Customer Reviews for

One Second After

Average Rating 4
( 797 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(422)

4 Star

(213)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

79 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

WOW what a ride this book took me on

I rarely cry over books, but I cried three times while reading this spectacular and frightening book. There are many post-apocalyptic books available (see my recommendations), but this one is a step above them. Plausible, well-written, good character development, it h...
I rarely cry over books, but I cried three times while reading this spectacular and frightening book. There are many post-apocalyptic books available (see my recommendations), but this one is a step above them. Plausible, well-written, good character development, it has all the elements of a must-read book.

posted by McMonkey on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

Sorry! This book just doesn't cut it.

I normally don't write negative reviews at all. I kinda subscribe to Thumper's line in Bambi - "If you can't say something nice, then don't say nothin' at all". For the most part I have an utter disdain of critics in all guises since I know what it takes to write a bo...
I normally don't write negative reviews at all. I kinda subscribe to Thumper's line in Bambi - "If you can't say something nice, then don't say nothin' at all". For the most part I have an utter disdain of critics in all guises since I know what it takes to write a book and it ain't easy, but I felt it imperative that I make an exception in this case.

Even though the science discussed in the book is very plausible, Mr. Forstchen has jumped on the Politico Band Wagon to Black PR Iranians, and North Koreans, with a veiled stab at the Chinese as the "Probable Cause" behind our possible, future debacle. Furthermore, I feel he underestimates how quickly society would self destruct if the infrastructure should collapse overnight. His story has people wandering around the country 6 months after the debacle = unreal.

However, his greatest disservice to his readers lies in his xenophobic character creation of a cannibalistic, cult leading protagonist.

In a time when all Hell is breaking loose with our American Economy, when American popularity is at an all time low around the globe, when tent cities are growing exponentially around this once great land of ours, Mr. Forstchen has written a work which promotes "Fear of those who are different", and then beats the same drum our political leaders are playing while using Christian rhetoric to do so.

What about a little tolerance for other ethnicities and creeds Mr. Forstchen??? Isn't it time we grew up and attempted to make friends with our neighbors??? After all, the World is a very small place nowadays and what happens half way across the Earth DOES affect all of us in one way or another.

Ask not for whom the bell tolls. It tolls for thee.

Sorry for the critique, but it needed to be said.

Sincerely,

Ian "Doc" Shillington N.D. (Retired)

posted by Doc_Shillington on July 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 423 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW what a ride this book took me on

    I rarely cry over books, but I cried three times while reading this spectacular and frightening book. There are many post-apocalyptic books available (see my recommendations), but this one is a step above them. Plausible, well-written, good character development, it has all the elements of a must-read book.

    79 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A powerful apocalyptic cautionary thriller

    Retired Colonel John Matherson lives in Black Mountain, North Carolina with his two daughters; one of them suffers from Type A Diabetes and needs insulin to stay alive. They think the serenity of their location high in the mountains can never be destroyed until the day the lights go out. Everything electric based no longer works to include cars. John immediately understands what happened; that the United States was nuked in the atmosphere by a few bombs containing an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP).<BR/><BR/>John becomes one of the town¿s leaders trying to keep things calm and peaceful as no station on the transistor radio in his car broadcasts. Food rationing is instituted and former high school students are trained as a militia. They turn away desperate refugees and as the food supply dwindles they must hunt and forage, and chop wood for heat. The Posse, a cruel group of cannibalistic gangbangers, murders, and rapists, are taking over the mountain. John and his allies must stop them before they overrun Black Mountain.<BR/> Meanwhile, his daughter¿s supply of insulin is getting dangerously low.<BR/><BR/>Already frightening the Pentagon and the Congress is the plausibly including the ease in which the United States can be sent reeling back to a modified medieval era. John and his fellow survivors are figuratively and literally in the dark as to who did this, but the first directive is survival which includes not giving up o hope that the USA still functions and will bring relief especially medical. Fans will appreciate this powerful apocalyptic cautionary thriller but also fear how simply this can actually happen.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    58 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    If you do not like this book or actually believe that this could happen and happen this way, then something is wrong with you

    I can not believe that people do not like this book because of of a few phrases that are not grammatically correct to them, but are not meant to be correct because it is the way the character speaks. GO READ AN ENCYCLOPEDIA IF YOU WANT CORRECT GRAMMAR. Anyone that wrote bad about the writing style and especially grammar, go outside and talk to five people and see if anyone of them has the ability to speak and write with perfect grammar. I mean seriously. The plot is great, characters are great, and yes this could definitely happen and most likely it will occur similarly as it did in this book, if you actually think about it. I think this book has actually portrayed southerners with a lot more credit then they deserve. If you ever want to see how people read and write then become a manager of a business and read the resumes you get and you will see what I am talking about. Great F***ing Book!!!

    32 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read if you're not squeamish

    I have read a good bit of off-beat destruction of the world/post apocalyptic stuff. I would classify this as a gem I just happen to run across. It may not have the pages of character building that The Passage or The Stand has, but I enjoyed it every bit as much, and in half the time. I felt just as invested in the main character in this story as any of the other aforementioned. While it has sad portions it is nice to still have a book that somewhat ends in triumph and shows how resilient the human spirit can be in times of hardship. This is a must read if you like post-apocalyptic fiction. The writing may not be as polished as others, but the story was truly fascinating.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    very thought provoking book

    i love this book however it really scared me at the same time. this book is haunting in the fact that it is so very possible and we as Americans are so ill prepared for it. i challange you to read this book and ask your self ' what would I do'?

