Customer Reviews for

One Shot at Forever: A Small Town, an Unlikely Coach, and a Magical Baseball Season

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

GREATTTTT!

I couldn't put the book down. What a great read. Ballard captures life in small town America. David vs. Goliath.

posted by Anonymous on July 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

You will LOVE this story!

I loved this book! What a great story....it's a quick read, and you'll want to pass it around! A GREAT gift! This teacher taught these small town boys so much more than how to win at baseball. I can't wait for the movie!

posted by sistersam on June 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    GREATTTTT!

    I couldn't put the book down. What a great read. Ballard captures life in small town America. David vs. Goliath.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    You will LOVE this story!

    I loved this book! What a great story....it's a quick read, and you'll want to pass it around! A GREAT gift!

    This teacher taught these small town boys so much more than how to win at baseball. I can't wait for the movie!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Home...home

    I read this nonstop Well written about a small town and its phenomenal players, teachers and families. For me it was trip back to the places I called home during my chilhood and adolescence. It was a softer, more slow paced time that I only wish I could pass on to my grandchildren.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    excellent EXCELLENT Excellent

    I really enjoyed this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    I found this book to be a very enjoyable read. Growing up durin

    I found this book to be a very enjoyable read. Growing up during this time period in neighboring Indiana I could relate to much of what the main characters in the book were going through as they made their way thru the turbulent 1960's and early 1970's. The story definitely makes you think of the movie Hoosiers as they work their way through the Illinois state baseball tournament. The book was well researched and is more than just a sports book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    I selected this book because the summary on the back of the book

    I selected this book because the summary on the back of the book was very relatable to my life. I used to play baseball and just like the Macon Ironmen we were not expected to win. We were in last place in our league. With all of the hope and support from everyone and a great coach making us better we won the championship just like the Ironmen. I would definitely recommend this book to another high schooler because it is very inspiring to read and fun to see the team keep on winning and building their confidence more and more as they win. Anyone who likes baseball should read this because there is so much action and scenes that you may be able to relate to because you play. This book definitely met my expectations because it was a fun and action packed sports book. My favorite books to read are sports books but not every sports book is interesting and has a lot of action but this one did. I will definitely read another one of Ballard's books 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    The Heart of Baseball....

    A candid look into the heart of baseball. These kids just loved to play and their unconventional coach allowed them to have fun. Also a poignant reminder of a special time of life. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2014

    I selected this book because the summary on the back of the book

    I selected this book because the summary on the back of the book was very relatable to my life. I used to play baseball and just like the Macon Ironmen we were not expected to win. We were in last place in our league. With all of the hope and support from everyone and a great coach making us better, we won the championship just like the Ironmen. I would definitely recommend this book to another high school student because it is very inspiring to read and fun to see the team keeps on winning and building their confidence increasingly as they win. Anyone who likes baseball should read this because there is so much action and scenes that you may be able to relate to because you play. This book definitely met my expectations because it was a fun and action packed sports book. My favorite books to read are sports books. Not every sports book is interesting and has a lot of action as this one did. I will definitely read another one of Ballard's books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Sports fan or not, a must-read!

    Ballard does a masterful job of recreating that special time that some of us still remember, when there was only one state tournament for each sport across the state. No classes, big schools vs small schools, winner take all. This is a story that inspires and entertains at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Book review

    I love this book alot i am a die hard baseball fan so i really did enjoy it. If i can read it agian i would!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    A great story about unlikely heroes. Ideal for baseball fans, b

    A great story about unlikely heroes. Ideal for baseball fans, but really for anyone who loves a good "David vs. Goliath" true life story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Very good book

    This is a great story. It traces a small town high school baseball team during an amazing two seasons. The coach uses completely unorthodox methods to mold his team into a winning unit. If you are a baseball fan or not, this is a true David versus Goliath story. It goes on to briefly trace the lives of the participants to show how they continued to be affected by these two magical seasons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    LIFE LIES WITHIN THESE PAGES

    Through the liives of these unknown heroes and their free spirited coach, you can tag along for the one shot at forever. You will cheat yourself if you do not read this book that touches on all the truly important things in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    More Than Just A Book About Baseball

    Great Story. Excellent writer. If you played baseball in high school, particularly at a small school as I did, you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2