BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One Second After

Average Rating 4
( 790 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(418)

4 Star

(211)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

75 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

WOW what a ride this book took me on

I rarely cry over books, but I cried three times while reading this spectacular and frightening book. There are many post-apocalyptic books available (see my recommendations), but this one is a step above them. Plausible, well-written, good character development, it h...
I rarely cry over books, but I cried three times while reading this spectacular and frightening book. There are many post-apocalyptic books available (see my recommendations), but this one is a step above them. Plausible, well-written, good character development, it has all the elements of a must-read book.

posted by McMonkey on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

Sorry! This book just doesn't cut it.

I normally don't write negative reviews at all. I kinda subscribe to Thumper's line in Bambi - "If you can't say something nice, then don't say nothin' at all". For the most part I have an utter disdain of critics in all guises since I know what it takes to write a bo...
I normally don't write negative reviews at all. I kinda subscribe to Thumper's line in Bambi - "If you can't say something nice, then don't say nothin' at all". For the most part I have an utter disdain of critics in all guises since I know what it takes to write a book and it ain't easy, but I felt it imperative that I make an exception in this case.

Even though the science discussed in the book is very plausible, Mr. Forstchen has jumped on the Politico Band Wagon to Black PR Iranians, and North Koreans, with a veiled stab at the Chinese as the "Probable Cause" behind our possible, future debacle. Furthermore, I feel he underestimates how quickly society would self destruct if the infrastructure should collapse overnight. His story has people wandering around the country 6 months after the debacle = unreal.

However, his greatest disservice to his readers lies in his xenophobic character creation of a cannibalistic, cult leading protagonist.

In a time when all Hell is breaking loose with our American Economy, when American popularity is at an all time low around the globe, when tent cities are growing exponentially around this once great land of ours, Mr. Forstchen has written a work which promotes "Fear of those who are different", and then beats the same drum our political leaders are playing while using Christian rhetoric to do so.

What about a little tolerance for other ethnicities and creeds Mr. Forstchen??? Isn't it time we grew up and attempted to make friends with our neighbors??? After all, the World is a very small place nowadays and what happens half way across the Earth DOES affect all of us in one way or another.

Ask not for whom the bell tolls. It tolls for thee.

Sorry for the critique, but it needed to be said.

Sincerely,

Ian "Doc" Shillington N.D. (Retired)

posted by Doc_Shillington on July 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 794 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 40
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    Maybe a guy's book

    Just like there are chick flicks, I guess there are books for guys and this is one of them. A lot of guy talk and posturing. I confess that it was so slow moving that I settled for a speed-read through it. It didn't scare me to death as it did some of my friends. Aren't we all painfully aware that we live with several real threats to our existence every day? This book didn't serve to make me any more or less aware of that. The main character comes across as arrogant and self-serving. No characters are developed fully enough - especially the females. This book misses the mark on so many levels. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone - not even hardcore sci-fi readers.

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    Embarrisingly bad writing

    Good premise, but soooo poorly written. Like someone said below, the writing quality was about what I'd expect from a college freshman English class.

    I can't count how many times I actually cringed for the author.

    Very "hokey", weak characters. The book read more like the author was directing a play than writing a book - no need to describe people turning their heads to look at someone else, or all the nods, glances, etc. It was as if the author was picturing how it should look in a cheesy Hallmark TV movie, and then writing it down.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Not for me

    I could not complete because of the much used vulgar language,

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting theory, but...

    ...there were just too many grammatical errors throughout this book (could of instead of could've). I wanted to like this book because I love a good post-apocalyptic story, but I just kept getting distracted by the errors.

    The story line is interesting, however. People have become so dependent upon electricity that many would not survive a massive EMP. It certainly made me think about my own survival skills should any type of disaster happen.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dragging pace and two dimensional

    I love books like this, but I couldn't even finish this one. This book *should* have been fantastic with an interesting premise, and a large cast of characters, but the author got so mired in minutia that the book had the pacing of a glacier. The characters, too, were poorly developed caricatures and just plain boring as people. I much preferred Space Wars: The First Six Hours of World War III.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Concept! Scary Reality

    I found the book gripping and the concept intriguing. What is scary is the fact that this could happen. The plot was great, the people were believable and I found myself caring for them. I highly recommend this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Show, don't tell

    This unique and chillingly accurate plot is mired in poor writing. Do you enjoy sitting in meetings? Then this book is for you as most of the action is related through various meetings and gatherings to discuss the affects of an EMP burst over the United States. While I found the premise intriguing, the main character misses most of the action, while recovering from a fever, or he relates the action after the fact, as if giving a briefing. The story could have been touching, haunting, down right thrilling, but never quite gets there. In the words of my old English teacher, "Show me the story, don't tell me the story."

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    zzzzzzzzz

    Poorly written. Poorly edited. Preachy. Boring. I didn't care about any of the characters or whether they lived or died. Good concept, poorly executed.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Forword by Gingrich? No, thanks.

    Sorry, but I won't spend money on something touched by a moronic, misogynistic maniac.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    This book could save your life!