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    Fascinating, well told, and utterly terrifying

    One Second After is set in Western North Carolina, the area in which I happen to live. The accuracy with which Forstchen captures the character of the people and the geography of our area is uncanny. I've done enough research on Electromagnetic Pulse (EMP) to realize that he is equally on the mark in his portrayal of what would likely happen to a community like ours if the United States were attacked by an EMP weapon.

    EMP is a by-product of a very high-altitude nuclear explosion. Given the present state of the world, and the fact that nations like Iran and North Korea are rapidly developing the ability to deliver nuclear weapons via ballistic missiles, this potential scenario unfortunately isn't just science fiction. The fact that an event like this could actually occur in our world today is what makes this book so vitally important.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent book

    If you like post-apocalyptic books, this is a book for you. Very realistic, it will grab you from beginning to end. The characters are excellent, I enjoyed watching them change as times got worse. The writing style is very good, it's an easy read that you can totally disappear into.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    Great book scary in a way.

    It was a great book but it seemed that the ending was cut a little short but it could not be longer unless the author would just stretch it out and make it boring. The Characters were all good and the interaction and the way society acts was great as well.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A scary potential future

    This is a very well written book by a man who has a handle on how people would respond to an EMP attack. Shut off the power and all electronics and the country will crumple within days. If this book doesn't make you think about how you need to prepare, nothing will.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    A gripping Read

    Subject matter not often covered. As far as apocolyptic stories goes, this one had me very concerned with the outcome from such an attack. Having worked in the electronics career field and a retired Air Force MSgt I can see the potential for such a problem. The plot and story are completely plausible and based on real science. Once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down (my Nook that is). I had to recharge the battery I read it that long. There are parts of the story that will bring tears to your eyes and have you rooting for the population. It is just a great read and I highly recommend it to anyone.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    This book could save your life!

    Spielburg needs to make this book into a movie. I fear that a very real EMP is in all of our futures. Congress needs to take action to protect us from this very real threat. Why have I not heard anyone not ask the Presidential candidates about the EMP threat? God help us all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Fantastic and important book for the present and the future

    Please read this book this idea seems totally plausible and not for just people who beleive in conspiracies. I believe in some as I tend not to trust the government to give us the truth on many occassions. I hope this book gets publicity and made into a movie. A study abou EMP was completed by the government and unfortunately it was released the same day as the 9-11 commssion report.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    One Second After: It gave me nightmares!

    As a disaster relief worker and first responder, this book takes a very realistic look at what could happen. I found it both chilling and compelling. The author did a very good job of researching and portraying what could happen in a major national disaster. It ought to be required reading for the entire congress and president.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book has already been picked up for a movie

    This book was good reading, and although some of the scenarios may seem extreme to some, I think they are actually pretty close to what may happen when the event does hit us. The chances of this book happening are the most likely of events, found when researching the net on EMP, where the DOD July 2008 EMP report to congress can also be read in its entirety.
    The scenarios are sound, practical series of events that unfold, and should wake up the reader to the fragile state of modern society we live in. This should energize the reader to not rely on the system, but to trust themselves to know & prepare for any future events. Novels well thought out and casually read for entertainment can also be instructive and give ideas for thought resulting in a better future for the reader, as knowledge is power to prepare and ignorance results in being a clueless refugee.
    In fact, they can inspire great political change as the novel 'molon labe' did, with the state of montana recently passing into law the exact scenario outlined in the book a decade earlier when the book was published!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Great Book!

    A very well written book that I didn't want to put down. I liked the main characters and cared about what happened to them. This is a very believable story. I could see the same scenario playing out in my town. I see this book as a warning of what COULD happen to the US, but I pray never does.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Very good read, This is a real page turner and hits very close t

    Very good read, This is a real page turner and hits very close to home. I can see something like this really happening and made me think how I would handle the situation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read and informative. The author has done a great job of b

    Great read and informative. The author has done a great job of both
    entertaining and teaching. This could happen anytime. Ninety-nine
    percent of Americans are not prepared for even a few days without power
    and other modern conveniences. Read and learn!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    The only thing I don't like is that the story was over so fast. I couldn't put it down once I started.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    A Must Read

    What would happen if all electronic devices stopped working at the same time? Cars, phones, computers, lights, refrigerators? It wouldn't take much, just one nuclear weapon detonated in high orbit over Kansas to effectively shut down the entire country. One Second After dives into the impact of this happening and a rural North Carolina town trying to survive in the aftermath. The author paints a brilliant yet horrifying picture of what could happen when food & medicine becomes scarce after only a few days and what men will do to survive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read

    If ever you wonder what it would be like if the "End of the World" was here, this book brings it to light. So much of what William Forstchen describes in his writing sounds so very possible; everything from how we, as a society, have become so dependent on 'creature comforts' and our reactions to the loss of everything we rely on to how easily simple flu bugs and other viruses can wipe out whole areas. A definite eye-opener!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 423 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22