Customer Reviews for

One Silent Night (Dark-Hunter Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 420 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(213)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good read, not as bad as you may have heard.

Yes, the print is large and the book is short. Yes, the hero is a bad guy and his heroine is a b****. This novella does go into their background, however, and reminds the reader that most things are not as simple as black/white, good/evil, etc.
Kenyon "warns" her re...
Yes, the print is large and the book is short. Yes, the hero is a bad guy and his heroine is a b****. This novella does go into their background, however, and reminds the reader that most things are not as simple as black/white, good/evil, etc.
Kenyon "warns" her readers that OSN is a major turning point in the series. I liked meeting the new characters, and learning more about a couple of familiar ones. Yes, the DH world is more complicated than we knew, but that also makes it more interesting. I also liked the checks and balances and the uneasy truces that were formed.
I didn't have a problem with the timing issue; it's not the first novella to go back and fill in a story.
Bottom line, for me at least, is that this is a $6.99 paperback. I didn't have great expectations, and it was better than I had hoped it would be. Just check it out and see for yourself.

posted by 148617 on November 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

It failed

I got the book today and sadly, it left so much to be desired.

It wasn't a great book, it didn't live up to the series as a whole. There is one thing that I dislike overall and it was Stryker's wife. It's a very short book, I understand that but Stryker was gla...
I got the book today and sadly, it left so much to be desired.

It wasn't a great book, it didn't live up to the series as a whole. There is one thing that I dislike overall and it was Stryker's wife. It's a very short book, I understand that but Stryker was glazed over, his inherent evil qualities shifted so fast that it was annoying. There are too many races to remember now and the ultimate dislike of this book, Nick. People'll see when they read it.

It was...decent for a very quick read. Don't pick it up and expect it to take you long, it's big print so it's really only 100 pages total, not 300 and something. Also, there is a Carbon-Copy-Ash Character in the book named Jared, it was a total eye-roll book. Don't expect too much from it.

posted by Aerithcultice on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 420 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Eh...

    Great Villain turned wuss. I only gave it a 4 star cause I'm excited to see how the Daimons new found discovery about the Demons turns out in the upcoming novels now that should make for a decent plot in other books, maybe it already as come about seeing as though I'm only just finishing up "Bad Moon Rising". However the rest of the story was just bland to me but I don't want to miss anything in the series so I had to continue reading. I had HIGH hopes for this book but sadly it fell way short to where even Danger and Alexion's book "Sins Of the Night" (Which isn't bad but definitely not me favorite) gets a higher score from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    If you are a Dark-Hunter follower then this is a must read. It follows in the Sherrilyn Kenyon tradition of great stories. I loved it and and almost finished with the entire Dark-Hunter Series. Still have several to read but I won't stop till I have read them all, they are that good and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Love+Kenyon

    It+was+short%2C+but+full+of+action+and+a+good+read.+The+series+is+one+of+the+best+I+have+read%21%21

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    Story good, Audio was horrible!!

    I enjoy listening to books in the car, I was excited to find this one until the reader destroyed it for me. I have read the entire series and I have listened to a lot of them and have enjoyed Holter Gram but the man that reads this one makes 11,000 year old gods sound like dumb frat boys and winny litle girls. I am suprised that Sherrilyn Kenyon approved of this reading and that Macmillan Audio Published it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Very rushed...

    Very rushed. Shorter than most of the others. It was a nice love story-but geez, not much meat to this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A battle to unite even enemies!

    Gotta love this book. It brings so many people into the story, Hades, Nick, Ash, Savitar, Stryker and their ladies, Jared. The War God and other Gods/Goddesses. Nicks unknown powers are unleased - now I can't wait to read the Chronicles of Nick. Also you find out that Stryker has a heart - who would have figured. Although it did kinda feel like he went from complete evil to a softy kinda fast, but not a bad read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    not what i expected.

    not one of the best. i was dissappointed in the length of this piece, it was not the best value as new nook user

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just ok for me...

    Not the greatest Dark Hunter book by far...this book had the unworthy distinction of following the best Dark Hunter book of the series, Acheron! (Hard to top that book!) The story itself is short and seemed that it was written as a fill in or transitioning story. In it we see some of the reasons why Stryker does the things he does and I found myself almost liking him... and that's fine in all, but honestly, I didn't want to like Stryker. He was firmly placed into the bad guy category long ago and that was where I think that he should have stayed. This would be one of the few Dark Hunter books that can be picked up by someone not familiar with the series and still enjoy it. Myself, being the avid Dark Hunter series fan, I found this book just ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    On par with Kenyon's series - engulfing!

