Customer Reviews for

One Shot (Jack Reacher Series #9)

Average Rating 3.5
( 911 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(322)

4 Star

(262)

3 Star

(168)

2 Star

(63)

1 Star

(96)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Book

This truly was an awesome read. The story starts out with a sniper gunning down five people leaving work in a small Indiana city. Although this act of violence was so random, the police managed to track down the killer very quickly to an ex-soldier named James Barr....
This truly was an awesome read. The story starts out with a sniper gunning down five people leaving work in a small Indiana city. Although this act of violence was so random, the police managed to track down the killer very quickly to an ex-soldier named James Barr. The evidence was perfect against him. Without a doubt, this man is guilty, or is he? His few words before falling into a coma, " They got the wrong guy...Get Jack Reacher for me." Lee Child takes you into the mind of Jack Reacher, an experienced and skilled retired soldier. Jack Reacher, being one of the few that know of Barr's violent past, is prepared to do what ever it takes to expose the truth.

This book has absolutely nothing to complain about and is possibly one of the best books I have ever read. You never know what Reacher's got planned next or how he's going to take down his next victim. In other words, you would not want to mess with this guy. All in all, a fantastic book which I definitely recommend to all readers in search of a thrill.

posted by kevin-hal on April 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

recommend...

I was enjoying the Jack Reacher series until I saw the notice that Tom Cruise would be Jack Reacher in the movie. REally? 6 foot 5 and 240 pounds? Isn't there a better choice? Book okay, but soured now on the book series.

posted by justsally on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 914 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Awesome Book

    This truly was an awesome read. The story starts out with a sniper gunning down five people leaving work in a small Indiana city. Although this act of violence was so random, the police managed to track down the killer very quickly to an ex-soldier named James Barr. The evidence was perfect against him. Without a doubt, this man is guilty, or is he? His few words before falling into a coma, " They got the wrong guy...Get Jack Reacher for me." Lee Child takes you into the mind of Jack Reacher, an experienced and skilled retired soldier. Jack Reacher, being one of the few that know of Barr's violent past, is prepared to do what ever it takes to expose the truth.

    This book has absolutely nothing to complain about and is possibly one of the best books I have ever read. You never know what Reacher's got planned next or how he's going to take down his next victim. In other words, you would not want to mess with this guy. All in all, a fantastic book which I definitely recommend to all readers in search of a thrill.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    Pure suspense as only Jack Reacher's character can deliver

    I read two Child books in a row: this one and "Nothing to Lose". the second book is one of his most recent, with an irritatingly political slant; my advice to Child is get back to his earlier formula for the Reacher novels.
    "One Shot" is a great crime thriller with good character development for a genre that is primarily sock 'em, pop 'em plot development. I especially liked the firing range owner, Cash, with his ex-Marine attitude and laugh out-loud exchanges with ex-Army Reacher.
    An encouraging note to those who have not read Child: the violence is somewhat explicit, but the sex and language is tasteful and restrained. Child at his best relies on clever plots and a truly unique protagonist.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Jack Reacher is the bomb!!

    Lee Childs has a great character and I can't imagine any woman reading about Jack Reacher without falling madly in love. Not only is he a man's man, he is a woman's man!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    TRIPWIRE, ONE SHOT, ECHO BURNING ETC. JACK REACHER SERIES

    I'VE READ ALL BUT 2 OF LEE CHILD - JACK REACHER SERIES AND CAN'T WAIT TO GET MY HANDS ON WHAT I'M LOOKING FOR. JUST HOPE THAT LEE DOESN'T STOP WRITING - JACK REACHER SERIES. YOU CAN'T PUT THE BOOK DOWN NOR STOP READING, AS THEY ARE ALL PAGE TURNERS. GREAT CHARACTERS, PLOTS, TRAVELS, AND STORY TELLING.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    recommend...

    I was enjoying the Jack Reacher series until I saw the notice that Tom Cruise would be Jack Reacher in the movie. REally? 6 foot 5 and 240 pounds? Isn't there a better choice? Book okay, but soured now on the book series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    I found a copy of Lee Child's book "One Shot" someone

