Customer Reviews for

One Second After

Average Rating 4
( 775 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(409)

4 Star

(208)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

75 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

WOW what a ride this book took me on

I rarely cry over books, but I cried three times while reading this spectacular and frightening book. There are many post-apocalyptic books available (see my recommendations), but this one is a step above them. Plausible, well-written, good character development, it h...
I rarely cry over books, but I cried three times while reading this spectacular and frightening book. There are many post-apocalyptic books available (see my recommendations), but this one is a step above them. Plausible, well-written, good character development, it has all the elements of a must-read book.

posted by McMonkey on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

Sorry! This book just doesn't cut it.

I normally don't write negative reviews at all. I kinda subscribe to Thumper's line in Bambi - "If you can't say something nice, then don't say nothin' at all". For the most part I have an utter disdain of critics in all guises since I know what it takes to write a bo...
I normally don't write negative reviews at all. I kinda subscribe to Thumper's line in Bambi - "If you can't say something nice, then don't say nothin' at all". For the most part I have an utter disdain of critics in all guises since I know what it takes to write a book and it ain't easy, but I felt it imperative that I make an exception in this case.

Even though the science discussed in the book is very plausible, Mr. Forstchen has jumped on the Politico Band Wagon to Black PR Iranians, and North Koreans, with a veiled stab at the Chinese as the "Probable Cause" behind our possible, future debacle. Furthermore, I feel he underestimates how quickly society would self destruct if the infrastructure should collapse overnight. His story has people wandering around the country 6 months after the debacle = unreal.

However, his greatest disservice to his readers lies in his xenophobic character creation of a cannibalistic, cult leading protagonist.

In a time when all Hell is breaking loose with our American Economy, when American popularity is at an all time low around the globe, when tent cities are growing exponentially around this once great land of ours, Mr. Forstchen has written a work which promotes "Fear of those who are different", and then beats the same drum our political leaders are playing while using Christian rhetoric to do so.

What about a little tolerance for other ethnicities and creeds Mr. Forstchen??? Isn't it time we grew up and attempted to make friends with our neighbors??? After all, the World is a very small place nowadays and what happens half way across the Earth DOES affect all of us in one way or another.

Ask not for whom the bell tolls. It tolls for thee.

Sorry for the critique, but it needed to be said.

Sincerely,

Ian "Doc" Shillington N.D. (Retired)

posted by Doc_Shillington on July 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sorry! This book just doesn't cut it.

    I normally don't write negative reviews at all. I kinda subscribe to Thumper's line in Bambi - "If you can't say something nice, then don't say nothin' at all". For the most part I have an utter disdain of critics in all guises since I know what it takes to write a book and it ain't easy, but I felt it imperative that I make an exception in this case.

    Even though the science discussed in the book is very plausible, Mr. Forstchen has jumped on the Politico Band Wagon to Black PR Iranians, and North Koreans, with a veiled stab at the Chinese as the "Probable Cause" behind our possible, future debacle. Furthermore, I feel he underestimates how quickly society would self destruct if the infrastructure should collapse overnight. His story has people wandering around the country 6 months after the debacle = unreal.

    However, his greatest disservice to his readers lies in his xenophobic character creation of a cannibalistic, cult leading protagonist.

    In a time when all Hell is breaking loose with our American Economy, when American popularity is at an all time low around the globe, when tent cities are growing exponentially around this once great land of ours, Mr. Forstchen has written a work which promotes "Fear of those who are different", and then beats the same drum our political leaders are playing while using Christian rhetoric to do so.

    What about a little tolerance for other ethnicities and creeds Mr. Forstchen??? Isn't it time we grew up and attempted to make friends with our neighbors??? After all, the World is a very small place nowadays and what happens half way across the Earth DOES affect all of us in one way or another.

    Ask not for whom the bell tolls. It tolls for thee.

    Sorry for the critique, but it needed to be said.

    Sincerely,

    Ian "Doc" Shillington N.D. (Retired)

    25 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Poorly written, cartoon characters

    If this book had just been poorly written with cartoon characters I would have given it 2 stars. Since the author decided to go the extra mile and make the female characters idiots or damsels in distress, it gets one star. I've read this type of fiction before and if you want better writing and richer characters that develop, I suggest SM Stirling's series Dies the Fire.