    While I enjoyed this as much as her other dark hunters, I feel I need to disagree with the author's statement that her books do not need to be read in order. I read this before Acheron and I was disappointed (as well as confused) as a fan to encounter some spoilers in One Silent Night. The same thing has happened in others I have read out of sequence because at the time I didn't have a proper list. I do love that Kenyon is exploring all sides of her universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    First time I fell in love with the bad guy

    Kenyon does an amazing job on making the reader fall in love with the "bad couple". You develop an understanding for Stryker and can almost respect his views on life. Reading his story made me sympathize for him. I imagine Kenyon had a good time writing this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    Love this book. One for the best in the dark hunter series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    One silent night

    I went out of my way to order this book because I am so hooked in the series. Very enjoyable. Worth the time and money for all of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One Exciting Read

    Anytime you read a series, you run the risk of monotony. Well, this book brings you to a whole other level. The main characters are completely different than any that Kenyon's created previously. I love that the stars aren't really goody-goody, but quite the opposite. They're mean, and self-centered, yet capable of great love and sacrifice. I enjoyed the book thoroughly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting twists, danger, and love

    Great book. Gives you insight into Stryker, Acheron, and a new look at Nick. Brings so many characters in and mixes them in ways you wouldn't think. Great read that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Simi steals scenes again. Offering her doll to the other demon so he didn't have to carry a pink bunny was so sweet, funny, and great. She needs her own book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful paranormal adventure.

    This is a really great book to read at anytime. The characters have their own unique personalities that will endear them to your hearts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    He's not Really the Bad Guy

    ok so Strykerus is not really "what" your thinking of.. he's not really the bad guy! he just protecting his appollite people cursed by his own father. actualy i adore him for loving Phyra after 11 yrs its still her. he's not really that bad guy.he still has soft heart to love the only woman he ever loved! really love this novel. Ms.Sherrilyn Kenyon put the 3 Hot and Sexy Man (Stryker,Ash,and Nick) here to fight War! and oh dont forget Sin has a liltle part here so as Kat. I really like Simi being nice to Nim. MS.SK is one of the great Author in the PLANET!!! AHJA!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay but not great

    BEWARE SPOILERS AHEAD. Read at your own risk....

    I've read all the books in order and I didn't think this one was great but it wasn't that bad either. It was just okay. But the book did seemed rushed. The book is about Stryker and Zephyra. I did not like Zephyra's (ex-wife) and Medea's (daughter) treatment of Jared. She was crueler than Stryker, which turned me off right away. But I guess she has to show some cruelness if she is going to sit on the throne with Stryker. Stryker's inward thoughts for Jared showed more compassion towards him than his ex-wfe or daughter did.

    Nick turns out to be a Malachai and Jared a Sephiroth. It's all explained in the book but can be confusing. We also find out who Menyara is, an Egyptian goddess. So now we got Atlantian, Olympian, Sumerian and Egyptian gods/demigods. Another species introduced to us is the main villian, War who is a Machae. So in this series we got gallu demons, Chthonians, Charonte, Daimons, Apollites, Skoti, Oneroi Were-creatures, etc. Oh and now we have something/someone called the Source. Have I missed any other race??? It sounds a bit too much doesn't it?

    Towards the end Ash and Urian have a big conversation basically on why Ash was teaming up with Styrker. Urian reluctantly agrees to help. You will recall Stryker killed his wife. Thus a major rift between father and son. But at the final fight scene, Urian wasn't there. So what's up with that? Maybe I read it wrong.

    I will say the book was a fast read. I enjoyed seing Strykers softer side. The teaming up with Nick, Ash, Styrker, etc was good. Apollymi and Stryker has a heart to heart conversation which I liked. We see more interaction with Apollymi and Salvatori, which was humourous. I'll still continue reading the the series. I wan't to see Jared free from Zephyra and find out why he is enslaved. And of course I want to see more of Nick.

    I would recommend borrowing the book from the library. I bought it, shouldn't have. You should still read this book if you wan't to continue with the series.
    Comment | Permalink

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WOW! MUST READ

    I loved this book! I've read some reviews that it wasn't as good as others, but I think it was just as good. I think the fact that the main story is about Stryker, a not widely loved character may detract from it's overall appeal. However, look beyond that and see it for what it is...a major lead of future books to come! It ties so many stories together, Ash & Tory, Nick (MAJOR shockers here), and the whole Daimon scene changes for future books...(no spoilers but you must read to find out!!) and how this will impact the dark hunters!! Some new hints about stories to come...Savatar & Apollymi (???), Nick's story etc... I can't wait to read more of the books! BIG things are coming!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    Love Sherrilyn Kenyon

    I love Sherrilyn Kenyon's books. More specifically the Dark-Hunter Series. However, this particular book was not quite as good as the others. It is a decent read, but not one I would recommend for your personal library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Love the series

    I've really enjoyed reading the books in this series and generally just can't wait for the next one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 420 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21