    I found a copy of Lee Child's book "One Shot" someone had left
    at my house. No-one claimed it so I would give it to the Good Will
    store because it was definitely not my type of book with snipers,
    shooting, dead people, etc. But I began to think of my brother who had
    been in the military for years in some awful places and my friend's son
    who is a sniper in afghanistan. I thought maybe if I read the book it
    would give me some insight into their lives. I dug it out of the bag of
    things to be donated and began to read. I could not stop reading after
    the first page! I became an instant Child/Reacher fan. It was
    gripping, kept you on your toes reading, and your mind alert with all
    the plot twists and turns and the tension of the character interactions.
    I could not put it down. And it was not cluttered with foul language or
    explicit sexual pages. It was very comfortable in that respect and if
    there would have been more of that it would only have detracted from the
    edge of your chair novel. I loved it and am reading more of Child's
    Reacher novels. If any other women are hesitating about reading them
    because they seem written for men I say "GO FOR IT" You'll
    love them.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Lee Child's "One Shot" is exciting

    This is a continutation of great writing and drama written by Lee Child. At the suggestion of a Barnes and Noble employee, I picked up one of the Jack Reacher series books and have read five so far. From the minute you pick up the book, the reader is drawn into the story line. I have found it difficult to put down. I read this book cover to cover in less than a week. The characer Jack Reacher is a strong willed and physically powerful force. Great reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Saw the movice last night, didn't really want to go but hubby r

    Saw the movice last night, didn't really want to go but hubby really wanted to see it, I have read all of Jack Reacher books and was really disappointed that it seems that the only actor the author could get to play Reacher was Tom Cruise (Cruise was also the producer,makes a person wonder), there are so many more actors that fit the image of Jack Reacher. The movice was good don't get me wrong, full of actions but if another one comes out with Tom Cruise as Reacher I will not go see it, I will leave the image of Reacher in my mind not the person on the screen that's so far from what the author had you to believe in his book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    A GOTTA READ

    Child's Reacher character keeps getting better and better

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    All the Reacher books are FANTASTIC!!!!! I am always ready for t

    All the Reacher books are FANTASTIC!!!!! I am always ready for the new books to come out They are just a thrill to read BUT how can you let 5'6" Tom Cruise play Reacher who is 6'5" I don't get it No way will I pay to watch that I'll keep Reacher in my dreams'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    What a Great Ride!

    Seldom have I read a book that doesn't "bog" down while setting up and executing the plot. No problem here. Lee Child has done it again with the Jack Reacher series. This story keeps you engaged in the story and has you guessing the outcome right up to the final chapter. Full of the Jack Reacher deductions, cynicsm, and yes . . . humor, I could not hardly wait to read the next chapter. Now, I can't hardly wait to see where this "drifter" ends up next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    The best so far

    Reading the jack reacher books in order, and by far ths is the best yet!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Reacher... one of the best characters since Harry Bosch and Lucas Davenport

    I just recently broke my leg so all I could do was read. I started off with the first Jack Reacher book and 18 books later I'm finished. I left One Shot for last simply because I saw the movie and couldn't picture Tom Cruise, a great actor, as Reacher. Lee Child is an amazing storyteller and One Shot is by far one of his better Reacher novels. Jack Reacher is a fantastic character and I hope more movies are made from the books. I suggest reading all the Reacher books as you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    snnooozzeerr

    haven't finished it yet.

    bought it due to the movie.

    won't buy another.

    dragging slow monotonous non-exciting lawyer cop procedural.

    spend your money else where.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Great book and series!!!

    I love all of the Reacher books. Once you start them they are hard to put down. But seriously Tom Cruise as Reacher??? I haven't seen it yet but it just doesn't fit the character in my mind, how could this happen?? I don't know that i will be able to accept him as Reacher. Lee Child books are amazingly good!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2012

    I highly recommend reading this book. My favorite author.

    A must read! One of my favorite authors.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    One Shot

    Another great Jack Reacher book. You should be reading all of these.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    bad plot

    is hiding few details till the end being suspenseful or thrilling? there are a few instances where the author purposefully (through Reacher) brings details to the front just to keep the reader guessing. I think this cannot be the style of an established author. its cheating. a shame.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A real thriller

    This is the first Jack Reacher book I have ever read and I am now into the first 3 that Lee Child has written. The style is action packed, exciting, lots of drama and mystery and lets you try and figure out what Reacher is figuring out at the same time. Great detective and action book. Can't wait to read them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    Child does it again

    Don't know how I got introduced to the Reacher series but it is indeed way more than entertaining. This is up there with the best of the series as Reacher, the strong silent type, finds a 'perfect' case with a mountain of evidence worth looking into when it seems too perfect. Lots of intellectual teasers, and major characters are interesting and human. I bought it as soon as it came out in hardcover---usually stingy with my book expenditures but this was a sound investment. When will we get more---soon I hope. And when will these come to the screen?????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 914 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46