    Spielburg needs to make this book into a movie. I fear that a very real EMP is in all of our futures. Congress needs to take action to protect us from this very real threat. Why have I not heard anyone not ask the Presidential candidates about the EMP threat? God help us all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Poorly written

    I just couldn't get into this book. I rarely purchase a book without making a real effort at finishing it, but this one really left me wishing for more. While I enjoy the post apocalyptic genre in general and specifically the somewhat original premise of this book I could not get past the poor writing style. In particular, how clicheish the protagonists interactions with his daughters and others were.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    Nothing New Here

    If you've seen an episode of Jericho, you've pretty much read this book. While the story is ok, and the book is written decently, it just doesn't break any new ground in the post-apocalyptic world. Small town, trying to survive on it's own after a devastating event, yada, yada.

    If you're new to the genre, you may enjoy this novel. However, if you've read other (in my opinion better) books like Lucifer's Hammer, or Steven King's The Stand, you won't find anything new in this book. The entire time I was reading it, I could help find numerous comparisions to the TV show Jericho: same basic plot, same problems. I found myself just trying to finish it so I could move on to something else.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worthwhile, but...

    Like most SHTF fiction, One Second After has a valuable lesson to offer. Unlike most others, it confines itself to that one message. You won't find a lot of 'how-to', survival tips, or guide information. That purity has it's own reward though, as it allows the author to focus more precisely. A very quick read, engrossing and enjoyable. At ten dollars, it's about ten dollars more expensive than most SHTF fiction, but still not bad all told. My only real complaint with it was purely grammatical: Please, please, Mr Forstchen, it's "would HAVE" or "should HAVE"; not "would of"...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thought-Provoking and Terrifying

    A subject that no one wants to think about, but everyone must understand the possibilities. This is a portrait of a different America after a devestating change to our way of life and what we all take for granted. Forschen and Gingrich open our eyes to what may occur if more isn't done to protect our country from those who wish to do us harm. Hopefully, people in power in Washington will read this book and take action.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Fantastic and important book for the present and the future

    Please read this book this idea seems totally plausible and not for just people who beleive in conspiracies. I believe in some as I tend not to trust the government to give us the truth on many occassions. I hope this book gets publicity and made into a movie. A study abou EMP was completed by the government and unfortunately it was released the same day as the 9-11 commssion report.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    What would you do?

    Great read, but for those expecting a 'Tom Clancy' treatment of the subject matter you will be disappointed. This book looks more at the social climate of trying to adapt into our world now deprived of electricity. Forschten does a great job exploring the impact of an EMP strike on America that robs us of our ability to create and deliver electricity. How many ways would you be impacted by such a devastating loss?

    If you think you will be just fine, think again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    One Second After: It gave me nightmares!

    As a disaster relief worker and first responder, this book takes a very realistic look at what could happen. I found it both chilling and compelling. The author did a very good job of researching and portraying what could happen in a major national disaster. It ought to be required reading for the entire congress and president.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book has already been picked up for a movie

    This book was good reading, and although some of the scenarios may seem extreme to some, I think they are actually pretty close to what may happen when the event does hit us. The chances of this book happening are the most likely of events, found when researching the net on EMP, where the DOD July 2008 EMP report to congress can also be read in its entirety.
    The scenarios are sound, practical series of events that unfold, and should wake up the reader to the fragile state of modern society we live in. This should energize the reader to not rely on the system, but to trust themselves to know & prepare for any future events. Novels well thought out and casually read for entertainment can also be instructive and give ideas for thought resulting in a better future for the reader, as knowledge is power to prepare and ignorance results in being a clueless refugee.
    In fact, they can inspire great political change as the novel 'molon labe' did, with the state of montana recently passing into law the exact scenario outlined in the book a decade earlier when the book was published!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    Frighteningly Plausible

    Imagine sitting at home on September 10th 2001, reading a thriller about terrorists flying civilian jetliners into Manhattan skyscrapers.

    As I read "One Second After" North Korea was preparing a launch of a "communications satellite" that just about everyone agrees was a cover for a ballistic missile test.

    The ease with which the satellite launch could have been a cover for an EMP weapon scared me enough to recommend this book to others, and to wonder out loud what was being done to prepare against this threat.

    At times the writing bogs down a little, and I'm sure my Left Coast friends will disbelieve the portrayals of Southern lifestyles and values, but for this transplanted Tennessean it rang true.

    If you liked "On The Beach" you will appreciate this book. If you wonder why no one thought of a way to prevent the horror of 9/11, you should read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Pretty good

    Its hard to know how many stars to give this book. It kept my interest which is no easy feat and the book had a nice pacing that kept it moving along at a nicd clip so for that alone it deserves 4 stars but, the main character was a most unlikable guy. For someone who seems to be rah rah America and how we should all be one, he quickley views everyone other then his family and neighbors as outsiders and doesnt care if they die but yet still manages to view himself as morally superior to a drug addict or a prostitute. That just does not compute. The main character is just too conflicted in his belief system and that made the book hard to take at times. But, its an end of the world novel and he does a good job in describing how a society would most likely break down and i found his descriptions to be reslistic. A good but flawed book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 794 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 40