost Mitch!

    I'm a big fan of the Mitch Rapp series by Vince Flynn. Brad Taylor has come close to creating a formidable Mitch Rapp rival in this series with Pike Logan. The action is fast paced and gets you hooked early in the story. Hmmm... could they ever team up?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Exciting and fast paced. The best book of its kind that I've read in a long time. I'm now a memberr of the Brad Taylor fan club and can't wait to read his next book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    One of the best anti terrorism novels I have read.

    Brad Taylor has taken his military background and done a great job of applying it to the details of the book. He has the start of good characters and the intrigue of a romance with out all the between the sheets.

    Hopefully, the U.S. has a few teams out there ready to protect us like in the novel.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great Read

    I dont read military thrillers but this book caught my eye. I loved it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    when I first started reading this , the first impression that i


    when I first started reading this , the first impression that it was a rather amateurish knock-off of a Mitch
    Rapp plot, however as the story proceeded there were enough twists and turns to make it well worth the read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Highly Recommend this novel!!

    Wow, what a great book. I read this book in two days while on vacation. I just simply couldn't put it down. I read someone say it started off kind of slow and that I would agree with to a small amount. However, once into it just a small ways, I was hooked. My wife woke up at 3am because I was not in bed wondering why I was still up reading. I told her this book was amazing and it was packed full of continuous events that made me unable to put it down for any long period of time or heck, any short period of time too!! My heart would race when reading many of the action packed events. I can only say that I can't wait to read more about Pike and Jennifer when the new book becomes available here in the next week or so. Outstanding job to the author on a very well written book that will leave you wanting to read every book he has to offer in the future!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Read this book, it will not disappoint!

    An excellent read. One Rough Man is an escape from reality to the world of "what if", with just the right amount of realism taken from today's headlines. Brad's first book is quite an achievement in military fiction, based upon his experience and knowledge, while not going overboard. The characters of Pike and Jennifer, and their interaction have me turning the pages, not wanting the story to end. I look forward to what I hope is a long and exciting journey with Pike Logan.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Thrill ride, couldn't put it down

    Brad Taylor's debut novel One Rough Man is an absolute page-turner. I couldn't put it down. I read the book in a couple of day's while on a recent business trip. I found myself hurrying back to my hotel room at the end of the day to read about how Pike and Jennifer would work their way through the next problem that was presented to them. Pike and Jennifer make a bad-ass team, the author develops their characters and relationship perfectly in a manner that makes the reader root for their success. Lucas and his team of mercenaries, a perfect example of "good men gone bad" which is relevant and current in todays sub-culture of contractors and guns for hire operating today around the globe. Brad writes from a place of absolute knowledge and experience. Problem solving is a thing former LTC Brad Taylor knows about intimately. Developing creative and unique ways to solve the most challenging problems is a core skill that the men from Brad's former units must possess. One Rough Man is a thrill ride of intense action, suspense, and intrigue. From the Windjammer to the White House, One Rough Man left me anxiously wanting more from the first time author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    What a great read!

    Completely got caught up in the action of the book and missed a few needed hours of sleep. Did not want this story to end and will be anxiously awaiting the second, third, fourth and fifth books! Brad gets you caught up in the moment with the way he writes and has you cheering Pike on whether he's dealing with his inner demons or the terrorists.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Looking Forward to the next Pike Logan adventure

    Could not put this book down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Could not put down after I started!

    This book was amazing adventure. I was captivated with the story and was not able to do my real job for two days. Brad Taylor translates a realistic operational mindset unlike any author I have read. Pike Logan is tribute to those "meat eaters" that have served with LTC (Ret) Taylor. Their drive and motivation are only truly understood by those within an elite brotherhood. The subtleties of the novel allow the reader a glimpse into an operational environment few have experienced. Great debut. JACKPOT! Can't wait for the sequel!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Well Done

    Brad Taylor has become my new favorite author, his insights and knowledge has created a new and exciting work of fiction. As cheesy as this sounds I appluad him first for his service to this country and for the amazing capabilities of his writtings.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    I could not put this book down!

    Brad Taylor's first thriller is a page-turning race to the finish. You will root for Pike Logan, the lead character, to do what he does best - kill the bad guys! If you are a bleeding-heart liberal who has sympathy for terrorists, this book is not for you. However, if you like it when the good guys are victorious against evil and enjoy the hard-knuckled fight, you will be enamored with this book. Move over Jason Bourne, Pike Logan should be on the thriller big screen soon! I read this book in two days and could not put it down. It is hard to believe this is Brad's first book; it reads like an experienced, fast-paced, detail-oriented author's series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Great Introduction....meet Pike Logan

    Good job Brad Taylor ! A new strong character is always welcome and I am looking forward to the future efforts of Pike and his compadres !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Page Turner

    Sometimes a fist book doesn't develop the characters well, even with a good plot. I melted into this book easily.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Great book in a great series. Read this in a couple days. Can't wait for the next one

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 228 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12