    The basic premise of One Second After is interesting. The USA is hit with 3 EMP's in early Spring. Loss of everything that makes modern life possible - so what happens then? The action takes place in a small town on the east coast and the author does do a good job making the town come to life. Too bad he couldn't take the same care with the people in the town.

    Kate, the town mayor, exists only to say stupid stuff during meetings so the men can show off how much they know. The female college students/turned soldiers exist to cry when being yelled at by their DI, miss shots, and generally screw up. Oh - and tug at heartstrings when they die. Makala is brought in because a love interest is needed for the main character, John. She's treated as somewhat competent, but I assume that's because she's a nurse and that's something the author thinks chicks can do.

    I don't need to have a female character be the lead or the hero, but it's irritating when you can tell what hang-ups the author has because he makes them impossible to ignore.

    12 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    The author doesn't seem to know the difference between "of&

    The author doesn't seem to know the difference between "of" and "have." Typographical and grammatical errors abound. This is a dime store novel destined to be a Hollywood hit among the uneducated, Mountain Dew swilling masses. Fear driven and power indulgent, this book lacks character development and solid research on the author's part. Do yourself a favor, and wait for the movie. Better yet, skip it.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    This Book is a Bomb

    It's sad that this author has taken an exciting plot idea and completely ruined it with poor writing, endless silly references to old movies, and an inability to develop compelling characters or a story line that is the least bit interesting or believable. Please, Dr. Forstchen, continue writing only text books.

    5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Common plot done better

    This plot device has been use several time in the past decade and mostly done better

    A dispointment given the authors past work

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    Maybe a guy's book

    Just like there are chick flicks, I guess there are books for guys and this is one of them. A lot of guy talk and posturing. I confess that it was so slow moving that I settled for a speed-read through it. It didn't scare me to death as it did some of my friends. Aren't we all painfully aware that we live with several real threats to our existence every day? This book didn't serve to make me any more or less aware of that. The main character comes across as arrogant and self-serving. No characters are developed fully enough - especially the females. This book misses the mark on so many levels. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone - not even hardcore sci-fi readers.

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    Embarrisingly bad writing

    Good premise, but soooo poorly written. Like someone said below, the writing quality was about what I'd expect from a college freshman English class.

    I can't count how many times I actually cringed for the author.

    Very "hokey", weak characters. The book read more like the author was directing a play than writing a book - no need to describe people turning their heads to look at someone else, or all the nods, glances, etc. It was as if the author was picturing how it should look in a cheesy Hallmark TV movie, and then writing it down.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Not for me

    I could not complete because of the much used vulgar language,

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting theory, but...

    ...there were just too many grammatical errors throughout this book (could of instead of could've). I wanted to like this book because I love a good post-apocalyptic story, but I just kept getting distracted by the errors.

    The story line is interesting, however. People have become so dependent upon electricity that many would not survive a massive EMP. It certainly made me think about my own survival skills should any type of disaster happen.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Forword by Gingrich? No, thanks.

    Sorry, but I won't spend money on something touched by a moronic, misogynistic maniac.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Right wing diatribe

    Right wing propoganda

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Too many mistakes

    Glocks are magazine fed and no modern firearm uses Cordite. Grammer was weak. Several medical mistakes too. Get an editor.Too bad I can't get a refund.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    This book sucks

    This book sucks

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Boring

    This was not what I expected was forcing myself to read and skipping ahead finally just stopped all together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Thanks doc

    Thanks doc. Your review saved me some time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    It could have been good...

    Simply... not well written (...nails on a chalkboard). I don't often abandon books, but I just had to. The concept is interesting and certainly timely with the zombie apocalypse craze... but... no. Just not publish-worthy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Not worth your time. Very depressing

    Mr. Forstchen has co-authored books with Newt Gingrich, which were excellent. This one does NOT fit into that category. It is very dark and depressing. In his previous books, the reader has learned something and found it worth his/her time to read the book. I usually donate many of the books that I read, but I could not suggest that anyone waste their time on One Second After. He is usually a fine author, but this one was not on target ... at least for me. Hard to follow at times and a bit too far fetched.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3